We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic staff and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff and service”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Outrigger for 10 nights in February. Overall a great holiday experience and the first with our young son.

We upgraded upon check in to a Plantation Bure, utilizing the hotels upgrade deal which was only 65 FJD per night and included a 2 for 1 BeBe spa voucher - highly recommend the upgrade. Bure was excellent with plenty of room for the 3 of us. Particularly enjoyed the hammock on the balcony for a few beers and a good book whilst our son was napping. Special thanks to Anna for a great job on cleaning our room. Our "handsome" son surely misses you.

Resort grounds are meticulously maintained with many staff using small pruners to trim the many trees, hedges and plants to perfection. The pool area expansive, and always sun lounges free. Whilst I tend to agree with some other reviews regarding the condition of the pool surface, it is not unbearable and not once did we see anyone hurt or complain. The service staff around the pool were great, special thanks to Manoa, who was always there with a smile to refill a beer or recommend a cocktail.

The Talai service was wondefully unique, and our butler Finou was one of the highlights of our trip! He had learnt our names within an hour of arriving and remembered them the entire trip! The champagne and canapés of an arvo were an ideal way to wind down/up before the evening and the nightcap was a great treat. Enjoyed my daily chats with Finou and his knowledge of the resort and upcoming events was very helpful. The family thoroughly enjoyed the fresh coconut!

Food was overall, very good. Excellent meals at Sundowner, my wife and I enjoying one of the best steaks we have had, which is a big call given we are very fussy with steak. Ivi was a great experience, particulary the 5 course set menu for Valentines Day. The Irish Coffee at the end of the meal was excellent, and the preperation at the table is a nice touch. The meals by the pool are hit and miss, with some of them very enjoyable, whilst others are a bit bland. The tapas and Oysters at the restaurant / bar up top are wonderful. My wife and I had dinner up there at sunset and the whole experience was one of the highlights of the trip. Strangely enought we were the only ones up there. We only had the buffet one evening, and whilst it was satisfactory, we felt the other dining options were better, so did not return. Breakfast was very good, and the smoothie shots and fresh juices were a refreshing addition the the usual buffet offers. The inclusive kids meals and drinks were great value, particularly given our son is not a big eater.

I cannot speak highly enough of the MeiMei service. Our son spent 4 days (8 hours a day) with Merewei (hope the spelling is right) and she was wonderful! He was taken all over the resort, fed, bathed and put in bed as requested. We received reports each day as to what activities they had done during the day, what our son ate and how he behaved - sounds like he had a ball! Our son even received a gift from Merewei at the end of the 4 days. When we decided to get a baby sitter for a Valentines Dinner we had no hesitations in asking Merewei. I am sure if our son could talk he would tell us how much he misses his MeiMei.

We did all fall ill whilst away, but not the fault of the resort. The Doctor on call did come to our room at one point, which was an interesting experience...certainly left us questioning what the hospitals would be like should we need to go. To the credit of the resort, we received 6 follow up calls to see how we were feeling, which was greatly appreciated.

I could go on forever, but will finish by saying we will certainly be back and a big Vinaka to the Outrigger!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Bula adzbee
Greetings and a very big “Bula” from the team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji.
We loved your review and we are delighted that you and your family enjoyed the friendly service from our team! I was pleased to read that your meimei nanny, Merewai, took such good care of your son! What you have described is exactly what the meimei service is all about! Our well trained staff looking after the children so that Mum’s and Dad’s can also enjoy their holiday! I was also pleased to read that whilst your son was being cared for by your meimei, you had the opportunity to dine out at our fine dine restaurant, Ivi on Valentines night! We have the best food and beverage outlets of any resort in Fiji and we are very proud of the quality of both product and service!
Thank you for mentioning Finau in your commentary – Once again our talai butler service is unique to Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji and it is a great way for our guests to have some one on one time with our Fijian staff!
adzbee, once again we thank you for your wonderful comments! We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to our beautiful resort at some time in the not too distant future!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,852
    730
    273
    78
    43
See reviews for
1,492
851
37
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (935)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Our stay at the Outrigger was really lovely. The rooms were clean. The facilities were good. I had a really beautiful massage overlooking the ocean and the yoga class, although basic, was also nice. The food and beverages were I guess a bit more expensive than we expected and the transfer from Nadi to the hotel was ridiculously expensive for Fiji. I would probably choose at Denerau Island hotel over this hotel but if you've stayed at Denerau before then give the Outrigger a go.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisacarter7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear lisacarter7778
A huge “Bula” from the team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji!
Thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your recent holiday! We are delighted that we could provide you with such a memorable holiday experience! We have noted your comments regarding the price of our food and beverage! AUD$25 for a full buffet breakfast and AUD$35 for a full buffet dinner are very reasonable prices indeed! Far less expensive than most Australian resorts! Whilst the journey to the Coral Coast is a little bit longer than Denarau, the best part of the holiday is that you get a “real” Fijian experience at the Coral Coast resorts compared to Denarau!
Lisacarter7778, once again we thank you for your warm and friendly comments! We look forward to the day when you return to our beautiful resort!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I was fortunate enough to spend 10 glorious days at the Outrigger on the Lagoon in Dec 2011 with my husband and 9 y.o. son.
What a perfect place to relax. We stayed in a Plantation bure which had plenty of room for the three of us. The talai butler service is a nice extra. Loata & Loata went out of their way to make sure that my son’s birthday was a really special occasion with a Happy Birthday message written in flower petals on his bed and the most beautiful rendition of the Happy Birthday song that I have ever heard.
The only negative, as others have said, was the food. My son loved the smoothy shots at breakfast, however rest of the buffet was average. After a couple disappointing nights at the buffet, we decided to pay the extra (on top of our meal vouchers) and eat at the Sundowner where the steak was beautiful.
I must also say a special thanks to the Activities guys, Tai & Joe who were fabulous. It was sad to leave but hopefully we will be back one day.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sianta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonZvatoraFiji, Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Bula Sianta S,
Thank you for your comments relating to your recent stay at our resort. We are so happy that you found our resort to be a “little piece of heaven”. We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience at our Vale Ni Kana (Buffet Restaurant) and I can assure you that our Executive Chef has taken your feedback on board. We are also delighted that you enjoyed our newest dining option in the resort, the Sundowner Bar & Grill. Loata, Loata, Tai and Joe all send their Vinaka for their mention and they are glad that they could make your holiday with us extra special. We too hope you will be back sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Jason Zvatora
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Where do i start ? 7 days of absolute happiness.
I have never met such loving people in my entire life.
From the moment we arrived we were treated like we were the only Guest there.
The staff are so tentative to your needs and are more than willing to do anything to make your stay a pleasurable one.
My wife was worried as this was our first trip with the Little one (5 Months) .
Actually my little boy was treated like Royalty by the second day they would call him by his name and everyone wanted to hug him & kiss him . My wife didn't do much as she had to go back to our room heaps as the little man needed naps so i was on my own alot during our stay but not once was i bored or left wondering what am i gonna do.
I would start my mornings with a Kayak & then some Snorkeling shortly followed by hours in the pool. Pool volleyball was so much fun and so was the beach Volleyball . The Crab races are awesome and i actually won which was cool .
At first i tried to convince my wife to leave our son with the Nanny service for a while but she wouldn't budge as she was worried leaving him with strangers. By the third day she was sold on the nanny service so much that we actually had the chance to spend Valentines day at the Bebe spa which was out of this world. WOW is all i can say, the view from the top of the hill is amazing and so was the Milk bath & massage my wife absolutely loved it!
FOOD = YUM YUM YUM ! Our favorite was the Pacific Grill night ! Actually it was all really good ! The Sundown Bar & Grill was absolutely Beautiful i actually had the best steak i have ever had there & the guy that sings there every night really sets the mood.
Don't know why people complain about the price , We bought the meal vouchers which was great value especially if you consider eating five star breakfast lunch & dinner in Sydney every night for a week how much that would cost.
We loved this place so much that when we got back to Sydney & received typical Australian customer service we were so depressed that no one was greeting us with a Big BULA!
LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS PLACE & we will be back every single year , every 6 months if we could afford it . Its such a great place to stay. I can honestly say that we feel like we have left family behind. The song they sang to us before we left was so beautiful i almost cried -Almost .A few of the staff actually did cry when we fare welled them. They said its not goodbye its SETTA TALI which means see you soon.
Lucas from the activities department is one of the loveliest funniest kind hearted guys i have ever met and will miss his big smile everyday!
Thank you to LUCAS ,SAKI,TAI AND MONIKA,ERAMI, JOE & ALFIE from activities & BENI & LORIMA from sundown you guys make this place feel like home.Also the young chef Joshua at the Buffet, thank you for cooking things perfectly for my fussy wife :) .
Josevini from the housekeeping thank you so much for always going that little extra mile to make our stay comfortable.
VINAKA VINAKA VINAKA. see you soon & this time im bringing everyone i can with me !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SAM F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonZvatoraFiji, Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Bula SAM F,
From the isle of smiles, Vinaka for your kind comments. Our team was delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your Fijian holiday. Saki, Tai, Monika, Erami, Joe, Alfie, Beni, Lorima, Josevini and particularly Lucas were delighted to receive your personal feedback and so very happy that they made a difference in your holiday experience. Whilst we have a beautiful resort, what makes our resort so special is our team who go above and beyond time and time again. I am constantly reminded through comments such as yours how bless we are and I can assure you that the management are very thankful for their dedication. You have made a couple of great tips in your review for other travelers. This is not to leave it too late to take advantage of the Meimei (Nanny) service at the resort. The Fijian ladies have a magically way with the children and it will allow for some pure relaxation around the resort. Secondly, the meal plan, which provides great value. For approximately AUD$75 a full buffet breakfast, 2 course lunch and 2 course (or buffet) dinner provides for exceptional value in a 5 star setting. We look forward to welcoming you (and your family and friends) back to the resort very soon!
Kind Regards,
Jason Zvatora
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We had a really great time at the Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji, we have no complaints at all as the facilitites and the staff were outstanding. All the people were so friendly and went out of their way to help make our stay at the Outrigger a top experience. The resort is going to be expanding and improving by adding a adult only pool area and bigger new developed tennis courts etc. Our accomodation was to a high standard and this resort I would definatley rate as 5 star.

Room Tip: Superior beach front rooms are closest to the pools and restaurants etc which mad it easy to get aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear George D
Thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your recent holiday at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji. We are thrilled that you returned for your second visit and that you had such an enjoyable holiday! Thank you for your comments regarding our warm and friendly staff. They love coming to work and engaging with our guests!
George D, we look forward to the day when you return for your third visit to our beautiful resort!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
19.9 km away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
0.5 km away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
49.3 km away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
25.5 km away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
49.1 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Address: Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,598 - ₹ 25,478
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Lagoon Fiji
Outrigger Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort Coral Coast
Outrigger Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Sigatoka
Fiji Outrigger
Fiji Lagoon Outrigger
Sigatoka Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing