We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Like at home!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropic of Capricorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropic of Capricorn
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like at home!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

It's a real good place! The room was not very big but clean with a big bathroom. The view from the balcony was aweson! And Mama is so friendly! We felt like at home. We'll never forget you Mama!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    102
    38
    21
    30
See reviews for
23
128
97
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

It was a while ago when I visited Mama's. I actually moved from a different hostel on the beach because one local scuba diver instructor recommended that place to me. The price for dorm was cheaper than other hostels but boy you pay a lot of money for food. Everyone loved the food, but its so expensive. That is the way how mama is earning money. She gives you a nice deal for a room but feeds you for the same cost as in a 5 star hotel. So watch out! If you don't eat and drink with mama her face looks no more friendly to you. Especially when mama is drunk. And yes...don't leave any bottles of white wine in her fridge! you will not see it again.
Also while I was staying over there the person who was supposed to be watching over personal stuff of the customers stole! ipod from one of them!
Conclusion: mama is not friendly to you she is only friendly to your money that you willing to spend. There are no nice people in this business unless you willing to spend a lot. If you have money to spend go elsewhere because you will get much more for your money. If you are backpacker don't even bother to go to mama's. Waist of time and money. The beach and the sea is muddy anyway.
Don't let spoil the special time that you can have while staying in Fiji. It was a good experience but I wouldn't come back to Wailoaloa Beach (which I think means something like muddy beach). I would go to the islands right away from the airport or elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ev p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

A very relaxed and relaxing establishment right on the beach. You are likley to be greeted by the owner, Mama, and invited to take tea or coffee even before checking in. This hotel is especially for the budget traveller and you will get more than you bargained for, that is certain. There are ongoing improvements being made and together with the personality of the owner and staff you will be ensured a stress break, excellent.

Room Tip: All good rooms, some better than others depending on your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidgeordielad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venezia, Italia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

"Mama" the owner was really friendly and helpfull, as other members of the staff. Rooms are easy but cheap, also the cuisine was good. personally i don't like the location, the beach is nothing special and the worst thing is that's is really busy, a lot of youg noisy aussie and americans. May be is a good choise if you are looking for something "younger" and with more "life" but if you are looking for something typical, quite and authentic stay far from here.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreasupertamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We like everyone else decided to ignore the few bad comments and stay here anyway eh a huge mistake. We booked a room at this hotel for 3 nights and I thought it would never end. After arriving from a long flight we booked in and it felt like a Mama was threatening us straight off if we booked a tour with someone other than her. We were sent away down another street about 200/300 meters from the main hotel no street lights to a smelly, unclean, ant infested room. The sheets smelled of mould, hairs in the shower,dirty toilet, no towels and to top it all off a large toad in the toilet. When we complained to Mama she gave us a dust pan and brush and some smelly towels. We then complained to her grand daughter and she put us in a room in the main hotel which had a double bed in it but not room for much else. The food was nice the first day but after that all we got was dirty brown chicken with our rice!!! There are quiet a few insects in the main hotel rooms cockroaches etc which I did not see in any other hotels on my stay in Fiji.There are cats in the kitchen and they walk all over the tables you are eating your breakfast off. We were supposed to stay at this hotel again before our flight out from Nadi but just could not face it. THEY CHARGE YOU A CANCELLATION FEE ON TOP OF YOUR FULL ROOM PRICE IF YOU CANCEL SO WE DECIDED TO JUST NOT TURN UP.
What a joke of a hotel this is. Please ignore the good reviews, this place was just the worst place I have stayed. I'm not a very fussy person when it comes to hotel rooms I had just been backpacking around India staying in hostels and I found this place unbearable.....

Room Tip: Don't pick any stay somewhere else............
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank eganboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Tropic of Capricorn, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
This histrionic plea published six months after the event reveals its raison d'etre when it breaks out into capital script.We decided to just not turn up.Well,in that case no refund is appliceable and that is the reason for the vitriol which is on display throughout its mendacious appeal.Very simple to make a cancellation in just the same manner as a booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nadi hotels
0.0 km away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0.0 km away
Aquarius On The Beach
0.0 km away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Bluewater Lodge
Bluewater Lodge
#10 of 26 in Nadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 km away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
0.0 km away
Beach Escape Villas
Beach Escape Villas
#17 of 26 in Nadi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic of Capricorn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic of Capricorn

Property: Tropic of Capricorn
Address: 11 Wasawasa Rd | Newtown Beach, Nadi, Nadi, Viti Levu 7200, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nadi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,146 - ₹ 2,749
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropic of Capricorn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catering for budget minded travellers, Tropic of Capricorn offers beachfront bliss, seamless island connections, easy airport transfer, free WiFi and spectacular sunsets. The location provides 180 degree ocean views spanning Denarau Marina, Mamanuca Islands, Yasawa Islands and the Sleeping Giant Mountain. We have a great selection of rooms, featuring Budget Doubles and Oceanfront Privates. All accommodation includes hot showers, comfy beds and air conditioning. All guests are welcome to enjoy the large breezy lounge, cocktail bar, swimming pool, beach deck and beachside sun loungers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Tropic of Capricorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Of Capricorn Hotel Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing