We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day out in Fiji - crew made sure our three year old was happy as a clam”

PJ's Sailing Adventures
Ranked #2 of 42 Tours in Nadi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step aboard PJ Sailing Adventures for a day to remember. This boutique style sailing is for those travellers looking for a fun day, enjoying a beautiful Island for 4 hours, being taken on a guided snorkel, lots of activities or just enjoying being on an Island for the day, then this cruise is for you. We offer a more private setting, low guest numbers max 30 along with 6 crew who will entertain you the whole day. We depart from Port Denarau sailing to Paradise, sailing to Beautiful Bounty Island. Just over one hour sailing time. Our snorkeling masters will help you find Nemo, Dory and many more fish. This is a great spot for beginners and children. Lunch is served on Bounty Island, a beautiful Island surrounded by a Marine Sanctuary crystal clear blue water , great for snorkelling off the beach, swimming or just relaxing. We have lots of cultural activities planed for you on the Island along with feeding the Islands own Hawksbill baby turtles, that were born on the Island. Happy hour on the Island is from 12 to 1, with a draught beer only $4.50. On the return sail home our entertainers, the crazy crew will have you singing and dancing. Transfers, lunch on the Island, soft drinks, water ,tea, coffee, snacks and fruit platter , while on board are all provided.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful day out in Fiji - crew made sure our three year old was happy as a clam”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We had a wonderful day out with the PJs sailing and snorkeling tour. We were a bit apprehensive about taking our three year old on a full day cruise on a smaller boat, but the crew were absolutely wonderful and made sure he was comfortable the entire time. After a leisurely motor out to plantation island (whilst it is a sailing boat, you need at least 30 knots of wind, which probably wouldn't make for ideal beach conditions) we reached the sand bank and had a delightful snorkel with fish feeding. Definitely the best snorkeling we did whilst in Fiji. The guys allowed my husband and I to swap around whilst one of of us played in the shallows with our son. He loved going into the little dingy and bouncing over the waves. Lunch was quite nice at a little restaurant on the island. You then have a couple of hours to explore the island and have a swim - we chose to kayak (free with the tour). The trip back was again very leisurely, with lots of singing and laughter. A few of us just rested (my son included!) You might like take a book along for the ride back as it's pretty mellow at that stage. We also went on a south sea island cruise, which was wonderful, but this was a bit of a different experience with the sail/motor to the island a special part of the trip, rather than just a means to ends as it tends to be on large ferry style boats. The crew are really what makes this so special - they are unbelievably attentive and you feel so well look after. Would definitely do this trip again when we go back to Fiji.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Robyna_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AussieDools, Owner at PJ's Sailing Adventures, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Thank you for your wonderful comments about the PJ Crew,
So pleased we provided you with a "Perfect Day" in Paradise.
Look forward to having you aboard the PJ again on your next visit to Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    31
    5
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great day great crew”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Didn't know this event was well rated on trip advisor but was told when we booked. Went with 3 other couples for the day for the advertised snorkeling/island experience while havin a week break with regular traveling companions at Denarau Island complex.
First off it's a pretty old sailing boat and we were a little worried that some of our more unathletic friends would be able to get on and off easily. As it worked out no drama.
The upside of thie boat, and there are many, is the fantastic crew. They really worked their buts off to make sure everyone was happy and pitched their schtick differently to each punter. This includes the guitar playing/singing going out and in.
There was a couple who pretty much didn't swim (and were going on a snorkeling trip) but they worked overtime to make sure they felt safe and ha a great time.
We have dived before but the fish feeding was very special. Loved it.
Lunch is given to you on Planation Island, a pretty old but OK island resort, and then we sailed back to port.
On the trip home the captain & the guys dragged out the guitars again for some more pretty good singing down the back of the boat (those who want to just lay back sat up the front) as the sun set.
All this for $160 Fiji, fantastic.
The people on board are billed as the "crazy crew" and they really make this a great day out.
Highly recommended.
Really

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AussieDools, Manager at PJ's Sailing Adventures, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Bula Wenricks, Yes we definately have many more upsides to our Sailing Adventure, and if a guest is " not so athletic" I am sure our wonderful and caring crew, and by all the comments on tripadvisor, they are. They would carry the guest on if they had too!!!.
The PJ was built in Montreal Canada in 1974 and has travelled around the world on 2 occassions, a very strong and sturdy yacht made of ferro cement and more than 20 ton.
We may not be the flashiest yacht in the Marina, but very well maintained. In Feb 2011 we fitted a brand new motor and gear box, conduct regular maintance days, this along with safety and great crew is our main priority to ensure everyone has a wonderful day while sailing and snokeling with the Crazy Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great day out with a great crew”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

In a way we were lucky. The yacht was undersold so we had very quiet decks between five of us. I had my first experience of snorkling and was guided every step by one of the crew. They were fun all the time and sang to us on the return leg. A thunderstorm as we approached port added to the excitement but we felt completely safe with the experienced and happy crew.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Andyoptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AussieDools, Manager at PJ's Sailing Adventures, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thanks for your great comment on your sailing day on PJ and it's crew. Always feeling safe when travelling is very important, and our guests safety is the Captain and the crews No 1 priority, having an awesome day with lots of fun is their No 2 priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tremendous Fun for my mother and I”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Went on the PJ 8/11/11 with my 81 yr old mother who has difficulty walking. The crew were genuinely friendly and incredibly helpful with my mother who ended up snorkeling for the first time in her life! One crew member (thanks Sam) assisted my mother out to the sandbar and into the water and then held her hand until she was confident she wouldn't drown and stayed with her for the whole adventure. Young kids, parents and a honeymooning couple were also on board and we were shown how to really say BULA! (Thanks Tequila). All of us had a great time singing along with the crazy crew and getting into Fiji Time.
Best tour I've been on during my 8 days in Fiji. Thoroughly recommend it to everyone.
Jacqui

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AussieDools, Owner at PJ's Sailing Adventures, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
I love your comments Jacqui, and I heard all about you and your mum, you both left a great impression on the crew, just as did the crew with you and your mum. What a wonderful experience for your mum to enjoy snokelling for the first time and feel safe.

Your comments relect on the fact that our Sailing Adventure day trip caters for all ages, has something for everyone. Thank you very much from all the Management & Crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A day trip in paradise with amazing hosts”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I have just returned from our honeymoon to Fiji. Which was fantastic!! We went on the PJ Ultimate Sailing & Snorkelling Experience on Thursday 27 October 2011 along with 18 or so other tourists and LOVED it. It was such a fun, relaxing, and entertaining day trip to do while we were in Fiji. The Crew really look after everyone, and make couples, families - even solo's - feel welcome and involved in the day's activities. The sailing boat is well equipped and maintained. It is a more intimate day out and not crowded with too many people (approx 24pax capacity!) Nothing is too hard for the hosts - their knowledge and hospitality is by far the best we have received anywhere in the world. Snorkelling was simply awesome - crystal blue waters, millions of beautiful fish and the crew even jump in and take you on the snorkelling tour and pack bread to feed the fish!! Lunch at Plantation Island was a delicious BBQ grill feast with fresh salads, bread and pastas.... followed by a Fijian banana split dessert... YUMMM! The sail back to port denaru is a great relaxing way to end the day - singing while enjoying the Fijian afternoon breeze. Our crew even stopped the boat for a quick jump in the ocean. I would recommend this day trip for anyone travelling to Fiji looking for a day trip experience that is good value for money, includes everything you need and has great company & hosts. Thank you to the team at PJ for making our honeymoon so special and one we will remember forever. Vinaka - Naomi & Brad Lynn xox

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PJ's Sailing Adventures also viewed

 

Been to PJ's Sailing Adventures? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing