We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nadi Downtown Hotel
Ranked #19 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Nadi
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I booked this Hotel from Australia through booking.com for two nights. My flight arrives Nadi at 6.50pm so i requested late check-in. My booking was confirmed and i got the confirmation number. So I arrived to the hotel around 9.00pm. Upon arriving the Front Office Staff (Fijian Lady on 7th October 2016) told me that they don't have my booking so i showed her the booking confirmation which i received from Booking.com. She did not attempt to see the confirmation and told me that this room is booked out. If i want to stay in the hotel than i have to pay extra which will be next category. I told her no problem i will find some other for a night.

Next day I booked again but this time through Agoda and i paid through Agoda as well. After i got the confirmation gave a call to the hotel to confirm if they have received my booking and again i will be late checking-in. Unfortunately same Fijian lady was on the shift. I told her that i made a booking and if she has received it. Again she told me that they are booked out so i told her that i got the confirmation and already paid. She said why I paid and when they are booked out so i told her Online Travel Agent is showing room is available also i will be coming at 9.00pm. Without thinking that i already paid they told me that she cant hold the booking as it is first come first service and they dont handle agoda booking.

I told her that this is unprofessional as at first stage it shows room is available than charge my credit card and sends the confirmation. After all this than i introduce myself to her that i also work in a Tourism Industry in Fiji and the reason you telling me is ridicules. After this she same time agreed to hold the room for me but still till 9.30pm or else she will sell the room not realizing that i have already paid the room

Upon arriving she told me that she has cancelled so many reservations and I told her that if you are booked out than put stop sell in the extranet. Who ever is handling they Online Travel Agent so update this to avoid this issue. The funny thing was she started blaming her staffs and saying they are stupid and dont know their job and me thinking who is saying all this.

After all the hassle when i came to the room i found out that the room got foul smell and look dirty.

On 9th October 2016 came to check out had to wait for more than 10 minutes for someone to come and do check-out. After long wait a Indian boy came to do check out from out side seems he was chatting or roaming in the town. He told me to wait as he has to go and check the room before he can do the check-out. So be prepare to wait at the reception for the check-out as you even cant run away as they holding $50.00 key deposit.

In short when ever you book this hotel than do call and check if they got your booking or else you have to find some other place as they might get booked out.

Room Tip: I cant recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kitz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandar P, Front Office Manager at Nadi Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Greetings from Nadi Downtown Hotel,

Firstly I like to thank you for your feedback and provided us information about our service that was offered to you by our reservation front office We have investigated and have taken actions on our staffs. Our priority is your safety and making your Fiji Holiday a pleasant one. We have now changed our front office staff and now our central bookig system is better.

You are most welcome to stay again with us and see the difference of our service which you have experienced in December.

Thanks and looking forward hearing from you soon.

Thanks,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2016

Excellent service made us feel at home. Excellent customer serivice by the night shift staff. Miss you all. Hope to stay again with downtown in our next visit. Excellent package deals were offered. Enjoyed our short stay. Vinaka vakalevu

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Nãåz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandar P, Manager at Nadi Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Thanks for your feedback and looking for seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

There are few hotels in downtown Nadi and The Downtown Hotel is one of the best. Friendly staff, reasonably priced drinks and the best fish lolo I have ever experienced. If you happen to find yourself in Nadi, this the place to be!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Aloysius M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandar P, Manager at Nadi Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Thanks for your feedback and looking forward seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Excellent hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Very affordable and budget saving hotel with good service. I would rather say it is home away from home. Really worth living in Nandi. Its Director Mr Chander Parkash is very hepful and good person. I still remember him.

Room Tip: all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr. Harinder Pa... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandar P, Manager at Nadi Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Thanks for your feedback and looking forward seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

I stayed in the Nadi Downtown Hotel in 2013 and found the staff friendly and helpful. The hotel, once a backpackers hostel, has been renovated quite successfully, and is a convenient and comfortable place to stay when in Nadi. It's a budget hotel, so it is unfair to expect all the creature comforts of a 5* hotel, and is good value for the price. It is the most comfortable of the 3 budget hotels in the area, one of which is out near the airport.

Room Tip: The ground floor room can be a bit noisy at night, at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nadine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandar P, Manager at Nadi Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Thanks for your feedback and looking forward seeing you again with better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nadi hotels
0 km away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
430 reviews
0 km away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
0 km away
Aquarius On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Hexagon International Hotel, Villas & Spa
0 km away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
0 km away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nadi Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nadi Downtown Hotel

Address: Main Street | P.O.Box 1326, Nadi, Viti Levu 1326, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Nadi
Price Range: ₹ 2,008 - ₹ 5,181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nadi Downtown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Town! Right in Town...HOTEL UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT Nadi's newly renovated, Central, Popular, Cool,Clean, Spacious and Safe accommodation for Budget Travelers located 10 minutes from Nadi International Airport (Free Airport Transfers) in the heart of Nadi Town. Reception is open 24 hours and 7 days offering friendly personalized service, information, wake-up calls, and airport transfers. Accommodation includes Standard, Deluxe, Superior , Smoking and Non Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, 2 bed Dorms and 8 Bed Dorms fully air-conditioned. Check out for our newly renovated images for Rooms, Reception, Tour Desk and Lobby. Room rates include a continental breakfast. Also note that we recently have been working hard to upgrade the backpackers accommodation to 3 star facilities to provide quality accommodation and service for our guest. We guarantee that you will arrive as a guest but stay as friends. More updates will be available soon and you will surely be impressed with our friendly Fijian hospitality service. It's Only a short walk to all the major facilities. Bus terminals, post offices, markets and the main shopping areas, all major consulates and immigration services. "Vinaka Vakalevu"Stay in Town for 1st or last Night in Nadi to Experience Fiji's Outer Island, Mainland, Activities such as Shark Dive, Skydive, Yasawa Island, Water Rafting and many more....See you soon !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Nadi Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing