We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Club Raro(Avarua)
US$ 136
US$ 131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Edgewater Resort & Spa(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
US$ 664
US$ 610
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradise Inn(Avarua)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
59
71
70
22
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
71
70
22
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadclose to the airportisland nightcheap drinksseafood platterairport hotelshort stayflight homehappy hourswimming poolouter islandshour layovercomfortable bedsearly checkika matanew zealandhula
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Did not enjoy the seafood platter, it didn't taste fresh. I would not eat here again. The service was also average but this was probably because they were busy. The beers are cheap compared to other places in Rarotonga.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alakay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Thank you for your review. Our 185 seat restaurant is extremely busy and we go through food supplies rapidly, resulting in fresh food coming in twice a day to keep up with demand. Our seafood platter features very little deep fried stuff and presents lots of fresh fish, shell fish and panfried items with 7 exotic dipping sauces. We sell a lot of $49 seafood platters daily. We are sorry you did not enjoy your seafood platter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Had lunch at the Islander Hotel during our recent visit to Rarotonga. Swimming pool in the middle of the restaurant that overlooks the ocean is a bit of a novelty...popular with the warm weather that was being experienced. Enjoyed a cocktail, and the lunch special was tasty and well priced. The service and staff were Ok...would return.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LynandDarryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for lunching with us at the Islander Restaurant. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Paid almost $200 for our stay here as we had a 1:30 am flight out and thought it would be easier than where we were staying at Muri Beach which was double that amount - wrong move - at best anywhere in the world this is a $70 room max. It was clean and it did look out to the ocean - thru the Hula Bar... Bathroom nicely renovated and water was hot and perfect that's the best thing we can say - they did have a movie choice on the hard drive on the TV as only one other channel. The room is so close to the bar the bass just vibrates the bed - obviously when there are earplugs on the side of the bed and an apology note you realise you aren't going to get any sleep ...

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KCKaycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Our day room option is $185 for an air conditioned room to rest before departure on a late night flight. The Hula Bar has a live band which tones down at 11pm and closes at 11.30pm. We hope you had a safe flight home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Price was good, meals not bad, rooms adequate but noisey. Handy to airport so can walk. Staff were a mixture with some being friendly others not so. Cheap beer all day everyday so ok if you want a party trip. Overall it was what I expected.

Room Tip: All rooms look out onto the outside bar, so one is no better than another
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Grant5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you for staying with us. We will soon start our rooms upgrade program with fresh new interiors. Staff training will be stepped up to ensure great customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

We paid $25 to have our bags stored while waiting for our Jetstar flight. We later decided to rent a room (they had a bunch spare) for $184 which is fine, but when I asked about refunding the bag fee (or reducing the room rate by $25) they wouldn’t budge. Haven’t had this kind of “double dipping” experience at a hotel before.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank jessearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Our luggage storage room is very busy and storage space is available at NZD5 per bag per day. Luggage storage fees and hotel room fees are two separate products. On a positive note, hotel room guests can store their luggage upto 24 hours for free after they check out of their room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews