We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great history

Small museum just off the main road. Not a lot of people traffic. Great history, especially about... read more

Reviewed 31 October 2018
wayne m
,
Greensboro, North Carolina
Surprisingly interesting and full of artefacts

We were travelling past and decided to drop into the library and museum. For the record, I do no... read more

Reviewed 7 September 2018
SwinnTaylor
,
Takaka, New Zealand
Read all 117 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Avarua
from US$ 75.80
More Info
from US$ 89.70
More Info
from US$ 54.90
More Info
from US$ 69.50
More Info
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
36
48
25
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
48
25
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews island history cook islands entry fee interesting things on display run by volunteers worth a visit for sale space program great information rainy day great place to visit south pacific new zealand artifacts books photos
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2018

South Pacific islands are usually not visited for their history but if you are interested in the 'backstory' and want to be away from the beach for a bit, this is a great place to visit. There's a small, well-stocked library, very friendly staff, and best of all: books to buy that you may not be able to find elsewhere. Moreover, there is a small museum with great information about the Cook Islands. Combine it with a visit to the nearby cemetery and church.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank mbaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

We were touring the island, we did not eat at the location, we did not even visit the museum as we have lived in the Pacific for a while now. However, we stopped at the shop, and the staff were so friendly and accommodating, answering our questions about the island life, the culture and their history that I felt I should write about the Cook Island library and museum as a place to stop and say hi! You guys are doing a great job, promoting the Pacific island happy life!!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Allabout2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

A very interesting place to visit ( especially on a rainy day ) packed full of information and exhibits , well worth the visit for some insight into Rarotonga and the Cook islands .

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Scotty-fisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

A great place to spend an hour browsing through the past. The Museum is well worth having a look at.
They also have a good range of second hand paperbacks for sale ,very cheap.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

Very helpful lady at the front counter. $5 entry for adults, no photographing and a most interesting film presentation as well as the items on display. If you are really interested in the history of the Cook Islands then this is a place you must visit. Suitable for all ages.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews