We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BeatriceManchester
Manchester, United Kingdom

Very friendly

Review of Own Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Mar 2024
The hotel itself, is small and tucked away on a residential street but only minutes away from the promenade, and from nice restaurants and wine bars.
The staff were all very helpful and breakfast was fresh and more than adequate, taken in the adjoined cafe.
The only reason for the 4 rather than 5 stars is out of the hotel's control. During our stay there was VERY noisy building works on the plot adjacent to the hotel. This will pass within a few weeks (we were there mid-February) and so wouldn't be an issue, but did take the edge off our stay, with them starting at 7am and finishing at 6pm - unfortunate for the hotel itself.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Check that the noisy building works have completed next door
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₹13,641
₹10,538
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Own Montevideo
Free Wifi
Pool
₹5,850
₹5,222
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.0 km from Own Montevideo
Free Wifi
Room service
₹10,098
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Hilton Garden Inn
  • Booking.com
3.4 km from Own Montevideo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹6,372
  • Expedia.com
    ₹8,302
0.4 km from Own Montevideo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹8,158
  • Expedia.com
    ₹9,624
0.2 km from Own Montevideo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    ₹14,040
  • Official website
    ₹12,536
  • Booking.com
4.9 km from Own Montevideo
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    ₹13,450
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹11,783
  • Booking.com
2.7 km from Own Montevideo
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹4,931
  • Expedia.com
    ₹6,936
3.4 km from Own Montevideo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    ₹15,063
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹14,845
  • Booking.com
10.4 km from Own Montevideo
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    ₹7,340
  • Expedia.com
    ₹8,369
1.0 km from Own Montevideo
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Montevideo
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveller rating
332
211
64
19
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
332
211
64
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews uber ride enjoyed my stay the hotel staff would stay again location is excellent shower ba mvd luggage pocitos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 632 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2024

This hotel could be good, but it's not. Main problems: {1} CONSTRUCTION NOISE STARTING 7AM EVERY DAY. [2] ONLY ONE ELEVATOR AND ITS OFTEN BROKEN WHICH MEANS YOU ARE WALKING UP 10 FLOORS. AT ONE POINT WE WERE TRAPPED IN BROKEN ELEVATOR. NO APOLOGY WAS OFFERED. [3] NO SECURE BAGGADE ROOM. [4] HOTEL BIKE RENTAL PROVIDED BIKES WITH BROKEN GEARS, AND SEMI INFLATED TIRES, CRAPPY LOCKS. LONG NARROW BREAKFAST ROOM IS LIKE BEING IN A NARROW TRAIN CAR - VERY CONSTRICTED. [5] POOL IS TINY. Consider yourself warned.

Room tip: If you want to be near the beaches, there are much better options. This is a classic boutique hotel that is badly managed.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2023

The location is excellent. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is reasonable. However, the hotel is in need of renovation, part of the materials in the rooms are aged and damaged.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MovingViews
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2023

I stayed 3 nights in the so called double standard room. My room was on the 6th floor overlooking the street. I enjoyed my stay at Own Montevideo. The room had a nice modern setup with a plenty of storage space, switches/power outlets in all the right places, many lighting fixtures. I could open windows and get a fresh air. The A/C worked fine. Wi-Fi was fine as well.
The bathroom was of a decent size, with the separation between the sink and the toilet/shower. There was a window next to the bathroom sink, with a plenty of light coming in.
Everything was in decent shape and looked clean. I found the small shelf was missing in the shower but it didn’t bother me much.
Noise level was average. Nothing super loud that bothered me.
The breakfast was adequate, with friendly personnel. One thing to know is that you have to specifically ask for coffee/tea and it will be brought to you. Everyone from the staff was very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is conveniently located. I walked to Pocitos/Montevideo sign and back. Everything is a short Uber ride away, with a plenty of Uber cars available. Uber ride to Buquebus terminal for direct ferry to BA at the morning took around 15 minutes.
If you arrive at MVD airport without a lot of luggage, you can take DM1 bus at the front of the terminal (84 pesos as of November 2022), get off at the last stop and walk ahead for 2 minutes and you are right there at the hotel door. Very convenient.
All in all, everything was good, as it seems like everything else in Montevideo. I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and am giving it 5 stars review. I certainly recommend it.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank VladMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2022 via mobile

Is the perfect spot in MVD!! The rooms are nice and clean! Service is great by all means!!
Breakfast is full of different varieties of fresh juices, fruit and pastries!
Will come back sometime soon!!
Thanks

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sebasolana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2020

Just two blocks from the water and a block to restaurants and a great cafe so hard to beat even though the hotel itself is small and can feel confining. We had booked top floor with terrace but all top floors were closed due to coronavirus precautions -- the staff were great though in putting us in the best room of the lower floors and promising to give us a discount at our next stay.

Room tip: Room 903 has the best view and a balcony, worth the $50 or so more as long as it's just 1-2 people.
Date of stay: March 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank miguelllanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christian De los Santos, Director General at Own Montevideo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2020
Google Translation

Estimado miguelllanos,

Fue un placer recibirlo nuevamente en OWN Montevideo y agradecemos el tiempo invertido en compartir su experiencia.

Lamentamos en esta oportunidad no haber podido otorgarle la habitación deseada pero preferimos salvaguardar su salud así como la de sus acompañantes.

Será un placer volver a encontrarnos en un futuro cercano.

Saludos cordiales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews