We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
27
25
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
25
2
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Good location for business in Cuidad Vieja part of Montevideo. Private room with en suite bathroom. Clean. Ideally situated to explore the old part of the city. Close to interesting eating places. Breakfast excellent. Very relaxed. Owners friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zapato101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Hostel Babilonia for 3 nights, we really enjoyed our stay. We had a private room with ensuite bathroom. The hot water worked perfectly and the airconditioner was much appreciated as it's very hot this time of year in Montevideo.
Bed was comfortable, and room was quiet.
The only tiny issue, was that the internet signal did not reach our bedroom, but that just meant we socialized more. Like I said, TINY issue, as everyone who was staying there was lovely. :)
The ladies that runs this hostel are wonderful. Their children are absolutely lovely and their puppy Peanut, is a delight as well.

The breakfast was simple, but delicious and MUCH better than other hostels we have been at. The kitchen is available for all guests to use, just the basic rule of cleaning up after yourself.
Location is great, right on calle Sarandí, Ciudad Vieja's pedestrian street.

Room Tip: There are two private rooms, one with ensuite bathroom, the other with a separate but private bathroom.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before we went to friends. It a nice hostel in a good place easy to find and close by some good restaurants. The place is nice but the staff makes the difference. So if you want to have a good stay go here.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Casper J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Best hostel I have stayed so far. It is located in the old center of montevideo and is owned by a super friendly family, which lives in the hostel. they speak fluent Spanish, English and German. the wifi is super fast and works reliably. the kitchen is very large and clean. The breakfast is plentiful, but lacks fruit. rooms are quite dark, but you are there only for sleeping anyway. there should be more sockets.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank someoneinthenowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2016

This little gem in the Old City was exactly what I needed. The place is spacious and clean. The family who live and work in the hostel are so welcoming and friendly. There is ample space in the kitchen. Always hot water in the shower. The wifi works well. I highly recommend this place if you want to feel safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews