We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home feeling, rooms could be improved though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Los Jardines Colgantes de Babilonia Hostel Montevideo
Ranked #8 of 35 Montevideo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 March 2017

I liked the vibe of the hostel a lot. The owners are nice and it is easy to meet people and to just hang out. The shared bathroom is clean and I never had to wait to use it. The best thing was the breakfast, with fresh fruit and eggs. The room I stayed in smelled of humidity however, which made it hard for me to sleep there.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lasardinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2017

Good location for business in Cuidad Vieja part of Montevideo. Private room with en suite bathroom. Clean. Ideally situated to explore the old part of the city. Close to interesting eating places. Breakfast excellent. Very relaxed. Owners friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zapato101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Hostel Babilonia for 3 nights, we really enjoyed our stay. We had a private room with ensuite bathroom. The hot water worked perfectly and the airconditioner was much appreciated as it's very hot this time of year in Montevideo.
Bed was comfortable, and room was quiet.
The only tiny issue, was that the internet signal did not reach our bedroom, but that just meant we socialized more. Like I said, TINY issue, as everyone who was staying there was lovely. :)
The ladies that runs this hostel are wonderful. Their children are absolutely lovely and their puppy Peanut, is a delight as well.

The breakfast was simple, but delicious and MUCH better than other hostels we have been at. The kitchen is available for all guests to use, just the basic rule of cleaning up after yourself.
Location is great, right on calle Sarandí, Ciudad Vieja's pedestrian street.

Room Tip: There are two private rooms, one with ensuite bathroom, the other with a separate but private bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before we went to friends. It a nice hostel in a good place easy to find and close by some good restaurants. The place is nice but the staff makes the difference. So if you want to have a good stay go here.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Casper J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Best hostel I have stayed so far. It is located in the old center of montevideo and is owned by a super friendly family, which lives in the hostel. they speak fluent Spanish, English and German. the wifi is super fast and works reliably. the kitchen is very large and clean. The breakfast is plentiful, but lacks fruit. rooms are quite dark, but you are there only for sleeping anyway. there should be more sockets.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank someoneinthenowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.3 km away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
405 reviews
0.2 km away
Alma Historica Boutique Hotel
1.0 km away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#9 of 87 in Montevideo
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#33 of 87 in Montevideo
449 reviews
0.7 km away
Splendido Hotel
Splendido Hotel
#59 of 87 in Montevideo
203 reviews
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Montevideo
Holiday Inn Montevideo
#43 of 87 in Montevideo
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Jardines Colgantes de Babilonia Hostel Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Jardines Colgantes de Babilonia Hostel Montevideo

Address: Sarandi 310, Montevideo 11005, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Montevideo
Price Range: ₹ 1,042 - ₹ 3,256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Jardines Colgantes de Babilonia Hostel Montevideo 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los jardines colgantes de Babilonia Hostel is located in the heart of the old Town, the historic center of Montevideo, on the famous pedestrian Sarandi street. It is a completely renovated old house, it is very spacious, with high ceilings, two enclosed courtyards and an external one with barbecue. With a family atmosphere and nature inspired decoration we create for our guests an ideal place to relax and fully enjoy their stay in Montevideo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Los Jardines Colgantes de Babilonia Hostel Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing