We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Tea”
Review of Philomene Cafe

Philomene Cafe
Ranked #3 of 27 Dessert in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 20
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Very cozy cafe in Punta Carretas. Open from Monday to Friday from 9am to 8.30Pm, and Saturdays from 11am to 8.30Pm. Breakfast, Lunch and Tea Time. Homemade food: sandwiches, cakes, pies, flammkuchen, soups...And more.
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We stopped here for refreshment on a wander around the treasure house that is Montevideo, and found that even high tea can add architectural interest - the house is by the well-known Montevideo firm of Bello y Reborati, prolific builders of Art Nouveau and Art Deco town houses to the middle classes. A small family home has become a bijou tea house, with wooden tables and chairs, aproned waitresses, and English tea services.

We had scones with jam and soft cream cheese - whipped cream is not available - and a decent pot of tea. The scones were small and salty, but OK. It would have been nice to have a little more jam and cream cheese. Service was prompt and friendly, though there was some sharp-elbowed competition for our table. We ignored it, and spent a pleasant hour with the ladies (and genetlemen) who lunch. A restorative interlude.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marianne c, Propietario at Philomene Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thank you ARD for your opinion! We hope to see you again!
Best! MC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

Came here for lunch as it was near my hotel. The flavors of he dishes on the menu seems to change weekly so good if your a local.I had the quiche which was good but could be heated a bit more so the center is also warm.I had a coffee which was also good.I wish I had room for the desserts as they looked great.Prices are reasonable coffee about 95 and the mains about 200 to 300.Also despite being a cafe you can still qualify for the discount using overseas card.The only issue we had is we clearly asked for the bill without tip but the waitress added tip and we wished to pay that in cash.

Thank lollypoplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marianne c, Propietario at Philomene Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Hello Lollypoplady, thanks for your opinion!
And sorry for including the tip on your card. Surely we didn't understand that you asked us not to put it in the credit card or we did it by mistake. So sorry!
best regards and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Quant and sweet option for lunch alone or with friends , very sweet service. The food is very good for a nice lunch with daughters, friends or mother .

Thank jeanniefontaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marianne c, Propietario at Philomene Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you Jeannie for your opinion and we hope you return soon.
regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

On our first day in Montevideo we walked through the city exploring and got hungry at lunch time. We came across Philomene Café and we are happy we did. The café is small, decorated in a homey fashion, plenty of pillows, odd tables and chairs. It was cool even though the day was very hot.
Our waitress was attentive and friendly but did not speak English, and our Spanish is minimal. We went to work on the menu with Google Translate and managed to order the daily special which was a delicious spinach quiche, with a salad. The pie crust was the right combination of flaky and crispy. We really enjoyed it.
We had arrived at the restaurant at about 11:45am and found out we could not eat until noon, which we found a bit strange. I do not know if this is unique to this restaurant of a custom in the city. It was not a problem for us but, not something we were accustomed to .
I would recommend Philomene Café for a light lunch in a cozy atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marianne c, Propietario at Philomene Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thanks a lot Peter for your opinion and reccomendations!
We'd like to see you here again!
regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Had lunch at this lovely place, good service, good food in a very nice place, would certainly go back. Very close to Punta Carretas mall.

Thank Javier_mail2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marianne c, Propietario at Philomene Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thanks a lot Javier for your opinion! We look forward to recieve you again!
regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Philomene Cafe also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Philomene Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing