We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A charming oasis”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This place oozes charm - quite a feat given its location at the train station, en route to Machu Picchu/Aguas Calientes. Highlights for us were: the gorgeous tropical garden in the courtyard; the views from some areas of the snow-capped mountains (a bonus I hadn't known about), and the excellent restaurant.

We were in a "Standard" room, the old part nearest the station (i.e. most exposed to train noise). We would highly recommend the "Superior" class of rooms, from what we saw: they are newer, better decorated, further from the trains. Rooms 16, 15 and 12 provide views of the snow-capped mountains. They must be gorgeous. If ever I return, I'd want one of those rooms. They are not especially expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms 16, 15, and 12 (in that order) seem the best, with amazing mountain views (and in the newer/qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarsawWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,057
    381
    83
    44
    13
See reviews for
371
778
81
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maumee, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Our group of 10 spent 3 days at El Albergue after our 3D/4N trek on the Inca Trail and found this to be an outstanding hotel in an exceptional small town (Ollantaytambo). Wish we had more time to spend there! The location right by the train station worked out well (although you may want to avoid rooms on that side). The interior gardens were beautiful, the rooms were unique and charming, the restaurant was very good (great breakfast was included and we had two dinners there as well), and the staff was very helpful and spoke good english. I would highly recommend this hotel and a stay of several nights in Ollantaytambo as part of a visit to the Sacred Valley area. It was a very nice alternative to the business of Cusco and there was much to do in Ollantaytambo and the area.

Room Tip: The rooms on the train station side were well insulated, but the rooms away from the station were pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addison, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Our stay at the Albergue Ollantaytambo was only for one night; but we wouldn't have picked a better place to stay before our journey to Machu Picchu the next day.

I recommend this to anyone. We stayed there the night before going to Machu Picchu, I picked this place because of the location. You literally walk out their back/front door and you're on the train platform.

After a long day of touring; it was nice to come to a hotel that was like an Oasis, it was super private, the rooms were nice, we had 4 rooms booked in total and they were all very nice clean and spacious; as well as the placed looked great, everything from the rooms to the grounds (very well landscaped); the whole group was really impressed with this place, and it was a nice break before heading out to Machu Picchu (MP) for the day.

We took the first train out, and it was worth it; by staying in Ollantaytambo, you cut your commute time to MP significantly, and are able to beat most of the crowds.

The breakfast was good and free; the restaurant for dinner was decent, and the price for one night was really good too. I think it was under 100 dollars, and we had two people in each room. It was a nice break from Cuzco, and we all loved this place.

The only complaint I would have is that when we checked out; the people that wanted to pay with a credit card weren't able to do so. Luckily they had enough soles to pay cash for their stay; but that's not really what they wanted to do. The guy said the card wouldn't go through but they tried 3 different cards from three different people, I am not sure if he didn't know how to use the machine, or if the machine was really down. Who knows; but that's the only complaint that we have from this place.

We all had wished we stayed a couple of more days at El Albergue; but there are always time constraints.

I would recommend this place, its a nice oasis; very well kept and awesome rooms, but most importantly the ability to wake up "late" and just stroll onto the train platform is key!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gacuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Great location, wonderful ambience, comfortable rooms. You can't beat this lovely property and tremendous staff. Can't imagine being better looked after anywhere else.
Easy to avoid Aguas Caliente by taking the first train out, and the last train back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJMWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The hotel is located right next to the train station to Machu Picchu. The room condition is pretty clean and modern. There is free wifi in the room. The staffs in the hotel are friendly and the restaurant in the hotel is also not bad.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CHHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ollantaytambo
0.7 km away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
397 reviews
0.2 km away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
620 reviews
1.0 km away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
366 reviews
1.0 km away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
168 reviews
30.4 km away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Property: El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,829 - ₹ 14,045
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing