We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything I hoped for and more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything I hoped for and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Yes, this hotel is scary expensive, but it really is worth it. The rooms are small, but the staff are superb and the location can't be beat. When we were at machu picchu the weather wasn't brilliant: cloudy first thing, then clearing up before rain at noon, then clearing up again at 3, so having lodging right up top meant we could dodge the rain, and still spend plenty of time inside the ruins.

By the way, if you stay two nights, the rate for the second night is significantly cheaper - when you add in the excellent food, wine, cocktails, lunch and lovely breakfast that is included, the second night is pretty good value. Plus, it means we had time to climb machu picchu montane and then find a corner and sit and soak up the atmosphere...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Locohellequin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,265
    444
    165
    52
    26
See reviews for
403
1,023
85
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The service, the ambience, the eco rooms and the massage all match up to the stunning view!
The staff could not do enough for us - afternoon tea was splendind and although I did not feel great because of the altitude , the food was excellent too.
the main attraction is visiting the park from lunch time till it closes late afternoon and being able to have a sundowner taking it all in...then waking ( or walking-depending on your preference)to the sunrising over the "park"again !
Take your swimsuit to laze in the jacuzzi and photo with a different fixture behind you.. and in the midst of the orchid walk and the sounds of the birds..dreamy!

Room Tip: it's worth upgrading ( or we received one complimentary)to a terrace room- view of MP from room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnniebelleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

It is no secret why we and others have opted to stay at the Sanctuary Lodge, rather than the variety of other hotels, hostels, and inns down the mountain -- the hotel provides an unmatchable location and incredibly easy access to the ruins, just steps to the entrance of Macchu Picchu.

I traveled with my spouse and a friend of ours and stayed at the Lodge after hiking the Inca Trail for four days. In light of this trip likely being a once in a lifetime visit to Machu Picchu, we felt the splurge on the Lodge was justified for three reasons.

First, for our two days at the site, it gave us more time on the mountain and at the ruins, taking in the gorgeous natural scenery and the citadel without needing to build in additional travel time on the bus to get there.

Second, we found real value in being able to go back and forth between the ruins and the Lodge over the course of the day. On each day, we entered the city three separate times, returning after each session to the Lodge to take a break, enjoy a refreshing meal or drink, or in one instance to comfortably take cover from an extended rain shower. Despite seeng all the pictues of Machu Picchu, until you are there, it is hard to appreciate how large and "three-dimensional" the site is. We appreciated the ability to break up the day with a meal or afternoon tea, rather than just a short pit stop on a bench or the grass.

Third, based on a recommendation from another Trip Advisor reviewer, we reserved an hour at the Lodge jacuzzi overlooking the ruins at the end of the day after the archaelogical site had closed. This was truly a unique and memorable moment, allowing us to reflect on our visit and the site, luxuriously relaxing as the Lodge staff brought drinks directly to us upon request. It was so fabulous that we scheduled another hour the next morning, which the staff accommodated although we were told the jacuzzi is generally not available until the afternooon.

Other reviewers have criticized the size of the rooms and lobby, given the expensive price of the hotel, but we found our room (a Superior King) to be very nice, the bed extremely comfortable, and the shower wonderful after our days trekking the mountains. The lobby has a small footprint and is certainly no frills as compared to typical four or five-star properties, but it should be well understood that this a necessary trade off for the location. Given the space limitations, we believe that the hotel has done about as much as it can with the property -- the rooms are comfortable and there is a beautiful orchid garden and lovely birds all around on the property.

Certainly, part of the sticker shock of Lodge's price tag is offset by the fact that meals and drinks, including non-premium alcohol, are included and, despite not being big drinkers, we appreciated this feature. Our only concern about our experience was that the service in the restaurant was spotty over the course of our three meals there. While the food was generally, although not universally, quite good, we experienced longer than normal delays in bringing coffee and other drinks and we had one instance where the wrong food was delivered, resulting in additional delay, and another where the same food was brought twice. None of this should be deal breaking, but it left us with the feeling that Lodge staff knows its customers choose the property principally on the location, and do not have to go the extra mile to compete by also providing exceptional service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WeLikeToTravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Yes it's insanely pricey, but the #1 benefit of staying here is location, location, location. At the end of the day and early in the morning - you and the other 30-40 hotel guests are the ONLY ones in Macchu Picchu. Really special since it can be overrun by crowds. As far as the hotel, I would say the hardware is 3 star but the service is 5 star. Rooms are nothing special - think a 70's Sheraton thats been refurbished - but service is outstanding. Food was exceptional. And again, it's the location!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank journey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I didn't stay at the Lodge but had afternoon tea at the Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge. It was a bit of a drama even just entering the lodge too, they wanted to ensure that I had a reservation (which I did have and I had names of hotel staff correspondents to prove it)

Disregarding that entrance episode however, the afternoon tea spread itself was a nice break from all the climbing and walking around at Machu Picchu and the tea (or coffee) and sandwiches and scones and other light bites, though not wide in range, was enough for an afternoon re-fuel.

There was no view of the Machu Picchu site from the restaurant though, so don't come to the afternoon tea restaurant expecting to see it.

I can't remember the exact amount as my partner paid the bill but it was an approx of just over US$20 per person.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveldivaritagoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machu Picchu
0.4 km away
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machu Picchu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
2.1 km away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
2.3 km away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.1 km away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
2.3 km away
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Property: Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Address: Carretera Hiram Bingham Km 7.5 | Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price range (per night): ₹ 52,704 - ₹ 1,06,914
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge enjoys a unique location just steps from the entrance to Machu Picchu; it is the only hotel beside the Inca citadel. This charming mountain retreat, set in orchid gardens, is the perfect place to relax, from early in the morning to magical moonlit nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Belmond so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing