We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First leg of a 10 day trip in Peru and Ecuador”

Cusco & Machu Picchu Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 410.00*
and up
Machu Picchu Full Day Tour by Train
More Info
US$ 625.00*
and up
Private Tour: Machu Picchu Day Trip
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This three-hour rail journey between Cusco and Machu Picchu takes passengers through spectacular mountain scenery, dramatic canyons and along the beautiful Urubamba River with stops in the picturesque village of Poroy and other colorful small towns in the foothills of the Andes.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“First leg of a 10 day trip in Peru and Ecuador”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We are a couple in the mid sixties that traveling to Bogota, Colombia for personal reasons
have decided to use this opportunity and visit also Machu Picchu, Peru and the Galapagos in Ecuador.
We made all the arrangements (except the international flights) through a small tour operator : Latin Discover from Costa Rica and we don't regret our decision.
Our focal point - Mauricio Guzman has put together the best plan for us in the time constraint we have asked him,has been most cooperative with changes and payments arrangements and has been available on line all the time,attentive to our comments.
In Peru,the local tour operator chosen, Lima Tours has performed very well,all the pick ups were on time,all the guides were knowledgeable and passionate about the Inca history and the trains were a pleasant surprise.
Our 5 days tour included Cusco,The Inca Sacred Valley,Machu Picchu and Waynapichu.
Most of the hotels - Ruinas in Cusco and El Mapi in Aguas Calientes were very good,Casona de Yukay less so.
The climb of Waynapichu was the most exciting part,although it is very difficult and it is not
suitable for every one - it should be specified when ordering the tour.
All in all it was a most rewarding (and demanding) experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 925HaroldE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    184
    49
    21
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Cusco and MP”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

As a Peruvian, I am so proud of this beautiful place. Located in the highlands, Cusco used to be the center of the Inca culture. People are so friendly and kind. The nightlife is good for those who like to party until late (or early morning?). Nice restaurants and good food at different prices. Cusco offers 5 star hotels and nice cozy hostels..same with the restaurants.
On the other hand, Machu Picchu -an Inca city- is a magic place located on a mountain. If you get up really early you can see the sunrise and marvel yourself with the mist, clouds and sun as it clears out around 7am. It is a good hike especially if you go to Huayna Picchu (must get up around 3 or 4am to access since the number of tourists here is limited). The food here is expensive so I recommend bringing yourself some snacks and lots of water.
There is something about Cusco that makes me come back every year :)
If you want to know more, feel free to ask :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Trotamundos_2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing views!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We took Peru Rail from Ollantaytambo to Machu Picchu town/Aguas Calientes and back. The seats were comfortable. They gave us a drink and snack during the ride. The best part...the views are amazing!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Angaquarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Professional, on time and prompt”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Took Peru rail from Cusco to Aguas Calientes (Machu Picchu), then from Aguas Calientes to Ollantaytambo. As one of the only means to get to Machu Picchu (others being backpacking or horseback riding there), they have a monopoly and consequently, their prices reflect it. However they provide very good, clean (train cars are immaculate…they take very good care) reliable and professional service. They sit four people together looking at each other – two on one side, two on the other – with a table in between. Seating is sometimes problematic as we found upon boarding in Cusco. Numerous couples that made reservations online weren’t sitting next to their spouses or children. Thankfully, most people were willing to switch so couples could sit next to each other. The ride from Cusco to Aguas Calientes takes about 3 hours, during which time they serve a very nice, but small breakfast. The 2 hour trip from Aguas Calientes entailed a small snack, along with a fashion show put on by train staff of Peruvian sweaters and scarfs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonRedSoxFan2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Train ride was a worthwhile experience!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My family and I took to the train to Aquas Calientes (Machu Pichu) and the ride was fantastic! The scenery alone was worth the train ticket, with incredible views of the valleys, mountains, and rivers along the route. The train staff was incredible as well, Luz was a great stewardess and spent the majority of the ride explaining a lot of the history and culture of Cusco and Machu Pichu. Very sweet and helpful young woman!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cusco & Machu Picchu Railway also viewed

Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Cusco & Machu Picchu Railway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing