We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super quaint place to grab a bite”
Review of Bodega Queirolo

Bodega Queirolo
Ranked #602 of 3,237 Restaurants in Lima
Neighbourhood: Cercado de Lima
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Cercado de Lima
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

Just off of Plaza San Martin, a traditional gentlemen’s pub with hearty creole food and sandwiches. We loved how the waitstaff gives you enough space to make you feel that you could stay at your table all day, but still within earshot should you need anything.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Ibisnaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2017

A nice old bodega with the usual Peruvian dishes cooked and prepared on the most traditional way. Waiters do not speak a language other than Spanish. A bit pricey for the kind of food and sevice you get. The place is worht a visit anyway.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fran07Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Around the corner from the Museo de Arqueologia. A great and traditional restaurant. Good food , fast service and good prices. Worth a visit!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank PepePitMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Being that this restaurant is nearly 100 years old, it's able to boast that it's indeed one of Lima's oldest. I was told to come here by a local leather shop owner in the center when I asked about a place to buy a bottle of good Pisco. I think she misunderstood me slightly and thought that I wanted a place where I could go have a drink, but either way, her recommendation was spot on.

Like many traditional Peruvian restaurants, this one fills up with locals who simply want to sit and share drinks as well as eat good food. I would agree with the previous English review that it seemed unlikely that the staff would speak much English. For me personally, that's not a problem.

The local is in an old historic building in the heart of Lima and is quite large when one accounts for all the different rooms that compose it.

The service was more or less of the standard, no frills variety that you tend find in the more traditional Peruvian restaurants.

The food is the real reason to come here if you ask me. I had the tacu tacu with seco de res and the portions were truly massive. It really hit the spot because I was looking for something satisfying after arriving in Lima from a 24 hour+ long bus trip. The dishes are prepared in a traditional style that resembles what you typically would have found in Peru before it went through it's gastronomic revolution in the early 2000s.

So while it may not exceed the standards of what some international tourists come to expect in service and comfort, I would recommend it for anyone wanting to have a real traditional Peruvian restaurant experience.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank El_Gringo_Montana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Authentic and delicious Peruvian food. I must point out that I cannot speak Spanish and no one in the restaurant spoke any English. However the staff were friendly and as helpful as possible. Through sheer luck and some educated guessing we ordered what ended up being fantastic food. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Amit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bodega Queirolo also viewed

 

Been to Bodega Queirolo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing