We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wouldn't Stay Here Again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antigua Miraflores Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antigua Miraflores Hotel
Ranked #37 of 227 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
306 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Wouldn't Stay Here Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I'm being kind by giving a 2 star rating for this hotel. I don't understand the good reviews posted. 26 of us stayed here for three nights recently and, to a person, we thought the Antiqua Miraflores was one of the worst hotels we had ever stayed in. Ads say the rooms are air conditioned, but most of us did not have A/C. After complaining about room temperature of over 85 degrees, I was moved to another room with a teeny A/C unit mounted on the wall. Then, I had to return to the front desk to get a remote control for the unit; and had to sign a form that I would pay $30 if I lost the remote. First room had no hair dryer; second one had a brand new hair dryer that had a European type plug that did not fit any electrical outlet in the room. Safe in room doesn't come with a key; you have to sign forms at the front desk for a key and it looked like a standard key that would fit any of the room safes so I didn't trust the safe for my valuables.

Breakfast was a nightmare. They have a teeny restaurant area that seats about 25 people and overflow for guests was wherever we could find a place to sit. There was one person cooking in the kitchen and a very limited menu. Everything is cooked to order and servings were very skimpy. Typically a guest receives one egg scrambled with a piece of toast and coffee. No meats or fruits or any other options, and no "seconds" allowed under any circumstances. Dinner worked the same way except I had to stick my head in the kitchen and tell the chef what I wanted to place an order; there didn't appear to be any wait person working at night.

Rooms didn't have anything for storage except a homemade kiosk that is made from wood that smelled to high heaven. It was clean inside but I did not put anything away in it for fear that my clothes would smell like the wood.

Bathroom was clean with plenty of towels. Bed was comfortable and sheets were nice but bed had a bedspread that was a muted sand/peach/pink flower color and it was old and worn.

Only one person at the front desk speaks English fluently, and she was overwhelmed by the size of our group and the handling of things such as hair dryers, safe keys, and A/C remotes. This hotel has WIFI, but to get reception it's best to sit in the common area near the front desk. They also supply two desktop computers that are free for guests to use.

The front yard and entry look like a nice hotel, but farther back in the building there are construction areas (where new dining room will be added) and rotting wood showing in several places.

Definitely not a good experience.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westgalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    419
    128
    30
    17
See reviews for
130
340
82
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

My wife and i stayed here for two nights on our way up to Cusco. Really enjoyed the stay.

Room was very clean, with very comfortable bed. Great shower.

Breakfast was a pleasant experience, if not a bit chaotic at times, somehow you always seemed to get what you ordered. Dont ask for anything that isnt on the menu !.

You wont get fat on the portions but I found them enough to keep me going to lunchtime. If you need a bit more there is a bakery on the right just outside the gate.

All staff were really friendly and helpful, English wasnt there strongest point but then again neither is my spanish.

Great location about 5 mins walk from alot of good restaurants.

I read on someones review that it took them 45 mins to walk into Central Lima. It must have been another one cause it took me 2 hours ! (6kms), would recommend you catch one of the hundreds of buses that run up and down Ave Arequipa, if you catch it by the Parc Central in Miraflores and get off Muse de Arte. The fare ranges from 1.5 sol to 2.3 sol.

Overal enjoyed the experience and would go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

My partner and I spent 2 nights recently in this hotel. With it's good, quiet location, nice food and friendly, very helpful staff made our stay in Lima really comfortable. The rooms are comfortable and clean and I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonNat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

After a long flight from California to Lima, with multiple layovers, Hotel Antigua was a welcome destination.
Great breakfast, hot shower, and comfortable bed.
Great location to walk around the city and a really helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

My friend and I had a really nice stay at Hotel Antigua. The hotel was great in many aspects, including location, facility/amenities/cleanliness, and service/hospitality.

Location: the hotel is off of the major street so it's quiet enough, but close to major attractions in Miraflores (15-20 mins walk to Parque del Amor, Parque Kennedy or Larcomar) and the area was pretty safe to walk in the night. The historic center of Lima was about 30 minutes cab-ride away with traffic, and cost 20-25 soles. Also very convenient to get to neighboring Barranco (nice and hip area, with good restaurants/cafes/galleries), 10 mins/10 soles by cab, or 20 mins walk. There are a few good restaurants in walking distance from the hotel too.

Facility/amenities/cleanliness: the colonial style building was lovely and well maintained. The lobby was set up as a gallery of paintings by local artists, and leading to a pretty courtyard with a fountain. Our room with two twin beds was small-ish but clean, with a window opening to the courtyard. Bathroom was also clean. There was a water dispenser in the hallway on the guestroom floor, and a jug in the room, which was nice. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel and 2 complimentary computers in the lobby. There was a complimentary breakfast in their dining room. It included coffee, fresh orange juice, bread, and one of 6-8 breakfast menu choices they have (from continental, standard eggs and ham to Peruvian breakfast with cornmeal pancake.)

Service/hospitality: the staff was friendly and very helpful. They have an impressive list of good restaurants, so if you don't have any place specific place you want to go, try the place they recommend. And the guy that worked as doorman/porter during the day was truly fantastic. He was a kind of person who paid attention and offered help before we asked for help. Honestly, I have never experienced that kind of thoughtfulness in Peru, or anywhere else I've been to.

If I visit Lima in the future, I will definitely stay here again, and I will recommend to anyone with confidence.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank makster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Arawi Lima Miraflores Hotel
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa Miraflores
Hotel Runcu Miraflores
#23 of 227 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hostal Torreblanca
Hostal Torreblanca
#34 of 227 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Hotel San Antonio Abad
#26 of 227 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigua Miraflores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua Miraflores Hotel

Property: Antigua Miraflores Hotel
Address: Av. Grau 350, Miraflores | Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Lima
#40 Romantic Hotel in Lima
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,621 - ₹ 8,294
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigua Miraflores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Antigua Miraflores; an authentic introduction to Peru’s rich cultural heritage. Enjoy the elegance and character of a turn of the century mansion with all the comforts and amenities of a fine hotel and the warmth and charm of a colonial B&B. Tasteful decor, attention to detail, and our staff’s attentive and friendly service will make your stay with us unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Antigua Miraflores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Antigua Miraflores
Antigua Miraflores Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing