We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“first time was fine, repeat visit was a bust” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1900 Backpacker's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1900 Backpacker's Hostel
Ranked #16 of 312 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“first time was fine, repeat visit was a bust”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We were placed in the most basic room initially, not even a shelf to place our personal items on. But the beds were ok and it was clean. The bathroom were clean (but run out of toilet paper before morning). Upon returning with my boyfriend, the room we had reserved weeks in advance (and had reconfirmed by email and in person 2 weeks earlier) had been given away and "maybe" we could have the room in a few days. We were placed in the basic twin bed room (at a higher price!) that was nothing like any of the photos shown. And then ignored about a room change. The second night the door lock broke (thank goodness we were not locked inside). So basically we could not secure our belongings if we left our room. Again we were promised it would be fixed................we gave up the next day and just left. We were overcharged (paid for a twin room at a higher price than a double) The hostel is in an interesting part of town, and it was very walkable. I was willing to stay there again until the last visit. The customer service is non-existant in areas that really do matter.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hikergirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    110
    53
    21
    21
See reviews for
6
86
92
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hostel is truly different than the usual hostels I have been. It is located in the center of Lima (already somehow special, most hostels are in Miraflores), only a few blocks away from the daily chaos of downtown. First of all, it is safe ! Everybody is going to Miraflores because it is safe, well, this hostel is an alternative (double-gate at the entrance + surveillance camera + 24 hrs. reception+ ok neighbourhood). In the dorms are extra lockers for putting ALL your things inside (backpack+ extra space for more). The place is really clean and spaceous. Only the kitchen is a little bit small..but well equiped. The building is a renovated 1900's construction with a lot of character, high ceilings, marble-/ or wooden floors, really nice to chill when not running around + the air is a lot cooler than outside.
The stuff speaks english and is very helpfull and friendly. I stayed here for 3 nights, will extend to additionally 3.
Supermarket is 5 mins. away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed here about 1 week and we really like it.
This hostel is quite big. Lobby and bar area are separate from rooms that could decrease some noisy at night.
Rooms are simple but very clean and comfortable, but sometimes there are still some mosquitoes bothering your dream.
Internet single is ok during our stay, and even in the room it is still working well.
Share bathroom is simple but clean too, and the hot shower is very nice (hot enough).
All the staffs are very friendly, nice and helpful to answer or solve our questions.
Although there is a kitchen, but it's very tiny and only has 2 stoves with very limited utensils. If you just cook something easy, that won't be a big problem.
The last thing is that it's located in the 2nd floor, might be very easy to ignore.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kikimeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

In the fall of 2011 I made use of an opportunity to backpack South and Central America. 1900 Backpacker's Hostel was the very first hostel I ever stayed in. The staff are all fluent in English and very accommodating. The house is very secure and sits right at the edge of the tourist district in Central Lima. It is directly across the street from the Museo De Arte.

Rooms are very clean. Bathrooms are shared but cleaned several times a day. Breakfast is the standard hostel fare - rolls, coffee, jam and juice. You are on your own for lunch and dinner but that is normal for hostels. Plenty of restaurants abound. The hostel does have a bar, and a common room that sports tables, couches, chairs and a very nice pool table. The staff are friendly and often inclined to hang out and chat. Sometimes they have parties in the evening and once during my week there, a band.

They will also arrange at your request for a car to pick you up from the airport. You'll pay more, but its worth it for the safety factor - especially if its your first time to Lima. Safety on the streets of Lima can sometimes be an issue, but I felt very secure, very safe at 1900 Backpackers and in this neighborhood. There is a bus stop right outside the hostel that gives you easy access to Miraflores. Central Lima with its historic buildings are within walking distance.

1900 Backpackers hostel was a great introduction to hosteling and I would stay there again if I return to Peru.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BallroomPics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I'm kinda new to trekking & hosteling, long time couch surfer, and I know a good thing when I see it. 1900 Backpackers' Hostel is the real deal. relatively new, it is housed in gorgeous retrofitted historic building and remains property of long time family owners, one of whom is partner in hostel. international staff speak fluent English (polyglots all), well acquainted with city. safe clean area in cosmopolitan city. my daughter loved nearby Perdo's chicken...the hostel is very large, ornate, with large comfortable rooms, shared baths. large rec areas, bar, breakfast and Internet space, TV viewing area. fabulous high vaulted ceilings, mosaic tiled floors...very reasonable, desayuna included. nearby miraflores is lovely, energetic barrio. would stay again, but they are booked, darn it.

Room Tip: awesome! so big, ltd camaraderie, but that's the only minor drawback.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank locoparasurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Cercado de Lima
Gran Hotel Bolivar
Gran Hotel Bolivar
#64 of 226 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Hotel Continental Lima
#58 of 226 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa Miraflores
Hotel Paris Lima
#99 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Lima Backpackers
#1 of 312 in Lima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1900 Backpacker's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1900 Backpacker's Hostel

Property: 1900 Backpacker's Hostel
Address: Ave Garcilazo de la Vega 1588, Lima, Lima L 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 312 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price range (per night): ₹ 739 - ₹ 2,016
Hotel Class:1.5 star — 1900 Backpacker's Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renovated mansion in the historic center of Lima,walking distance from Lima's main tourist attractions and just in front of The Lima museum of art. It is a perfect blend of luxury and low price, old and new. With marble floors and french architecture, this backpacker oriented hostel provides plenty of fun with its stylish bar overlooking Old Lima and its good vibe! Hope you enjoy Lima with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your 1900 Backpacker's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing