We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1900 Backpacker's Hostel
Ranked #16 of 348 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed here about 1 week and we really like it.
This hostel is quite big. Lobby and bar area are separate from rooms that could decrease some noisy at night.
Rooms are simple but very clean and comfortable, but sometimes there are still some mosquitoes bothering your dream.
Internet single is ok during our stay, and even in the room it is still working well.
Share bathroom is simple but clean too, and the hot shower is very nice (hot enough).
All the staffs are very friendly, nice and helpful to answer or solve our questions.
Although there is a kitchen, but it's very tiny and only has 2 stoves with very limited utensils. If you just cook something easy, that won't be a big problem.
The last thing is that it's located in the 2nd floor, might be very easy to ignore.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kikimeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for 1900 Backpacker's Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 190 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

In the fall of 2011 I made use of an opportunity to backpack South and Central America. 1900 Backpacker's Hostel was the very first hostel I ever stayed in. The staff are all fluent in English and very accommodating. The house is very secure and sits right at the edge of the tourist district in Central Lima. It is directly across the street from the Museo De Arte.

Rooms are very clean. Bathrooms are shared but cleaned several times a day. Breakfast is the standard hostel fare - rolls, coffee, jam and juice. You are on your own for lunch and dinner but that is normal for hostels. Plenty of restaurants abound. The hostel does have a bar, and a common room that sports tables, couches, chairs and a very nice pool table. The staff are friendly and often inclined to hang out and chat. Sometimes they have parties in the evening and once during my week there, a band.

They will also arrange at your request for a car to pick you up from the airport. You'll pay more, but its worth it for the safety factor - especially if its your first time to Lima. Safety on the streets of Lima can sometimes be an issue, but I felt very secure, very safe at 1900 Backpackers and in this neighborhood. There is a bus stop right outside the hostel that gives you easy access to Miraflores. Central Lima with its historic buildings are within walking distance.

1900 Backpackers hostel was a great introduction to hosteling and I would stay there again if I return to Peru.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BallroomPics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I'm kinda new to trekking & hosteling, long time couch surfer, and I know a good thing when I see it. 1900 Backpackers' Hostel is the real deal. relatively new, it is housed in gorgeous retrofitted historic building and remains property of long time family owners, one of whom is partner in hostel. international staff speak fluent English (polyglots all), well acquainted with city. safe clean area in cosmopolitan city. my daughter loved nearby Perdo's chicken...the hostel is very large, ornate, with large comfortable rooms, shared baths. large rec areas, bar, breakfast and Internet space, TV viewing area. fabulous high vaulted ceilings, mosaic tiled floors...very reasonable, desayuna included. nearby miraflores is lovely, energetic barrio. would stay again, but they are booked, darn it.

Room Tip: awesome! so big, ltd camaraderie, but that's the only minor drawback.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank locoparasurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights at 1900 Backpackers. Just after our arrival in Peru and we came back at the end as we liked its high level of safety, kitchen facilities and that everybody of the staff spoke English. What we didnt like: noises at night from the courtyard, shared bathrooms (just 1 toilet in the men's facilities!, lack of toilet paper). Rooms are very basic but rather clean. Breakfast is satisfactory (jam, rolls, tea). Free and working wifi (however not in rooms).

Room Tip: Unfortunately no rooms with bathrooms
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grregg_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

It is a really nice hostel if you are looking for a cheap place. It definitely has the feel of classic backpackers hostel. The rooms are nice, shared bathrooms are okay. Breakfast is simple but it's enough with bread, jam, butter, coffe/tea. It has a nice common room with a pool table. Also they have nice beers. The neighborhood is definitely not the safest but 15 mins walk to historical centre of Lima. The buses to Miraflores and other places leave just in front of the hostel. Employees are so friendly and helpful. Additionally you should know that there will be noise through the night!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikezgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Cercado de Lima
Gran Hotel Bolivar
Gran Hotel Bolivar
#75 of 229 in Lima
698 reviews
Hotel Continental Lima
#57 of 229 in Lima
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 348 in Lima
751 reviews
Cercado de Lima
Mana Hostel
Mana Hostel
#15 of 348 in Lima
179 reviews
Callao
Pay Purix Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1900 Backpacker's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1900 Backpacker's Hostel

Address: Ave Garcilazo de la Vega 1588, Lima L 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Cercado de Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 348 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range: ₹ 642 - ₹ 2,184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — 1900 Backpacker's Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renovated mansion in the historic center of Lima,walking distance from Lima's main tourist attractions and just in front of The Lima museum of art. It is a perfect blend of luxury and low price, old and new. With marble floors and french architecture, this backpacker oriented hostel provides plenty of fun with its stylish bar overlooking Old Lima and its good vibe! Hope you enjoy Lima with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your 1900 Backpacker's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing