We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“safe, central & clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel
Ranked #45 of 321 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Brisbane
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“safe, central & clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

our short stay in Mirraflores was spent at the Hitchhikkers. The gated hostel was staffed by very friendly staff. We had only two nights here. We had dropped off some laundry at the local laundrymat and when we went to pick it up they said it wasnt ready. We were leaving early the next morning and I told the staff that we needed it by that night. They told us to come back at 8pm, which we did only to find out that they were closed. The staff at the Hitchhikers were great. We flew out early the next morning leaving the staff to collect the laundry. We were to fly into Lima again in two weeks, for a short 2 hour stop over between flights. The staff put the laundry into a taxi cab to the airport where we collected it. Thank heaps the the lovely ladies.
The rooms are good value for money, breaky was ordinary, but hardly worth a mention, considering all else. they have a fantastic library and common areas.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    83
    54
    22
    8
See reviews for
8
74
47
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

It was very nice to stay at kusillus, nice people and very friendly, add to this nice and clean rooms and a good price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FranciscoGaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

The hostel is in a good location in Miraflores (which people had recommended as a safe and nice place/suburb to stay in Lima). It feels a bit secluded though…the place has a large patio surrounded by high walls so you can’t see out at all, and you have to be let in and out by staff (which I suppose is what makes the place feel secure, but creates a somewhat isolating atmosphere). In the patio you can relax in hammocks, play ping pong, enjoy your breakfast, etc. and there are also a few indoor common areas with comfy seating, huge selections of DVDs, games and space to relax and chat with others.

Rooms are basic and clean – we had a private bathroom with a big shower (hot water!) which was great but the bedroom isn't where you'd really want to hang out. The included breakfast is very sparse (dry bread and coffee), best to visit the nearby supermarket a few blocks away and stock up on food to cook yourself in the kitchen or buy some of the great pre-made sandwiches there. Friendly staff on hand to answer questions, let you in and out of the gated hostel, etc.

We found this a good base to walk around the area, but also really didn't intend to spend much time in Lima....were just using the hostel as a stopping point on our journey further south.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Lovely location on a quiet street within walking distance from the parks or the main miraflores shopping district. Wifi and free Internet. Movies. Stereo. Games. Books. Free tea/coffee all day. Breakfast included with lovely staff. Outdoor patio with hammocks tables n ping pong. Beds not super comfortable but some rooms are quite spacious. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perutravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Good hostel in a nice location in Miraflores. Found the bunk beds a little uncomfortable, but the room was satisfactory enough. Breakfast was basic, but nice to be included. Staff were friendly though not fluent in English.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hotel Casa Cielo
Hotel Casa Cielo
#58 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Mana Hostel
#14 of 321 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Condor`s House
#34 of 321 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Nomade Backpackers Hostel
The House Project
#21 of 321 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
LOKI Lima
#3 of 321 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel

Property: Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel
Address: Calle Bolognesi 400, Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 321 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price range (per night): ₹ 655 - ₹ 1,833
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitchhikers is a lima hostel that offers its guests a comfortable, accommodating, fun, and clean place to stay. Our staff will help you in any way possible to make your stay more enjoyable. We offer both dorms and private rooms with and without private bathrooms, a guest kitchen, parking spaces, a shared computer with internet and wifi, 2 living rooms where you can listen to music or watch a movie from our large dvd collection, and an open patio with tables to hang out or to have a BBQ. We want our guests to have the best stay and we are sure you will feel at home with our exceptional service.Our hostel is located in a very central and safe location in the best part of Miraflores which is close to the ocean and tourist places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing