We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good untouristy peruvian for a seafood lunch”
Review of Don Fernando

Don Fernando
Ranked #108 of 3,111 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 15
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Family restaurant, specialty food of northern Perú, many fish And shellfish. Thuesday to Sunday only served at lunch.
Reviewed 10 December 2016

This is easily accessible but off the beaten track for tourists. An unassuming entrance gives way to a pleasant area at the back that is partly open air. Warm greeting and a busy atmosphere of peruvians in the serious business of enjoying lunch. The waiter was that great type who confidently discusses and recommends without being too pushy or too ready to simply agree with your pick.

This is a great place for seafood although the non-seafood dishes were fine also. We had excellent tiradito, chupe and some other dishes that I cannot now remember. Like many peruvian restaurants you can bring your own bottle. I was with a group of peruvian and spanish diners who are unfussy but demanding about quality. All were very happy.

Prices were middling. Good value for quality and quantity. Will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonFernando294316, Propietario at Don Fernando, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017
Google Translation

Que maravilla leer ésto.
Alegre y triste a la vez por haberme perdido leer a tiempo esta reseña.
Estoy muy agradecido. Lo leeré con todos mis trabajadores y familia hoy al final de la jornada.
Preocupados por las alertas del clima por allá, esperemos que todo salga bien.
Muchísimas gracias.
Felicidades

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Staff and food excellent, highly recommend, a hidden gem in Lima. A must visit for the seafood lover.

1  Thank pauledwardffox2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoVera, Propietario at Don Fernando, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

It was a pleasure serving you , thank you for your visit and more for your comments.
The hope soon with love as always .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

From the home atmosphere to the freshness of their dishes, Don Fernando is a must go destination when coming to Lima.

1  Thank MeliSQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoVera, Propietario at Don Fernando, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016
Google Translation

Fue un placer atenderlos.
Gracias por comentar !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

My friends brought me to this wonderful restaurant for my last lunch in Peru. The restauranteurs Arturo and Antonio greeted us warmly and led us to a wonderful table. We were served the liquid from ceviche in little shot glasses accompanied by cancha and also little sandwiches of salchicha tipo huachana to taste while we ordered. From there own the food continued to be amazing, ceviche, duck and a super delicious dessert.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shelley-EY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoVera, Propietario at Don Fernando, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016
Google Translation

NOS HACE FELÍZ !!

Gracias.

Como decía un personaje nuestro: una pastilla de ánimo su comentario.

Fue un placer atenderlos

Los esperamos pronto !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

I chose to have my last lunch in Peru here and I'm glad I did! The service was fantastic, attentive but not invasive and very friendly. They let me have a selection of small portions of different dishes as I couldn't decide what to have. Everything was really yummy, especially the sea bass ceviche. I highly recommend making the trip to come here! Peruvian food at its best.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Fernando also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Don Fernando? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing