We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Treasure”

Museo Larco Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 2,897 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Museo Larco Café/Restaurant, offers an enchanting ambiance where one can savour the best of Peruvian and International cuisine, including hot dishes, salads, sandwiches, pastries and desserts, as well as hot and cold drinks, Pisco Sour, wines, and beers. All of the food is prepared using the freshest of ingredients that are bought daily. The restaurant is situated on the Museum’s terraces overlooking its vibrant and captivating gardens.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited the Larco Museum on a recommendation and it was well worth the 7km taxi ride to go there.

After the Museum we wandered down to the garden level and discovered a treasure in the cafe/restaurant. Set in a superbly-planted and maintained garden bursting with colorful and exuberant bougainvillea, the cafe part is open-wall.

The food is as good as (and often better than) anything you will find in Lima. We had the grilled sea scallops on the half-shell and the potatoes Huancaina, with a glass of wine each. Both were tasty - leaving that ‘I want more!’ feeling.

As we were eating, there was a hummingbird hovering in the flowers nearby. It was a magic day.

Side note: our waiter, Johnny, was helpful, attentive, polite, and professional. Beyond that he was delighted to learn that we live in NZ because his interest is geography and he doesn’t often meet other Kiwis. He astonished us with his knowledge about our tiny country.

The whole day was one to remember and to recommend to others. We recommend wholeheartedly !!


1  Thank Marguerite B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana M, Gerente at Museo Larco Cafe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear Marguerite B,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share in TripAdvisor your comments on your recent visit to Museo Larco Café Restaurant. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your lunch and the experience in our restaurant. We will pass your comments on to the whole team at Museo Larco Café Restaurant, specially to Johnny.
Kind regards,
Diana M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the museum on our first day in Lima and decided to have lunch in the museum restaurant after reading TA reviews. Manuel our waiter was extremely helpful and we enjoyed the most amazing seafood risotto. Desserts were too good to pass up, if rather too sweet for our tastes. Delicious coffee ended our meal, which made for a very special 32nd anniversary. Amazingly good value for money too, for this quality of food service and atmosphere.

Thank princesspentium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana M, Gerente at Museo Larco Cafe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear princesspentium,
Thank you very much for your comments! We are so pleased you took a moment to share your positive experience here at Museo Larco Café Restaurant. We will pass your comments on to the whole team at Museo Larco Café Restaurant, specially to Manuel and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon. Thank you!
Kind regards,
Diana M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visit the museum and then stop at the cafe and enjoy coffee and a pastry and the beautiful gardens. Also a gift shop close by. They have other things to eat but for us it's just a really nice place to catch ones breath and discuss the museum

Thank Chinapjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana M, Gerente at Museo Larco Cafe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Chinapjs,
We appreciate your time in writing a review in TripAdvisor. Your input is of great help to us and motivates us to improve every day to truly satisfy all our customers. Thank you very much!
Kind regards,
Diana M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here on a monday night... saw the excellent museum and then had a meal around 9pm. The restaurant is beautifully set on the garden near the erotic pottery exhibit. No reservation was necessary. Service and food were exemplary. Thanks Israel and Leonardo!

Thank brentandfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana M, Gerente at Museo Larco Cafe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Brentanfriends,
Thank you for your visit and for sharing what you liked most about Museo Larco Café Restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Kind regards,
Diana M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The cafe (really a restaurant) at the Larco Museum doesn’t quite merit the five stars that the brilliant museum itself deserves, but it does a pretty good job. With many tables outside in the shade of the perpetually flowering shrubs, as well as inside in a cool and modern interior, the cafe offers a substantial menu of Peruvian dishes and the ones we shared were all terrific and beautifully presented. As always in Lima the fresh fish was particularly good. Our only real disappointment was that we shared a tasting menu of little local delicacies which included a little burger each, just enough for maybe three bites, and mine was absolutely uncooked inside. I discovered this only after two bites, and it had tasted terrific, but of course it’s essential that raw meat which has been minced must be cooked right through, because bacteria originally from the outside of the meat can multiply exponentially when, on the inside, they are warmed but not cooked. I got away with it this time and had no ill-effects, but just double check your burgers. (Be reassured that you can eat pink or even bloody steaks quite safely if you like as long as the outside is cooked - the risk applies only to minced meats.) don’t let this stop you visiting a really nice restaurant, because that’s what the Larco cafe is!

Thank Auctionguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana M, Gerente at Museo Larco Cafe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Auctionguys,
We appreciate your time in writing a review in TripAdvisor. Your input is of great help to us and motivates us to improve every day to truly satisfy all our customers. All comments from our visitors are read by the team and taken into account to keep improving so we can take action so that it will not happen again. Thank you very much!
Kind regards,
Diana M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo Larco Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Museo Larco Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing