We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Experience”
Review of L Eau Vive

L Eau Vive
Ranked #105 of 3,237 Restaurants in Lima
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Cercado de Lima
Reviewed 7 April 2018

Limited hours, small menu, but the service, food, and atmosphere are heavenly. The Carmelite nuns run this small French restaurant in an 18th century convent building. The table settings are simple, the room very large, beautiful, but quiet, and the food was excellent. Yes, they serve beer and wine. Prices are very affordable. And at 9:00, the nuns and diners all join in to sing 'Ave Maria'. And all proceeds support their charity. Menus have English translations but most of the nuns speak Spanish and French.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

This is a perfect place to have lunch while exploring Lima city centre. Very peaceful and relaxing.
The food is like home-made and inexpensive. The nuns who run the place are friendly. Speaking French helps.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank natalia12s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Four prix fixe menus, from 19 to 57 soles. I chose the 47, onion soup, braised lamb and peach tart. Each was fine.
Also an extensive a la carte menu, though not sure how much would be available.
You have to ring the bell to get in.
Will be closed during February

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pmb1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Hopefully, what I write will not be a simple rehash of what many others have written, mostly positively, about L'Eau Vive already but will be a useful contribution.

It is in an old and impressive building situated in historic Central Lima.

It has a beautiful facade and a spacious and high ceiling lobby.

The restaurant area itself is quite simple but good sized with comfortable tables and chairs but nothing fancy.

It is run by nuns who were not wearing their habits but it was quite clear that this restaurant was situated in a convent, given the religious pictures, statues, etc., on display and that the staff had their hair covered up. The nuns are quite nice and very attentive but speak no English. Apparently, they are both Spanish and French speaking. We should have guessed, given the name of the restaurant, and tried to communicate in French with them but did not...

However, it is a difficult place to find. We were searching for it to have our lunch there, after consulting Fodor's Travel, but after walking around in Central Lima and just kept missing it, we finally decided to hail a taxi which took us close to it within minutes but not to it since vehicles were not allowed in that area. We arrived at 14h59 and, after reading a sign at the door that indicated that lunch was from 12h30 to 15h00, felt very disappointed. We were on the verge of leaving when I decided to go right inside and ask whether we could be accommodated. A positive answer made us breathe a sigh of relief.

When we entered the restaurant, the four occupiers of one of the two tables in use were leaving. After five to ten minutes, the couple at the other table also left. The nuns then went to close the doors and we were alone for most of the time.

The 3 course lunch menu is a very affordable 19 soles. In addition, we each had a free glass of apple juice. All three of us chose the mushroom soup, then two chose the trout while the third the pork, which proved to be the better choice because it was excellent, as the main course. Finally, one of us chose the delicious ice cream, a generous three scoops while the others chose the quinoa, which was a little disappointment and was left unfinished.

When we had finished and paid for our meals as well as given a tip, the nuns opened the doors for us. When we went out we saw two queues of people already lining at the two doors and the nuns started to immediately distribute bread and other stuff to them. We were happy that we had contributed, even to a very small extent, to the charitable work of these remarkable people. We wish we could have gone back to L'Eau Vive but that was our last day in Peru.

We highly recommend that you give L'Eau Vive a try, you will be guaranteed a memorable experience.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank didierchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

The Chocolate mousse is a MUST in this restaurant. Excellent taste, fantastic experience!!!!
You must try!!!

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eduardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L Eau Vive also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to L Eau Vive? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing