We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel with Edgar - He's the Best!”

Travel One Expeditions - Day Tours
Ranked #385 of 1,219 Tours in Cusco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It is a local company specializing in adventure travel with extensive experience that lets us create and design adventure trekking tours to places with lots of history, magic that you never imagined arrive that you find here only if you come with us.. Travel one expeditions exists because we deeply believe in Peru and its historical and archeological importance in the world. As a top tourist destination in the world, both the city of Cusco and the country of Peru enjoy the benefits of increasing worldwide tourism, but this also means that Cusco and Peru incur the threats associated with tourism as well. We ask that all of our clients thoughtfully consider and pay attention to the natural and cultural sites that we visit. Travel one expeditions are especially sensitive to the local communities and tourist attractions that we visit. We practice environmentally sound methods to lessen the impact on the areas that we visit and we politely insist that our clients do.
Reviewed 26 September 2015

We met Edgar at the train station in Ollantaytambo while we were picking up some additional water for our trek and right away, we knew we were in for a real treat: Funny and upbeat and ready for a good 2 days on the Inca Trail and touring Machu Picchu. On the train up to KM104 he took care to point out and explain the area and history we were traveling thru. His pride and respect for environment and culture continued thru the rest of the journey: discovering and showing off the tiniest orchids on the trail to explaining why chinchillas are running around Machu Picchu, his sharing of knowledge enhanced both days we spent with him and when saying good-by it truly felt like we were hugging a friend and not "just" a guide.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"his team"
in 2 reviews
"edgar"
in 17 reviews
"orchids"
in 2 reviews
"sites"
in 2 reviews
"trail"
in 4 reviews
"guide"
in 9 reviews
"peru"
in 3 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

Edgar was extremely professional and we all felt safe the entire time. Edgar is very educated when it comes to Peruvian history. We were learning the whole time! Life long memories were made on the inca trail and in Cusco. I highly recomend Travel One Expeditions 110%

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Desmond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

We trekked with Edgar with a large group of friends. He was absolutely amazing. He has all the characteristics a talented guide should have: knowledgable, patient, kind, and fun. Any problems or questions we had, Edgar was happy to help us take care of it. And, he's a walking encyclopedia. But what made Edgar go above and beyond is how much love and respect he had for the people and culture around him. Because of Edgar, our group developed a genuine appreciation for Peruvian and Incan culture.

I would absolutely recommend Edgar to anyone as a guide. He has all the logistics down pat, and is a well-known and trusted guide.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank crushgear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015

After researching several Inca Trail operators, I chose Edgar's Four Day Inca Trek Tour, and had the time of my life. Edgar led our pack through the Lost City, stopping sporadically to share cultural anecdotes of Machu Picchu while picking wild fruit for us to taste, never leaving a moment unfulfilled. The first day was a simple and short trek, and the second was the hardest. After an ascent of five hours, we reached the highest point where other hikers rested, and we stopped to look at the clouds below us, which we learned was no accident ("the higher the mountain, the closer to God"). A word of advice: As hot as it might be before you start the ascent, make sure you take a jacket because it becomes colder as you rise to the top.

After every hike, we'd arrive to the campsite with our tents set up by the true heroes--the Porters--who gracefully waltzed like ballerinas over uneven paths with fifty-pound bags strapped to their backs, and still managed to setup camp to make us feel at home in the wilderness. The third day we descended three thousand steps (yes, thousand*), and after a few hours we reached a rest stop, where we sat and watched the roaring Urubamba River carve through the valley. We woke up at three in the morning on the last day, and made the line with all the other hikers to begin the short trek to the Sun Gates. It was pitch black, and everyone spoke excitedly and the energy was intense. After the entrance opened, we walked for what felt like forty-five minutes, the darkness fading into light with every step. It was broad daylight by the time we made it to the Sun Gates, and it was the most beautiful experience I've ever felt. Some hikers covered their mouths in awe, others hugged and cried, I just stood dumb struck--the feeing was bigger than my body. In my short trip, I made memories and friendships for a lifetime, and I cannot encourage you enough to choose Travel One Expeditions for an authentic Machu Picchu experience. Edgar, you're the man.

(Note: this trip was from March, 2014, not 2015).

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank Rosy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2015

Did the 4 day hike to Machu Picchu last year and Edgar was funny & amazing. The whole trip went very smooth. Edgar has good knowledge about the region and was very informative. The hike was never rushed and took good care of the group. Would definitely chose him if I do the Salkantay hike.

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank kiran k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Travel One Expeditions - Day Tours also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Travel One Expeditions - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing