We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most welcoming and comfortable hostel”
Review of Piccola Locanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Piccola Locanda
Ranked #37 of 475 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This is hardly a hostel, it is more like a bed and breakfast. Piccola Locanda is a most comfortable and clean place with a wonderful and authentic Peruvian atmosphere. The staff were most helpful. The breakfasts are really good, Wi-FI quick and free. They offer an efficient luggage lock up system if you are doing the Inca/any other trail.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Piccola Locanda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at this charming B&B during our two month trip to South America. Undoubtedly this was one of the best B&Bs we stayed at in the entire trip. The host family are friendly and generous with their hospitality. In my opinion, the B&B is also very good value for the standard provided compared to other places we stayed at in South America.

Due to protests in the valley, our trek was changed at short notice. The host family shortened my booking without issue or complaint. Their attitude and friendliness led me to book a few more days on our return.

The rooms, whilst small (due to it previously being their home) are warm and inviting. The water is hot and with good pressure (very important to tired travellers!). The beds are comfortable and some have amazing views of the main Plaza.

The rooftop terrace is a perfect place to sit and soak up the atmosphere whilst enjoying a quite beer or two.

The location is great, being only 5minutes downhill to the main plaza or about 15min walk to the ruins on the hilltop. However, the stairs up from the plaza are fairly steep. The lazy (including me at one stage!) just get a cheap taxi to the church on the hill and walk down from their (approx 50m).

For the internet generation, the B&B has good wifi and part of the building is an internet cafe.

Breakfast is generous and contains home made bread and jams. A perfect start to the day.

In conclusion, I thoroughly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Cusco!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanAndChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Definitely worthy of its 'excellent' rating on tripadvisor.
We stayed in 'Matteo' - perfect for a family as our two boys (5 and 7) were thrilled to sleep in the loft area over the main bed. The room and facilities were clean, the staff were incredibly friendly, the breakfast was very good (fresh juice, bread, avocado, cheese, cereal, coffee, tea etc).
(Note: There are also three computers next to the breakfast area which proved invaluable as my computer had died.)
The only warning I would like to echo is that it is quite a few steps from where your taxi will drop you off, normally this would not bother me in the slightest, but it indeed prove to be a challenge by the time I had inherited by kids' wheelie bags on top of my own! Still, it is well worth the effort! It also only took us just 10 mins to walk back from the Plaza.

Room Tip: 'Matteo' worked for us - triple with out 7 & 5years olds sharing the top level.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rich_and_poor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Helpful, friendly, clean, and welcoming. Hot showers, heaters in room, breakfast buffet was tasty and varied, wifi worked great in the two different rooms we stayed, front desk helped with laundry and questions, travel agency on site. There was even a new addition of a kitten living on the Terrace upstairs. We recommend this lodging as a nice place to stay in Cusco. Thanks Piccola Locanda!

Room Tip: Call ahead about a reservation.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Piccola Locanda is a lovely boutique hostal which treats their guests with lots of attention. The rooms are very cosy and individually set-up with lots of charme. The location is perfect just 5 minutes walk from the Plaza de Armas and the views from some of the rooms or from the Terrace are absolutely stunning. The breakfast buffet has a good selection and plenty of food. We really loved the place and would always go back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlowerPower_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 km away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#22 of 170 in Cusco
1,108 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 170 in Cusco
1,491 reviews
0.5 km away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 170 in Cusco
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.1 km away
Hostal Corihuasi
Hostal Corihuasi
#19 of 475 in Cusco
292 reviews
0.1 km away
Kuska Hostal
Kuska Hostal
#43 of 475 in Cusco
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccola Locanda? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccola Locanda

Address: Calle Resbalosa 520, Cusco 00001, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 475 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: ₹ 1,607 - ₹ 3,536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Piccola Locanda differs from other places; it's a familiar and cultural place where you can feel like home. Ideal for families, couples and friends that are looking for tranquillity. The Locanda is an ethical hostal that links tourism with solidarity. When staying at the Piccola, you contribute to the automatic financing of two projects dedicated to children. You are welcome to visit them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Piccola Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccola Locanda Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing