We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amaru Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amaru Hostal
Ranked #33 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

From start to finish a great stay. Our airport pickup arrived as arranged, we got to the hostal, and had a fantastic stay. Not much more to say.
This place is clean, very pretty, fantastic central location, lovely views, beautiful courtyards with lots of lovely plants, comfortable rooms, staff are friendly and accommodating, as much coca tea as you can drink, nice breakfast.....I really have nothing but positive things to say about this place. If I was to nit pick, the shower was a bit temperamental, but who cares?! This place is perfect, and very reasonably priced. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SetSail07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    253
    67
    22
    14
See reviews for
117
323
56
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed for a total of 4 nights. The location just between the main plaza and the smaller San Blass plaza is excellent. The staff from reception to the breakfast staff are friendly and helpful. To organize transport was never a problem. The room was very atmospheric, clean and a decent size, it even had a small mezzanine as sitting area. The rooms look out to a lovely courtyard.
To make this a 5 star is not so hard, firstly, WiFi, you need a strong consistent signal. It was frustrating to have no connection and then have average connection, it was never excellent. They do provide 1 computer for guests.
Secondly, it's freezing in Cusco, there is NO heating in the room. I'm not one to spend my day in my room but it was very cold. We could not use the upstairs sitting area for instance after a night out, even though the view was great. You just got into bed to keep warm. It gets down to just below zero at night. I would have thought heating was a must.
However, it is excellent value as the location, service and ambience are excellent, just those little things and it would be 5 star.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdmm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Rooms are decent enough, but the service was so terrible, I would not recommend it and would never go back. There's a lovely courtyard but beware of the noise it brings into the rooms, what with other guests carrying on conversations just outside your room all evening. The hotel management has clearly made no attempt at training their front desk and restaurant employees in customer service. I won't go into details because it was poor service straight across the board, but let me just say none of them made you feel as if they cared in the slightest about what you needed.

Room Tip: ask for a QUIET room, away from the main courtyard....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancydrew2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Not as many folk travel with a family of four so I thought this might be useful guidance.

Amaru I has a room (#2) that has four single beds that can accommodate a four person group.
The room is a bit cooler, and it has no views due to its lower location. You can rent a radiator style heater for a daily fee. I recommend starting it in the late afternoon to get the room warm, AND close off the area beside the bathroom to keep the warmth in. That made a HUGE difference in the room temp at night.

A second sink area allows for efficiencies if multiple people are trying to get ready at the same time.

The toilet could flush paper - nice!

Now, for my only major complaint. I told them about these things so perhaps they will be fixed soon.
The shower had leakage issues. Water came out around the aged glass shower doors and trickled across the floor to create a constant wet area. The shower head also shoots water at a crazy angle such that there is apparently damage to the wall behind the tile. The hot water heater was propped up on a raised level in the corner of the bathroom in such a way that I seriously wondered if it would fall down. It also had leaking issues with its flexible piping. The shower was hot and did the job, but compared to an excellent shower, it was somewhat lame.

Overall, this is a great hostel so do not let my complaint above interfere with your plans to stay there. I would do so again without hesitation. Their breakfast is great, and the location is greatly convenient. The staff were wonderful as well.

Room Tip: I focused my discussion on the four person room, but it is important to note that I thought the whol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountinPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Great view, wonderful service, professional staff. . .my only question is why they don't charge more. At every turn a pleasant surprise and Jacks Restaurant only a few yards away. Also the beautiful San Blas Church is just a short walk up the hill with a great outdoor market and giant fountain to kick back at. As in all of Cuzco, take it slowly at first as the altitude can be quite
taxing.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wings1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cusco
0.2 km away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.8 km away
Ninos Hotel
Ninos Hotel
#23 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
28.2 km away
Amaru Valle Hotel
Amaru Valle Hotel
#16 of 25 in Urubamba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.1 km away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.2 km away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaru Hostal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaru Hostal

Property: Amaru Hostal
Address: Cuesta San Blas 541, Cusco 001, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#23 Business Hotel in Cusco
#24 Family Hotel in Cusco
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,287 - ₹ 5,165
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaru Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two blocks away from the main plaza in the hearth of the ancient district of San Blas. Colonial-style house with gardens and the best views of the city. Friendly and professional staff, confortable rooms and yummy included breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Amaru Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaru Hostal Cusco
Amaru Hostal Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing