We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amaru Hostal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amaru Hostal
Ranked #33 of 161 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

The Amaru Hostal was an amazing place. It has beautiful gardens and the room we were staying is was beautiful. I would recommend asking for a room upstairs as they tended to have the nicer view! The breakfast every morning included an egg, bread and salad and was complementary. The location couldn't be better in my opinion. It was so close to anything that we wanted to see!! The staff were helpful, my only concern is that my ViISA number may have been written down and stolen by one of their staff members. I paid by Visa for my stay and they took my card into the back room to run through their machine....this was the only purchase I made by VISA in my 1.5 month stay in Peru. When returning I found a whole bunch of charges made online using my card about a week after staying at Amaru.....I just wouldn't recommend using your VISA card at this place!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor! Room 2 is not that great and the floors higher on the building have a nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shells444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    249
    67
    22
    14
See reviews for
116
317
56
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I was utterly blown away by Hostal Amuru. Stayed four nights in two different triple rooms with two friends. First room was on second floor of the hostal -- sweeping views of the historic center of Cusco and the mountains. Second room (after we overnighted at Amaru Valle in Urubamba) was on the first floor, and lacked the view.....but they probably want to share it with as many guests as possible.

Size of rooms was goldilocksy - not overly big, but not too small....an acceptable amount of space for three adults. Rooms were clean. Furnishings had a hand-carved wood look, which contributed well to the ambiance. Clean. Good size for private baths in the room. (One peculiarity -- the private baths are framed into the actual hotel room, so that does have an impact on privacy.) Also used shared bath for single rooms. It was clean, and it was very small. (If you cared about a big bathroom, you probably wouldn't get a room with a shared bath. Right?)

Hotel was also simply beautiful. Spanish colonial feel done perfectly. Three garden courtyards, golden-colored walls, natural woodwork, red tile roof. The French Candians who arrived kept saying "C'est bon" with amazement. The professional photos on the hotel's website do not really do the place justice.

Location is superb. Walk one block -- see the Inca foundations of the Archbishops Palace. Walk two more blocks -- you're in the main square. Walk three more blocks and you can pick from a supermarket OR the traditional Mercado San Pedro. (At 11,000 feet, that might be all the walking you have in you.)

What really wowed me about Hostal Amaru, though, was the service. Airport pickup -- 12 soles. Also, we opted to combine the hotel-arranged two-day tour of the Scared Valley and Macchu Pichu, with an overnight at Amaru Valle in Urubamba. Everything went EXACTLY as planned -- like to the MINUTE. Was very very pleased with the whole experience. On our first night, we asked for a knife to cut open some avocados. An employee brought them to us, with napkins and glasses, formally arranged on a serving tray!

Still not quite convinced? How about this: My backpack packing wasnt quite right, so I decided to use the hotel's laundry service for my socks, underwear, and a couple shirts. (7 soles per kilo) At the last minute, I threw in the pair of jeans I had been wearing. About 30 minutes after I dropped off the laundry, I realized I couldn't find my wallet. I feared I had left in my jeans. I went to the desk, but they had already sent my laundry off. So, they called the laundry service and the service did in fact find my wallet. Story over? No.....the hotel then had the laundry service have a courier return my wallet to me so that I was not inconvenienced! (All money and cards still there) WOW!

The ambiance, location, and service are among the best I have every experienced at any hotel, regardless of star rating or price. But, at $70 for a triple room, this place is basically going at backpacker hostel rates. To me, that makes Hostal Amaru a hotel value without parallel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BradleyJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yackandandah
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Amaru Hostel has it all. The location in the middle of the best part of Cusco can't be beaten - you are within walking distance of everything. You are surrounded by eclectic shops and amazing cheap eateries. The arts and crafts abound all around you.

When you enter the hostel it is tranquil and a lovely escape from the bustle of the town. It's a haven. The service was second to none. Incredibly help and pleasant. There is a central courtyard that is beautifully laid out, with colourful plants and nice furniture. By the time you pass through it you will be calm.

Our room was very nice - well decorated and comfortable furniture. You can open windows to get fresh air and we had our own patio where we could sit and enjoy the views over the neighbourhood. The bathroom was good.

The breakfast was the best we had on our whole trip. Fresh juice, fresh fruit, yoghurt, crusty bread, eggs to order, tea, coffee and even hot chocolate for our girls.

Excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guykb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

The location was really the best possible place to stay in Cusco but considering some of their competitors' pricing, it was priced a tad high comparably. The shower in room number 2 has nearly zero water pressure and a large amount of mold around the shower head. We were also told that we would be picked up the airport and were not. Then I had to pay for a taxi back to the airport. HOWEVER, it's a lovely place to stay with gorgeous views and a helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

My father and I were on a 2 week backpacking trip through a few tourist locations in Peru and stayed at Amaru Hostal on Cuesta San Blas on two different occasions. Although slightly more than we would have liked to pay (we were used to paying around 30USD per night and this one was 48USD for a double), we would stay here again.
Location: Great, close to centre, San Blas colonial district
Façade: Non-descript
Public Areas: Beautiful, well-maintained inner courtyards, plants
Staff: Efficient, professional, accommodating
Room: # 209 (second floor): Attractive décor, appropriate for colonial setting, comfortable beds, great view (two walls of windows); freezing without heat (provided after complaint but normally charged 3USD); great daytime light, terrible evening light; decent shower with hot water
Room: #1 (main floor with own terrace): Attractive décor, appropriate for colonial setting, comfortable beds (3 single, one queen), great view (two walls of windows); warmer than second floor room (perhaps just a warmer day), great daytime light, terrible evening light; decent shower with hot water
Noise: average (street noise and birds, but minimal)
Breakfast: Very good (fruit salad w/ yogurt and granola, eggs, bread, tea, fresh squeezed orange juice)
Value: would absolutely stay here again (could be about 10 dollars cheaper, but a great place)

Room Tip: See general review - enjoyed both room #1(own terrace, larger) and #209 (fantastic windows/view on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoldNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cusco
0.8 km away
Ninos Hotel
Ninos Hotel
#26 of 161 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
28.2 km away
Amaru Valle Hotel
Amaru Valle Hotel
#16 of 25 in Urubamba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.2 km away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 161 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
1.1 km away
Ninos Hotel
Ninos Hotel
#59 of 161 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 km away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaru Hostal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaru Hostal

Property: Amaru Hostal
Address: Cuesta San Blas 541, Cusco 001, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#23 Business Hotel in Cusco
#24 Family Hotel in Cusco
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,403 - ₹ 5,105
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaru Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two blocks away from the main plaza in the hearth of the ancient district of San Blas. Colonial-style house with gardens and the best views of the city. Friendly and professional staff, confortable rooms and yummy included breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Amaru Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaru Hostal Cusco
Amaru Hostal Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing