We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, well priced, well located” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amaru Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amaru Hostal
Ranked #32 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well priced, well located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed only one night at Amaru Hostel on my way out of the Sacred Valley. Wish it could have been more. beautiful building with a nice courtyard. Rooms are spacious and mine had a view looking out over the city. Plenty of hot water. Free coca tea for a pick me up on the way out the door. The staff is totally professional and accommodating. Located in the heart of touristy yes, but very interesting San Blas district. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    254
    68
    22
    14
See reviews for
119
324
59
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberwell, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

The reception staff were fantastic. The rooms were spatious and clean. There was the festival of San Blas at the top of the street and we only heard the fireworks - and believe me that there was plenty of celebrating going on. Coca tea was available 24/7 and I saw one guest utilising the oxygen that was available. [The Sirojchi pills you get from the chemist 2 doors up are fantastic for altitude sickness.] Breakfast was also great!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingermegs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We booked two nights at Amaru based on a friend's recommendation and ended up spending a total of four nights during the course of our trip.

The hotel arranged for a taxi to transfer us from the airport upon arrival in Cusco. Exhausted from traveling and the altitude, we were thrilled to arrive at Amaru and take a nap in our clean, comfortable room.

We enjoyed relaxing in both courtyards, which are filled with flowers and very peaceful. We were grateful for the never-ending supply of coca tea.

Our third night (which we added when we arrived) we had to move rooms to a smaller room with a shared bathroom. This was not a problem for us and the rate for that room was much cheaper.

The staff was very helpful in arranging taxis, a city tour of Cusco and directing us to different locations in the city.

Breakfast is included in the price and was always great. There are dozens of restaurants within a short walking distance.

We are very happy that we stayed at Hostal Amaru!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I cannot imagine a better place for this money.
The room was simple, no luxery but very nice and for backpacking standard it was a luxery ;-) Beautiful patio, you feel like in a garden. Charming & romantic place, quiet, great atmosphere, no stupid loud tourists, absolutely central.

Breakfasts were simple but tasty.

Service very nice.

Coca tee was always there.

A bit cold in the night.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

I feared that the Amaru Hostel could not live up to it's online photos, but I was wrong.
It was great, beautiful and in a wonderful location. We didn't talk to the other guests, but there was a great mix of young and old and the hotel was very welcoming. Central location was wonderful and it was very easy to get everywhere we wanted to go including the major sites and the best restaurants. I would stay again for sure.
The breakfast (included) was also solid.

Room Tip: The shower in our room was pretty bad, but it didn't ruin our stay. Also, you want a room in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stcPLUSbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cusco
0.2 km away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.8 km away
Ninos Hotel
Ninos Hotel
#24 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
28.2 km away
Amaru Valle Hotel
Amaru Valle Hotel
#16 of 25 in Urubamba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.1 km away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.8 km away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#35 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaru Hostal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaru Hostal

Property: Amaru Hostal
Address: Cuesta San Blas 541, Cusco 001, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#23 Business Hotel in Cusco
#24 Family Hotel in Cusco
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,452 - ₹ 5,146
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaru Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two blocks away from the main plaza in the hearth of the ancient district of San Blas. Colonial-style house with gardens and the best views of the city. Friendly and professional staff, confortable rooms and yummy included breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Amaru Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaru Hostal Cusco
Amaru Hostal Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing