We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Agustin International Hotel
Ranked #49 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed on a family trip - two rooms, one for adults and one for children. The rooms are nothing fancy, but they are adequate. The location is right in the heart of old Cusco - which means there is a little bit of taxi noise at all hours, but is great for walking the city. (Try the pizza place right across the street.)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlumniDog84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 156 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

Stayed here with my husband and 6 other family members as part of a Gate 1 Tour. The location was great, just blocks away from downtown Cusco and near lots of shops and restaurants. Also right next door to the Cultural Center which you can visit for free.

We had a nice room off the main drag on the 2nd floor. I have to admit I was a little nervous after reading the reviews of noisy hallways and no breakfast. The tiled hallways did not seem to be an issue but as we were in the front of the hotel, we could hear the street noise and I think karaoke happening across the street. My mom's room was in the back and very quiet.

The room was decent sized, clean, and comfortable. The bathroom was good. We had a nice view out our window of the Cultural Center and watched the alapacs and vicuna roam all day and night.

The lobby was spacious and they had coca tea out. There is a small room with 2 computers for internet. The restaurant is decent sized but I agree, understaffed. Breakfast was average with hot and cold items and yes, they ran out of stuff but would replenish it when they could. We never left hungry!

The front desk was friendly but average service. We had them call a restaurant to see if they were open and they said yes and that we did not need reservations. We showed up only to be told if we didn't have a reservation it was an hour and a half wait. :-( Also some of my family had requested a reservation for another restaurant be made at 7:30 but they messed up and made it for 6:30. They did call us cabs (as a large group we always needed two) and that went fine.

At one point, our tour leader from Gate 1 said someone would come to pick up laundry and that it was cheaper than at the hotel. We mistakenly thought it was what some other reviewers had mentioned for laundry and brought down our stuff. We thought it would run around 10 soles ($3) maybe more b/c 3 of us shared a bag but when it came back it was 36 soles ($12) so we felt ripped off since we didn't actually need to do laundry.

We very much enjoyed our time in Cusco and the prime location of the hotel. Perhaps request a room in the back and go early for breakfast and you will have a great time!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank caflygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Nice hotel with interesting decor but so noisy. Theres no carpets in the corridors, just tiled floors so from 4.30 am you get the noise of suitcases being dragged along the corridors from the early check out guests.

If you are unfortunate enough to have a room with a window to the side of the hotel you will also get the noise of bins being dragged down the cobbled side street from about 4 am.

This is also a busy street at night so expect to hear talking from folks walking home late.

I say talking as it doesn't have to be loud to be very audible. What this Hotel needs are carpets in the corridors, better doors to the rooms that insulate the noise and double glazing to the outside windows.

The breakfast can run a little low after 8.00am. Otherwise a pleasant hotel with good helpful staff. Internet is free in most rooms (signal week in some) and there are computers in the lobby.

The double rooms we had are a little small. No fridge in either of the two rooms we had. However the twin rooms our children stayed in were nice and spacious and one had a fridge.

So a mixed report from me.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauljoecoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

The good things: very convenient to shopping, the main square, restaurants and the airport. Also, the front desk staff was very nice and helpful especially when we had some confusion with our guide regarding pick up and meeting times. There was coca tea upon arrival. The blankets were nice and warm and there was an extra as well. The portable heater did a good job of warming the room. No security problems because we used the hotel safe. The room safe gave us a little trouble so we decided not to use it. The not so good things: it's not very quiet. We stayed in 2 different rooms and we either got street and lobby noise or disco music through the courtyard. You've got to get to breakfast early if you want a decent meal. Our first morning there the scrambled eggs were almost gone and I asked if more was coming. None ever came and it wasn't even 8:30. They also seem understaffed in the restaurant. The day we ate breakfast at 5 am there was plenty of food and it was fresh. The bathroom was tiny in both rooms and so was the shower. We had dinner in the restaurant our first night and it was pretty average.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G0ingn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

PLEASE DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL, we were robbed from our safe on Wednesday January 5th, 2010. THERE WAS COUNTERFEIT MONEY PUT IN PLACE OF OUR REAL AMERICAN MONEY, $250 US. THE MONEY WAS IN FAKE $20 AND $50 BILLS.

This unfortunately, and conveniently, happened on our last day/night at this hotel. The crime took place during the day while we were away (the whole day) on our excursion to Macchu Picchu. Someone in the hotel took note of this huge window of opportunity and capitalized.

THE SCHEME WAS ELABORATE, and well planed. It took into account our time of absence, when we were leaving Cuzco and counterfeit money to replace our real money.

THE HOTEL WOULD NOT TAKE ANY RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE EVENT THAT TOOK PLACE, AND THE TOURIST POLICE WERE NOT HELPFUL AT ALL! I understand this could be a "One bad apple" situation, but I was appalled by how the Hotel didn't take any responsibility. We have now less $250 US, a wasted night and a horrible vacation experience.

PLEASE DO NOT SUPPORT THIS HOTEL AND IF YOU STILL DECIDE TO, DO NOT THINK YOUR SAFE IS SAFE. DON'T PLAN ON HAVING THIS MANAGEMENT OF THIS HOTEL BACK YOUR CLAIMS OR REPAY THE MONEY THEY ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR.

IF I COULD RATE THIS PLACE WITH A NEGATIVE RATING I WOULD.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Robbed_IN_sanAgusINT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanAgustinHoteles, Front Office Manager at San Agustin International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2011

Dear Guests,

First, thank you for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor.

The incident had in the hotel let us explain the following: each of our rooms have safe boxes which keys are programmed by the guests themselves who assigns a security code or key , giving the case a guest forgets the key or make a bad planning of it, in accordance with our security protocols to request help to front desk staff, who prior request to the Manager of the Hotel, the only person who is holding the master key, moves to the room to open the same in the presence of guests. Once you open the safe with the master key, the guest has to enter a new password that previously existed and is totally useless, so it is impossible that anyone could open the box as well have been the key had been rendered useless and you have not been able to open as they did in this case.

When you informed us about the situation, immediately notify the tourist police, who asked you formulate the corresponding reports that you would not perform it.

We believe that what could have happened is that you during a purchase transaction or other operation were changed before coming to our hotel without you realized.
We are sorry that our action has not been valued and want to seize the opportunity to express our discomfort to them for what it has happened to you.

We hope that in the future you come to visit us and to could give us the opportunity to change the sensation that they have taken to themselves in this occasion.

Contact us, we will be happy to help.

Yours sincerely,

San Agustin Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 km away
El Dorado San Agustin
El Dorado San Agustin
#48 of 171 in Cusco
488 reviews
0.3 km away
San Agustin Plaza
San Agustin Plaza
#62 of 171 in Cusco
251 reviews
0.1 km away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,475 reviews
0.7 km away
Andean Wings Boutique Hotel
0.5 km away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Agustin International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Agustin International Hotel

Address: Maruri 390, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: ₹ 5,017 - ₹ 11,271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Agustin International Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Agustin International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Agustin International Cusco
Hotel San Agustin International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing