We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
26
78
33
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
78
33
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews add eggs booked a private room great location stayed here two blocks our inca trail hike luggage storage the main square hostel wifi shower taxi courtyard jam receptionist laundry
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights and have no complaints whatsoever. Great communication before we arrived and friendly service from everyone once we got there. Our room was clean,spacious and comfortable with a TV. Breakfast was simple but adequate...we did like the fact you could pay for extras like eggs etc. Great location just 5 mins from the Plaza de armas. Laundry service available and tour desk on-site. Would stay again no worries!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Our large private room was freezing all night and the showers had little pressure and were also cold. If in this area try something else! However, laundry service was great (15 soles) and the staff was helpful in printing bus/ plane tickets.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank soolivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Although the room was a little cold, we had plenty of blankets. The bed was fairly comfortable and the shower (private ensuite room) was hot.

We didn't try the TV out, but we had one in our room. The staff were helpful and we were able to store our bags while we were away for our Inca Trail hike which was great.

Breakfast was bread, jam, butter, coffee, tea. They don't have an alternative for anyone with a food allergy (I don't do gluten), but they will make you eggs for 2 Soles.

The kitchen isn't very well equipped. It has basics, but you have to search for them and it feels a little like they're not too keen on you cooking.

The wifi works well and they turn the music off around 10:30pm which means you can have a restful night (depending on how many people are coming in late drunk, leaving early for hikes, or if the Peruvians are setting off fireworks!)

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Icequeendiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We stayed at Hitchhikers for 4 nights and our stay was pleasant.
Breakfast in Peru backpackers seem to be always the same. Bread, Butter and Jam. We had to pay extra for eggs.
Although the staff did not speak great english, they were helpful and assisted us with basic information about Cusco.

Room Tip: We were in a private room on the bottom floor. it was quiet and clean
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank naimed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We used this hostel as our base in Cusco, as we were trekking to MP and also visited Puerto Maldonado, so we stayed here for many nights. We had a twin room with private bathroom. You can get towels at reception (not the newest towels but they are clean). We ordered a taxi pick-up from airport. It's super close to Plaza de Armes, and there are some nice restaurants on the same street and plenty of tour operators (for some last minute tours) I would recommend this hostel if you want a very quiet stay. This suited us! It is very cold at night in Cusco in July, and yes the hostel rooms were freezing too. This is normal in Cusco. When we arrived, we had a lovely big room upstairs, but the single glazed windows had a gap where the panes joined at the latch and was letting in cold air. You will need to close the curtains before the sun goes to down to keep any heat in. Hot showers were well appreciated as were the thick warm blankets. I should have bought a hot water bottle as I had to wear some clothes to bed. The court yard is pretty but doesn't get much sunlight, perhaps 1-2 hours in the morning, but we were only there in the morning and at night. Wifi works fine in the courtyard but is a bit slow if your room is upstairs. Staff at the desk are nice, not super friendly but we had no problems. They were good at corresponding to emails before we got there and were friendly and helpful. Breakfast is poor! Coffee, bread rolls and jam. You have to pay for extras like eggs. Ok, this is normal in most hostels but one day they didn't have any bread (it wasn't late in the morning). This was bad (especially when they say 'breakfast included'), there are shops nearby and it wouldn't take much to ensure that bread is always available. So we had to buy our own one morning. There were coca leaves available to make tea but the hot water flask always seemed to be empty. I just used the kettle in the corner. Some coffee and a selection of herbal teas to have during the day/evening would be nice too. Other hostels offered this. They have safe luggage storage with a lock. There are also lockers in the courtyard, just make sure you bring your own lock. I would stay here again. It was a good base in Cusco and we always slept well. Just bring a hot water bottle and plenty of food.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank n0fr0ntiersm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews