We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Orient Express Masterpiece!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Another Orient Express Masterpiece!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

My wife and I stayed there for 2 separate nights, interspersed by two nights at the Sanctuary Lodge in Machu Picchu.

As with other OE properties, Monasterio is unique in its own way. Superb accommodation, obsequious and discreet service, and excellent cuisine. Imagine our surprise when we entered the dining room for dinner to find a quartet, comprising a pianist, a flotist, a tenor and a soprano, entertaining us with classical and operatic performances, all in the setting of the original cavernous monastery refectory. It was absolutely spellbinding!

With special thanks to Hector and Alex, to mention only 2 of the wonderful staff.

Don't forget to visit the Inka Treasures jewelry store opposite the hotel's front entrance, (where we made purchases to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary).

Room Tip: Go for the very best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zippy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Friends,
Thank you for choosing Cusco and the Hotel Monasterio to celebrate your 45th Wedding Anniversary. We are very pleased to know that you experienced and enjoy every moment of our Bohemian night at the Tupay Restaurant.
Please let us know if you decide to come back to Cusco, we will be delighted to take special care of you.

Best Regards

Stephan Post
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,804
    257
    63
    32
    9
See reviews for
425
1,077
84
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queretaro City, Mexico
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Very nice hotel and great service but room area is small even in suites, tv is old model, and water temperature varies when showering...some things you do not expect in a $400 plus rate 5 star hotel...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salvador96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We did not stay at The Monasterio, but we went there a couple of times for dinner during our stay. The conclusion of our group: fantastic, outstanding, great, all the superlatives you can imagine. You should be dressed nicely although informal is OK, this is a five star restaurant inside a hotel which was until some years ago a convent. It has been renovated, and it gives you a magic experience from the moment you get into the patio. Service is excellent, people are welcoming you in a professional manner, menu is an amazing reading, and the food, 4 of 5 stars, I will say. But due to the location, the service, and the experience this evening will give you, I will say in total, a 5 of 5. Prices are within the top range. If you do visit this restaurant, you will have one memorable evening to remember the rest of your life.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfredoarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This hotel is simply a must if staying in Cusco. The grounds are beautifully maintained, the rooms are wonderfully decorated and the beds, linens and towels glorious. Breakfast is excellent. The only wrinkle for the place was the oxygen supply! We were told they had o2 pumped into most rooms. They do but for an extra 62 dollars a night. We asked for an oxygen tank (which was unlimited and free in all other orient express hotels we stayed at) and they said they could give us one small one with about a 20 minute supply and the next they would have to charge for. We agreed and the tank lasted less than 10 minutes. We told them this and they gave us another free. These 'free' tanks seem to be the tail end of used (perhaps room?) tanks. Why they are so precious about their oxygen is a mystery. This hotel is pricey but worth it. There is very old original paintings everywhere. Spanish guitar playing in the courtyard.

Room Tip: Check for the oxygen supply before checking in! O2 really helps with dull headaches and insomnia at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguy002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Beautiful architecture and history in this former monastery but just lacking a bit of attention to detail and rooms could use an upgrade

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austen824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 km away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 km away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.5 km away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.1 km away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.0 km away
Inkaterra La Casona
Inkaterra La Casona
#2 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Property: Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Address: Calle Palacio 140 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,422 - ₹ 42,949
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing