We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpaca Expeditions all the way!”
Review of Alpaca Expeditions

Alpaca Expeditions
Ranked #1 of 699 Outdoor Activities in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alpaca Expeditions is an experienced culture and adventure travel company that creates customized tours for travelers visiting Peru. We will work with you to create the trip of a lifetime, whether you dream of trekking through the Andes on a 4 day climb to the lost city of the Incas or conquering the heights of Macchu Picchu through the indulgence of a luxurious train, let us make all your dreams come true. Alpaca Expeditions is the only company using satellite phones to operate adventure trekking tours to Machu Picchu as your safety is more important to us.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We went on a 4 day hike to Machu Picchu. Our guides Ronald and Robinzon were amazing. They were informative, very nice and very patient. They also were very caring when my husband was not feeling well after the second day of hiking, They asked the cook to prepare some chicken broth for him. They made it a priority to make sure everyone was feeling well.
The food prepared by chef Roger, Martin and Edwin was fantastic. It was served family style. The variety of foods was incredible. You never walked away hungry. I was impressed how they could cook all this delicious food on a single propane stove.
The porters were very friendly and very much enjoyed interacting with our group. Compared to some of the other tour companies our porters were provided with shoes and good equipment to carry tents and all other items. I was amazed to watch them go past us on the trails, with all the weight on their backs with such ease and a smile on their faces.
The tents and sleeping bags were clean. Alpaca E. also provided liners to go inside the sleeping bags. The bowls with the warm water at the end of each day was a very welcomed treat for our feet.
Hiking the Inca Trail was on my bucket list. Seeing the beautiful sceneries of the Andes was magical. Having done this hike with Ronald and Robinzon, the Alpaca Team and the fun Dinka group made this an unforgettable vacation for my husband and me. All of my experiences far exceeded my expectations.Thank you Alpaca Expeditions.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Traits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"green machine"
in 364 reviews
"cake"
in 391 reviews
"inca trail"
in 1,446 reviews
"chose alpaca"
in 68 reviews
"juan carlos"
in 221 reviews
"machu picchu"
in 1,207 reviews
"every meal"
in 268 reviews
"amazing porters"
in 46 reviews
"amazing food"
in 124 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 260 reviews
"head porter"
in 81 reviews
"soups"
in 70 reviews
"other companies"
in 201 reviews
"air mattress"
in 53 reviews
"day hike"
in 124 reviews
"these guys"
in 176 reviews
"toilet tent"
in 56 reviews
Filter

1,665 - 1,669 of 4,882 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

This company is just brilliant, excellent communication and organisation from the first email, the briefing the day before starting the trail, the two guides (Juan Carlos and Americano) and all the porters were amazing, always nice, friendly, professional, you won't believe it until you experience it, the food was the best we had in Peru (One of the porter is a real chef). They create a real team spirit, we all were really sad the day we had to leave, it is like a family, many all you will probably remember and agree with that! The experience worth every penny. They also have an amazing knowledge about their culture. They have all sort of medicine just in case and one of the guide is a paramedic. We just missed them. We will definitely come back of another trail with them.

Date of experience: January 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank bocaj_neirda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Honestly, this group was amazing. Anything I expected from a tour group- they far surpassed. Lizandro and Isac were amazing guides~ they had so much history and knowledge about the wildlife to share....they were also very personable and fun. Our group had a vast range of ages and the guides managed to encourage everyone, even down to playing music to keep everyone upbeat! The porters, who carried all of our tents and camping gear we also incredibly friendly and helpful. Our tents, tables, and bathrooms were always set up before we even got to the next campsite! Sergio the chef spoiled us ridiculously- we had basically five course meals and everything was delicious! They even gave us tea to prevent altitude sickness and for digestion- every morning and after dinner...I felt completely taken care of the whole time. During the hikes they always asked for the group's preference whenever we had a choice to make- they were completely accommodating. Not only were the guides and staff very professional, but as i mentioned before~ they were very personable and felt like new friends! I would only ever send friends of mine to this group! If you ask for Lizandro, and Isaco as guides, and Sergio as a chef you will most certainly have a good time! Happy travels~ and enjoy Machu Picchu!!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We had such a great time with Alpaca Expedition- we had a private group (4 people) and our guide Americo was so patient, funny and informative. The company worked with us and was flexible with our flight schedule as well. They picked us up at the airport and we went straight to the trails. Thankfully, none of us got super sick during the trip and overall stayed pretty healthy and in good spirits. The food was amazing, the porters were great, and I'd totally recommend Alpaca Expeditions to my friends. Thank you for everything!

Date of experience: March 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank hgl2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Ronald and Robinzon were our guides and they were the best! Super informative and educational!!! I would recommend Alpaca Expeditions to anyone with the amount of dedication they put into their employees. Roger (chef), Martin & Edwin were SUPERSTAR cooks and all of the porters (SUPER CHESKIS!!! aye-aye-aye-aye!) were the kindest, most friendly people ever. Hands down, best company to choose for this trek. All of the other companies seemed fine, but this one is the REAL DEAL! Thank you, Alpaca Expeditions for making this the best, most memorable trip ever.

Date of experience: March 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank iseultquirke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alpaca Expeditions also viewed

 

Been to Alpaca Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing