We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty and convenient to Libertador Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tartessos - CLOSED

Tartessos
Price range: US$ 3 - US$ 17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty and convenient to Libertador Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

I went to Tartessos after arriving late at night and not wanting to venture out alone before exploring during the day time. Perhaps because I was solo I was not given the tapas menu which I think I would have enjoyed more than the heavier meal. Creative combination of meditteranean and Peruvian. Good selection of wine.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lorna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    19
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
“Amazing food, great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

I had dinner at Tartessos with my husband during our vacation in Peru. We spent a week in Cusco and this dinner was midweek, after some really delicious meals at a variety of Andean and novoAndean restaurants. But, Tartessos was far and away the most exciting meal of our trip! Tartessos is unique: it's Mediterranean cuisine and it features small plates that combine Mediterranean dishes with Andean ingredients. We were blown away by the fusion! Each one of these small plates has an exquisite set of flavors that burst on your tongue! You get an amazing variety of vegetarian and local ingredients, with Peruvian specialties, like alpaca, fish, and potatoes. And beyond that, there is a great selection of economically priced and tasty wines. The owners really know what the best buys are, and customers get a delicious surprise with every sip.

I haven't yet mentioned the location. Tartessos is on the second floor of an old colonial mansion with a beautiful interior garden. It's upstairs, above a really cool souvenir shop, and overlooks both the garden and the unforgettable Qorikancha ruins and monastery. It's about 3 blocks from the Plaza de Armas.

At lunchtime, you can eat outside on the balcony or have a glass of wine while you check your email (wireless access!). At dinner, you can eat in any of their brightly appointed rooms. Each one is cooler than the next, keeping the gorgeous original plaster work but updating it with bright, rich colors and social spaces. Don't miss the art galleries around the upstairs!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tapas and Wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Had a great dining experience at this beautiful locale in the heart of Cusco. The place is absolutely beautiful from the patio area of this traditional Spanish casona to the interior of the restaurant with its many different area. We enjoyed a variety of different tapas, an outstanding red wine from Chilean winery Casa Silva and we finished our fantastic dinner with a dish of black noquis, delicious. Outstanding!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonwalker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, interesting and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I have spent over 20 years going to Cusco, and Tartessos is one of the best restaurants in town. Actually, it would be one of the best restaurants in any town.

One of the things you go to a restaurant for is to eat, and the Peruvian fusion food at Tartessos is really excellent. I was there with colleagues talking about work, and every few sentences the conversation was interrupted by someone commenting how amazing their food was. Super-creative combinations and preparation, excellent atmosphere. The dessert is to die for.

Just as interesting is the location and the actual building. A 16th century house right next to Qoricancha. Renovations exposed portions of frescoes from the time of the conquest, and the architecture and feel really makes it a special place. I think next time I'm in Cusco I'm going to set up in the courtyard with some coffee and make my work a whole lot more enjoyable. It is a great place--you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, VA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“We Loved Tartessos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Tartessos was a great find in a great location; we were staying at the Libertador, which is right across the street, so it was very convenient. The restaurant is also across the street from Iglesia de Santo Domingo and sits on the second floor of a colonial building with a nice courtyard; the restaurant itself has been recently renovated and very tastefully executed. The eclectic menu was an excellent Mediterranean/Andean fusion (bi-lingual) with reasonable prices considering the quality. Service was very attentive. but not intrusive. Cynthia and Charo were gracious, friendly, charming hostesses. Be sure to try their Peruvian wines; we tried a Blanco de blancos (a chardonnay/chenin blanc/sauvignon blend) and a cab by the glass; both had won medals in European competition. This place comes with our highest recommendation and deserves a try. Bon appetit!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 73Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tartessos also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing