We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing”
Review of Hostal Magico

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Magico
Ranked #207 of 498 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I stayed in the hostal for two weeks and so far away from home I felt like home. The rooms are very nice and comfy - have lots of blankets and nice small ovens to heat up the room. The garden is very nice and arranged with a lot of love.
services like a libery, a kitchen, internet, laundry service, refill of waterbottles (1,5 liters for 1, 50 soles) Tv with loads of DVDs and very friendly staff.
It is not located in the city center and that what it makes it like home. it is near the market plaza san francisco - awesome. the kitchen offers a lot of space and during preparing dinner i got in touch with the volunteers staying there and we had a blast cooking together and talking.
and also the money you spend is a part of the social project aldea yanapay and helps to keep this wonderful idea of education for kids alive!!
JUST LOVED IT!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reiseliebhaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

The hostel itself is nice accommodation with all the basic requirements needed and has a friendly atmosphere as all the volunteers from the school stay there. However, the way the hostel is run and how we were dealt with made the experience a stressful and annoying one. After making reservations in march for our stay in july we expected to have a room for the week. Upon arriving we are told first they have no room for us. Then we are offered a single bed to share for two nights as they had a large group coming. After finally going to bed that eve we were told they needed to move us as that dormitory was for the large group. So we had to get out of bed, get dressed and pack all our stuff to move to the owners mum's house. The next day we can back to find we couldn't stay there again and were taken to another hostel. Finally, after two nights they give us a room. After confirming several times that we'd pay the same for this room as the dorm we were once again moved after settling into a dorm. The staff were friendly but the management wasn't good at all. It seemed as though if they said sorry many times, they thought all would be ok.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27,272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in Magico Hostel and were bitterly disappointed with our room and the hostel in general. I had done a lot of research before getting here to try and find a great hostel for our 3 weeks in Cusco. I thought Magico Hostel would be this but it was terrible. The hostel is very small and is shared with many volunteers. The two showers are cold at all times of the day. The rooms are facing the main courtyard so it is often noisy. The kitchen is very small and dirty, dishes were piled high in the sink when we were there. Wi fi in non existant except for the tiny reception room. There are 2 hostel computers but they are constantly in use. Our room was very small, damp, dirty, cold and dingy. The bed was warm and comfortable but this was the only positive about the hostel.

We arrived in Cusco at 4pm, and after getting some food decided to search for another hostel despite feeling very tired from the high altitude. We saw rooms in about 6 hostels and chose Samay Wasi. They have two hostels, we're in number 2. What a difference! For the same money, we get delicious breakfast included, excellent wi fi, really decent clean room and bathroom with very hot showers! We cooked up some food in the brilliant kitchen with two other girls we met and had a great night....so much happier!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

My boyfriend and I spent two great nights in Hostal Magico. The owners and staff are friendly and accommodating and also run a charity program for schoolchildren in Cusco. Friendly international volunteers stay long-term at the hostal, and it was wonderful to meet them as well as the short-term travelers just passing through. The set-up of Hostal Magico makes it very easy to meet other travelers.
The hostal is located an easy 10-minute walk from Plaza des Armas in a great location. It has comfy rooms and beds, internet, and communal bathrooms with hot showers.
I would definitely recommend Hostal Magico as one of the best places to stay in Cusco!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexandraRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

I stayed here for almost a week and went to Hostal Magico because of the great reviews I have seen. Some of the money you give to pay for the hostal goes to helping educate children around the area, also the staff are super nice and eager to help. However, I only recommend this hostal if A) You don't mind having to wait to use the rest room because other guests are using it (it has shared bathroom facilities, no private ones), you also don't mind if the restrooms are dirty sometimes. B) You don't mind having a half cold bedroom since the natural heater isn't big enough. C) You don't mind having to take a 10-15 minute walk to the main square (Plaza de Armas), when there are other hostals that are closer and cheaper. If you do not look forward to any of these small issues then I recommend you not to go, but if you are up for these little challenges then you should go and support this place! There's free hot beverages, great attention and a sweet dog by the name of Yanapay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kryzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 km away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#144 of 171 in Cusco
85 reviews
1.1 km away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.5 km away
Villa Magica
Villa Magica
#24 of 498 in Cusco
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
0.1 km away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 498 in Cusco
607 reviews
0.7 km away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#9 of 498 in Cusco
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Magico? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Magico

Address: 534 Calle Fierro, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 498 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: ₹ 553 - ₹ 1,482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Magica hostel is part of the Aldea Yanapay community, the same that works with children and families in development and education since 2004, with the aim of providing educational alternatives based on the love and spirituality to our childern, youth, adults and senior citizen. Aldea Yanapay is a cusquenian non profitable organization that works each day for a more conscious and spiritual world. Villa Magica is dedicated to providing hospitality to all human beings who want a cultural exchange. With beautiful green areas, gardens, art, warm rooms, comfortable bathrooms, restaurant, bar, conscious activities such as yoga, drum session or circle of massage, and playground for children. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing