We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, family atmosphere”

Samay Wasi Youth Hostel 2
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Samay Wasi Youth Hostel 2
Ranked #163 of 407 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Brisbane
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, family atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed for the before and after our 4 day trek to Macchu Picchu. The first 2 nights were in the front room, really close to the street and front door. It was a huge room with its own bathroom, but the door bell contantly ringing and the noise of the street was a bit annoying. We asked if we could be moved further to the back of the hostel for our return stay. The staff were very helpful and we got a room right out the back. Sometimes there is no hot water in the shower, as they dont have the gas going all the time to save on fuel. (thought that was great use of energy) just ask and they turn it on for you and in 5 mins the water is hot enough for a shower. Beds were warm with plenty of blankets, breaky good. Loved the
"fanny" strawberry jam.

Room Tip: ask for a room out the back, and dont get upset if there is no hot water, just ask nicely for it to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Throughout my stay in Peru, in the various cities, I always opted for private rooms with ensuite, as they were a better option than the dorms and were affordable. Samay Wasi was the first hostel where I was more than happy to bunk down in a dorm. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and warm, and the staff were just fantastic.
Judith at the front desk was great with directions and recommendations, she also helped me a bit with my Spanish.
Max,on night shift was really helpful. I had to catch a 3:45am coach to go on my trek and he woke me up, had my coca tea waiting and sat out talking with me until my coach arrived.
Fab hostel, great people and the bathroom facilities are really clean and private.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evianh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We spent 2 nights in a private room with bathroom and 3 others nights with shared bathroom. Both rooms were clean and comfortable.
A big plus is the kitchen (spacious and clean) and the “living room” which makes you feels at home with sofas, PC, books and TV with DVD. Always free coffee and tee.
The stuff is helpful and friendly.

The location San Blas is perfect and don´t worry, it takes only 10 minutes from the Plaza des Armas and is good training for your Inka/Salkantay Trek. I never felt tired ;)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alcatose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mancora, Peru
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed for six nights in Samay Wasi 2 and we liked this hostel. When we had a trip we could place our luggage in the luggage storage, breakfast was ok, the staff was overall very friendly and helpfull and with our hola hostel membership we got a 10% discount. The hostel is clean and we really liked the good, clean hot showers. The internet is slow. The neighbourhood San Blas is very nice and pretty but realise that you have to climb from the Plaza the Armas, but thats Cusco. We found that some rooms are really noisy, especially room number 10 next to the front door. The room is really big but you can´t sleep very good there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinciendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here for a few nights before and after the inca trail. It was clean and quiet, but the location can be hard to get to. It is a 10 minute uphill walk from the main part of town and taxis and buses won´t go as the streets are too narrow. The free internet was good. The free breakfast was basic but you could have eggs for a small extra. We left our bags there while we went on the Inca Trail. The kitchen is good. The staff were confused a lot of the time and it took us 30 minutes to check out as they got the bill wrong and then didn´t have any change. We almost missed our bus. But overall, a good hostel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.8 km away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#110 of 163 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 km away
Hostal Pakcha Real
Hostal Pakcha Real
#153 of 407 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.8 km away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 407 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Casa Ananta Family House
Casa Ananta Family House
#59 of 339 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.5 km away
Loreto Boutique Hotel
Loreto Boutique Hotel
#29 of 407 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samay Wasi Youth Hostel 2? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samay Wasi Youth Hostel 2

Property: Samay Wasi Youth Hostel 2
Address: Calle Siete Angelitos 675 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 407 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing