We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Everything Else OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Walkon Inn Cusco
Ranked #68 of 533 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had a average or below average experience at Walkon Inn Cusco. We had made a reservation two weeks in advance and when we arrived the room we requested (private matrimonial w/ private bath) was not available. They put us in a matrimonial room w/ shared bath which had the worst mattress in our 4 months of travel. We were moved to the correct room on our second night which was much, much better. Free tea and coffee is available all day, which is always great. Breakfast is not included and costs 8 soles per person. It is a simple breakfast with bread, butter, yogurt, and an egg. The location is convenient for those who want quick access to the plaza de armas and surrounding area. Overall, it was an ok experience but I'm sure there are better options in the same price range.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GnomeHome416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

We had arranged an airport pick-up and they were 15min late but it wasn't a big deal. The moment we arrived at the hostel they ushered us into courtyard where we were served steaming hot coca tea (there are unlimited teas available all day which was fantastic!). They explained all of the details about the hostel as well as their own day trips that they can organize for you to the Sacred Valley (we booked a Sacred Valley day trip and it was wonderful - they book it without the lunch included so we found a great restaurant once the bus stopped for lunch. They will offer for you to join the group who has paid for the the buffet lunch but it was almost as expensive as the trip itself!). We spent 5 days here in total trying to acclimatize so it was nice to sit and relax. It is an open air concept in the main courtyard so we found it very cold, especially at night. And noise carries due to the layout so I would recommend ear plugs or else I wouldn't have slept. Breakfast was not included but we took advantage of it because it was good: eggs, cereal, yoghurt, juice, and fresh bread with jam/butter. They kept our bags safe when we went to trek Machu Picchu. Additionally, they booked our bus tickets to Puno as well as a hostel (Walk On Inn Puno - same owner). The service was wonderful!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't overlook the main courtyard as it can be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fieldhockey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I reserved room here. After several messages they confirmed room. But then I arrived to hotel then start to lie:
- You don't recerved.
I show confirmation.
- Aaa, we cancel your revervation.

Don't stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank baskir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcVE, Owner at The Walkon Inn Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

We clearly have a good reservation system and from the text of this traveller, it looks as if he/she was at another hostel. If something should go wrong with us, we always have a good alternative for our guests. Furthermore, we can't find any reference to you in our extensive record system so it is clear to me, as the owner of the WalkOn Inn, that you never have been to our place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I stayed at the Walkon Inn before and after my trip to Machu Picchu. The hostel was kept very clean -- rooms, common areas and bathrooms. The staff was extremely helpful in setting up my trip to Machu Picchu, as well as suggesting things to see and do.
I'm an older traveller (56) -- to me, this was one of the quieter hostels I've stayed at. I booked a single room -- space was ample and the bed was very comfortable. I felt very safe and secure.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We didn't get the change to stay at the Walkon Inn because they overbooked the hostel and informed us that they had to cancel our booking but booked us into a "sister" hotel, it was terrible, called Sumac Wasi. I think for the price we paid you cannot expect much, but they should sort out their booking system and rather not put you into very sub standard accommodation, rather just cancel the booking and give people their deposit back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank ginapotgieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 km away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#160 of 172 in Cusco
89 reviews
1.1 km away
The Grasshopper Hostel
The Grasshopper Hostel
#91 of 533 in Cusco
80 reviews
0.7 km away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 533 in Cusco
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.5 km away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#55 of 533 in Cusco
268 reviews
1.2 km away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#64 of 403 in Cusco
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walkon Inn Cusco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walkon Inn Cusco

Address: Suecia 504, Cusco 051, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 533 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: ₹ 764 - ₹ 1,847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WalkOn Inn Cusco can be found in a quiet street at hardly more than one block from the main square (Plaza de Armas). Our rooftop terrace offers a spectacular view of the city. At our reception desk you will get correct and complete information about trips,and you can reserve bus tickets to your next destination, all of this at very competitive prices. Some of our rooms have private bathroom and tv cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Walkon Inn Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walkon Inn Cusco Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing