We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A real looker, just overlook the front desk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A real looker, just overlook the front desk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Few facilities can pull off Italian hip and colonial elegance. Casa Cartegena does. The sense of design purpose infiltrates almost every hospitality decision - ithe lights, bedding, spacious bathrooms, garden choices, outdoor enclaves and even includes the art of a scrumptious breakfast. Beautifully structured as a buffet within a country kitchen setting, the food, and not just the environment, stands out as spectacular. The hotel is well situated for walking to the outstanding MAP restaurant at the pre Colombian archeology museum, multiple town squares or San Blas hip neighborhood. Our only dissappointment was a result not of the great doormen, bellhops, bar tenders, room service or spa, but the infamouse front desk. Yes, English is our primary language and Spanish is a language we struggle with. At first we kept believing it was language that was interfering with a positive outcome. But in the end we realized it was a lack of training and unwillingness to go the extra step needed to assure details such as dinner reservations. I would still highly recommend staying at this wonderful facility but take heed in realizing you need to double and triple check your assumptions and arrangements that are controlled by that front desk - such as proactively arranging for late checkout - a 9 am deadline- not too unheard of in a country where early flights and early check-ins are deriquer - they knew we had a 12 noon airport pickup since they called to remind us the day before- yet we had to negotiate and translate how to manage that detail. Fyi. We don't routinely do dinner at hotels but their restaurant was fabulous.

Room Tip: No need for deluxe suites, their standard rooms are really spacious. All rooms have balcony's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivypivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    50
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
124
303
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I just visited this amazing jewel in Cusco, located only 3 blocks from the Plaza de Armas, service is really nice, every day a cocktail offered by the mananger, courtyard is one of the nicest in Cusco town and rooms with balconies offered a lot of fresh air!! really different from the classic colonial buildings in Cusco.

Room Tip: Ask the master suite, there is the 10th, is awsome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff-tvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Casa Cartagena is an amazing boutique hotel recommended by Imagine Latin America.
Great service, unique rooms and great food. Spa facility excellent. Thoroughly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

While this hotel is certainly first class in accommodation and service I was severely disturbed by their policy regarding visitors. Here I had this lovely $400. a night room with sofas, dining tables etc....yet they would not allow a visitor to my room! I was visiting in Cusco and had many friends that I would have like to entertain in my room for drinks and conversation. Certainly in any other city, Paris or New York or London this would be normal. But not here....I suspect that there was a predjudice because my friends were native Peruvians and seemingly not fancy people. I bet if my all american caucasian daughter showed up there would have been no problem..

Would never go here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matrix336, Owner at Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Mrs Korner,

We thank you for writing us and for saying that our service and accommodation quality was great that you liked it very much; this make us continue offering the best from us.

Regarding to the misunderstanding about your friend we are very concern you feel we have discriminatory policies. We as a Luxury Hotel followed international security policies like in New York, Paris or London in order to keep safe all our guests and maintain the high standards of service we have.

All our guests are able to have visitors in their rooms during the daytime but at night for security reasons we ask any external visitor to register with an ID and in your case your friend did not have his ID and was 10:30 p.m., then we were informed that you wanted to make a ceremony in the room for two or three hours in that moment and our security policy do not allow any kind of ceremonies in the room because they are not designed for that, if you would had requested that in advanced we could offer you any other space of our hotel.

The additional fee we requested you was in the case you wanted your friend to stay with you all night for the use of all services, breakfast and the use of the spa.

All our Staff are local and Peruvians, so we feel you are judging us, we have guest from all around the world, making no distinction for color, religious or sexual preferences, I hope you understand our policies and that we are willing to solve any request.

We thanks again for your value and your comments that make us better, we hope you can return and enjoy of our service again.

Sincerely,

The owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Lima, Peru
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Casa Cartagena is a dream!! Such an amazing place, our stay at Casa Cartagena has been a unique experience from beginning to end... we didn´t want to leave!
Incredible food at the hotel restaurant, The Spa was just unreal and our room and hotel service was just amazing.
We recommend Casa Cartagena 100%, top choice in Cusco!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 km away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.3 km away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 km away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.6 km away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
2.2 km away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#7 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Pumacurco 336 | Centro Historico, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#6 Business Hotel in Cusco
#6 Family Hotel in Cusco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,702 - ₹ 37,906
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cartagena CuscoHigh in the Peruvian Andes lies the historic city of Cuzco, famous for its unique blend of Spanish and Incan cultures. Located just off a tranquil square behind the main plaza of Cuzco, Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa Cusco emerges after years of restoration, which respected the original design of the historic house, to become one of the most exclusive boutique hotels in the city. Its walls of carved stone, which combines warmth, elegance and perfection, invite you to experience the fascinating magic and traditional mysticism that will transport you through time in this historic Spanish house declared a cultural heritage site of Peru.Its lovely atmosphere was built on an ancient Incan site, occupied by the ruling nobility of that time and from which it takes its name: Casa Cartagena, former property of the local Spanish ruler of Cuzco, Don Fernando Cartagena and Santa Cruz.This luxury hotel in Cuzco is an intimate refuge that has only sixteen spacious and comfortable suites, which perfectly blend the modern with the ancestral and luxury with the historical. The rooms are distributed symmetrically along a spacious patio of your dreams where time is suspended. It is located in the historic center of Cuzco, which was declared by UNESCO as a world heritage site.Recovery from an exhausting trip to Machu Picchu or the Sacred Valley of the Incas with our Qoya Spa will be something truly unequalled. It can be perfectly complemented with a delicious dinner in our restaurant which offers the best of local cuisine, "La bodega de la Chola", where poet Pablo Neruda was inspired and Che Guevara shared bohemian nights; it is considered one of the best restaurants in Cuzco.All of these unique features of Casa Cartagena and our warm and personalized service will make your stay in Cuzco an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Cartagena And Spa
Hotel Casa Cartagena Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing