We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Posada Nueva Espana(Arequipa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 35
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 88
US$ 85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Arequipa(Arequipa)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 75
US$ 64
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 63
US$ 57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Tambos(Arequipa)
US$ 83
US$ 80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 48
US$ 46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 47
US$ 45
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Friendly AQP(Arequipa)(Great Value!)
US$ 21
US$ 14
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveller rating
300
79
24
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
79
24
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracepresidential suitebest location in townoverlooking the squareplaza de armasboutique hotelbooked this hotelwonderful hotelperfect locationmain sightsonly stayed one nightvisit arequipathe room was nicepisco soursa great staybreakfast is servedtop floor
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 411 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved this hotel after backpacking through Peru! Clean, comfortable, hot water, great shower/bath! Best location in town. Quiet at night. Comfy beds! Couldn't ask for a better property. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Casey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerencia_katari1, Gerente at Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Madame;

Thank you for your preference in katari Hotel.

It is very satisfying for us to receive comments like yours, in which we verified that your experience was the most pleasant.

We want to thank you for your recommendations.

We hope you visit us very soon.

Best regards.

Patricia Camacho
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Hotel located in city Square. Bus unable to park in front of hotel and had to walk 50 meters. The hotel is a very old building which had been restored. Room was large and comfortable. Staff helpful and friendly. Hotel did store luggage as we returned 2 days later. Hotel centrally located to all attractions, restaurants and shops. Woyld recommend hotel

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerencia_katari1, Gerente at Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for your comment.

It is very good to know that you fully enjoy your stay at our hotel, the facilities, the location and the service of our staff.

Thank you very much for recommending us.

Best Regards.

Patricia Camacho
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

We loved this property. ❤❤❤ Amazing location right in the plaza, FANTASTIC staff, and beautiful rooms. Roof top happy hour ( and breakfast area) has a wonderful view. We would stay here again 8n a heartbeat!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerencia_katari1, Gerente at Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Madame Heidi;

We really thank you for your review and for your preference in Katari Hotel.

It is very satisfying for us to know that you fully enjoyed your stay with us.

We sincerely hope to receive your visit very soon.

Best Regards.

Patricia Camacho
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in this period hotel facing the main square in Arequipa. We had a Colonial room on the 2nd floor facing the square. The room has a double bed and the pillows were very comfortable. Unfortunately our room no 203 had small high level windows which do not allow any view of the square. The staff could not change our room on the 1st night as the hotel was full but offer to move us to another room for the 2nd night which we decline.
This hotel has a lot of history but require to be decorated now
The staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay
However we will not return if we are back in Arequipa

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Goldenoldies8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerencia_katari1, Gerente at Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear Guest ;

Thank you for your comment.

It is good for us to know that the room was confortable for you.

We regret that you were not satisfied with the view from your room ; as you understand the views from our colonial suites are different because of the location , but we guarantee that all of them have view from the catedral and the volcanoes.

We are sorry that you did not accept the change we offered you to give you a room on a higher level.

We sincerely hope that you get a better time in your next visit to the city.

Best Regards.

Patricia Camacho
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
295
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed for a total of 5 nights in this excellent hotel. Very clean, very friendly staff and fab location on the Plaza de Armas opposite the cathedral. I big shout out to the reception staff and doorman, all of who were super friendly and always happy to help with any questions.
We had a Presidential suite (room 404) which was fabulous with a great view across the square to the cathedral and the volcanos beyond. And yes the windows were high, but the views were still fab! We had a king size bed that was extremely comfortable, with a separate sitting room and great bathroom with jacuzzi tub.
Breakfast was good and the views from the rooftop was amazing. If I were to give one negative, it would be that the hot food selection during breakfast was not kept hot, the hotel need to find a better way of keeping this hot as the flames were often out below the plates. The only other thing to consider is that due to the location, there is a fair amount of noise from the square and the constantly beeping taxis! Not a major issue, but worth consideration.
To sum it up, if you want a great hotel in a great location, with friendly staff, then look no further. Katari Hotel ticks all the boxes in our opinion.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerencia_katari1, Gerente at Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your comment, it has been a pleasure to received your visit at Katari Hotel.

We are very glad to know that you had a wonderfull time here with us and that you were happy with the service of our staff this is very important for us and we are looking forward to continue improving our service.
It is also very important for us to know that you enjoyed our Presidentian Suite.

Regarding the mention of the hot food selection during breakfast , we would like to inform you that we are taking actions to follow your recomendation and ensure that food remains properly hot during service.

Thank you so much for recommending us, We sincerely hope to see you soon!

Best Regards.

Patricia Camacho
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews