We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option when staying in Arequipa”
Review of Hostal Solar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Solar
Ranked #8 of 175 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Free pick-up service offered by Hostal Solar is not reliable: no one was waiting for me at the bus terminal when I arrived very early in the morning; when I called them, they asked me to take a taxi; happily, the paid me back the 7 soles of the taxi ride, which is fair.

Also, they were very kind to give me my room, although it was only 6:30am. The room furniture is basic, but it is still confortable and very quiet. Shower works great, there is even hot water in the sink which is not common in Peru.

Wifi works very well. I had a couple of documents to print and they very kindly did that for me for free.

They have a lovely terrace where you can enjoy a basic, but still good breakfast.

Last note: some people only go to Lima, Cusco and Puno when visiting Peru, I would definitely recommend to go to Arequipa as well, which is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Otherguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Solar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

We were met as promised at the bus station, although it was midnight. The room was spacious and light, although without much of a view, but it was quiet. There was hot water in the basin as well as the shower. Breakfast on the terrace was help-yourself to juice, puffed wheat and yoghurt, rolls and jam, tea and coffee - eggs were 3 new soles extra. The staff were very helpful, organising a private taxi to take us to the petroglyphs at Quequena when the official Tourist Information Office and various tourist agencies could offer no suggestions as to how to get there.
We had pre-booked a 2-day trip to Colca Canyon through the hotel (with Giardino tour operator); it was excellent and good value. The buffet lunches on the tour, at Coporaque and Chivay, offered the best quality, most tasty and largest variety of any meals we had in 6 weeks in Peru. Be prepared for the altitude sickness and the cold in July - thermals definitely needed!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I have not been impressed by this hotel, the room was big and nice, however the cleanliness was not great, there were hairs all over the duvet. The showever was warm.
Furthermore, on the evening that we arrived in Arequipa the taxi driver from the hotel did not show up, even though they confirmed the service via email the day before. Furthermore, the guy at the reception booked us for a two day trip on the Canyon del Colca even though we had never confirmed for it.

This could be a good hotel, but our experience has not been great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SazziBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

The rooms are simple and clean. It's about a 10-minute walk to Plaza de Armas. A quiet hostal on a busy street, plus it's very secure. It has a wonderful terrace where you can enjoy the included breakfast every morning, overlooking the mountains.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank china99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

After 2 nights of bad hotels this hotel was a welcome change. Clean, inviting and charming. My room had this neat balcony and the breakfast was excellent. Highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mybincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 km away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 101 in Arequipa
508 reviews
1.2 km away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
1.2 km away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 101 in Arequipa
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
1.7 km away
Beausejour Boutique-hotel
Beausejour Boutique-hotel
#1 of 175 in Arequipa
156 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Casona Solar
Hotel Casona Solar
#3 of 175 in Arequipa
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Solar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Solar

Address: Calle Ayacucho 108 Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range: ₹ 2,645 - ₹ 3,548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Solar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best place in town to meet people with great atmosphere. We characterize for a great service, security and fair price. We are a Colonial house endowed with maximum comfort located four blocks from the main square. Our room have private bathroom with 24 hours hot water, cable TV, telephone and internet WiFi. Come and enjoy our roof terrace BBQ every weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Solar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing