We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly Recomended”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Compartiendo un delicioso almuerzo entre diferentes paises
visitas de Alemania, Estados Unidos y Ecuador
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cuenca, Azuay Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kasey G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recomended”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I would highly recommend staying with Yolanda while in Cuenca. I studied for a month in Cuenca and was connected to Yolanda through my Spanish school. As a single female traveling alone, I was a little concerned about traveling by myself, however I knew that everything would be fine as soon as I met Yolanda. Yolanda is so kind and caring. She is energetic and helpful. Her home is Christ centered. She will always make sure your tummy is full and that you are wearing enough layers and comfortable shoes before you leave for an adventure. She is very motherly and will take great care of you during your stay. Her house is always full of laughter and fun. If you're lucky you might get a salsa lesson from her son, Carlos. Not only will you learn a lot about Ecuadorian culture, Yolanda is from Venezuela so you will learn a lot of Venezuelan culture as well. Her home is always clean and I felt comfortable there. However, I recommend learning the bus routs because it's a bit of a walk to el centro. (Yolanda can tell you which bus is the best.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Yolanda!
Liked least: Yolanda will pack her home full of people.
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Kasey es una chica joven muy linda, amorosa, dulce ,educada y generosa . Para nosotros fue un privilegio recibirla en nuestra casa, pasamos tiempos muy divertidos hablando español. Ella es una hija regalo del cielo!!! Le deseamos lo Mejor y la recomendamos totalmente.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asfvgb
1 review
“Great stay at Yolanda''s house in Cuenca Ecuador”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I've visited Cuenca city in Ecuador recently and it was an amazing experience. I stayed at Yolanda's house not for from downtown. Yolanda and her son Carlos are lovely people who offer their house to visitors offering a great service and delicious food. I will always remember my time in Yolanda's house. Thanks so much for such a wonderful time together. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND to all visitors coming to Cuenca to stay at Yolanda's house.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Gilbert o! que bueno saber de ti Carlos te recordamos siempre ,deseamos tu pronta visita, y un camino de éxito en todo lo que emprendas . Muchos saludos a Reina, Mariana y Daniel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distefano...
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice for short or long term”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed atColmenares House for 2 months in 2015. Yolanda and Carlos are wonderful people. The house and rooms are kept immaculate. They will be your best friends in Cuenca.
For a family feel in a place to stay short or long term you cannot go wrong with the Colmenares.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: honest people in a clean environment
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Antonino recibe un gran saludo, que bueno saber de ti! te esperamos en Cuenca fue un tiempo maravilloso compartir contigo. Te hemos recordado con mucho cariño. Éxito en todos tus caminos. Carlos te envía saludos recuerda tus platicas en Italiano. Muchos saludos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua E
1 review
“A new family away from home”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I have had the pleasure of staying at Yolanda's house for the last 2 weeks. I am here on a university program interning with an organization aimed at empowering rural community members, and I was fortunate enough that my language school placed me with Yolanda. I have come to view Yolanda, her sister Anna, and her son Carlos as my own family. In just two short weeks, they invited me to their church, Carlos gave me salsa lessons, and I was able to play soccer and basketball with locals thanks to Carlos. As for the home itself, the home is extremely well kept, beds are made for you everyday, and the food Yolanda and her sister Anna cook is out of this world. Yolanda grew up in Venezuela but has lived here in Ecuador for the last 12 years so its a perfect fusion of 2 cultures. The home is also in a great location. There are many local restaurants and bars within a 5 minute walking distance. The center of the city is also just about a 25 minute walk away, which for me was the perfect opportunity to get a chance to walk to the city each day and see some of the local culture. For those less inclined to walk, taxis frequently pass by and it costs about $1.50 to take a taxi into the city. The home is in a gated community as well making it extremely safe. And for those afraid of a language barrier, Carlos can speak English and there frequently are people in the home from all over the world. I highly recommend Yolanda´s homestay for anyone traveling to Cuenca. I hope to have the chance to one day return and know that any time I come to Cuenca I will be staying with Yolanda and her wonderful family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The family dynamic and sharing of local culture.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Joshua fue una gran bendición tenerlo en nuestra casa, siento que gane un hijo. Joshua te deseamos lo mejor en tu diario caminar. Lo recomendamos amplia mente.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Cuenca”
Reviewed 20 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed 4 nights with Yolanda and her son Carlos. On arrival we knew we were at "home". Yolanda and Carlos were so welcoming and made us feel immediately comfortable. They are very gracious hosts, and we did not want to leave at the end of our visit. It felt like we were leaving our family. Yolanda is a great cook, and our breakfasts were delicious, and she treated us to all sorts of Ecuadorian fruits, juices and specialties. The house is quiet, clean and comfortable, and the bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious. Yolanda's house is in a great location about 20-25 minutes walk to the center of Cuenca, or a short taxi ride of $2. It is a lovely walk to the center passing lots of shops and restaurants along an easy to navigate route. We arrived on Thursday evening and were treated to one of the twice weekly salsa lessons given by Carlos on Tuesday and Thursday. We loved our experience of the Homestay at Yolanda's House, and look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth and friendliness of the hosts
Liked least: Everything was fantastic
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Katerine fue un tiempo maravilloso el compartir con ustedes los recordamos mucho y deseamos tenerlos de nuevo en nuestro hogar . Ustedes son personas que mantienen las normas de la casa, muy educados y amorosos. Deseamos muchos éxitos en su diario vivir.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing