We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beyond a great place to stay - It became home.”
other travellers have booked this property
Dining area and entrance to the charming one-bedroom, named 'Alpaca'.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining area and entrance to the charming one-bedroom, named 'Alpaca'.
Courtyard, garden and stairs to second level.  The Alpaca one-bedroom faces the garden. Bathrooms are elegant and new.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Dining area and entrance to the charming one-bedroom, named 'Alpaca'.
Courtyard, garden and stairs to second level.  The Alpaca one-bedroom faces the garden.
Bathrooms are elegant and new.
Bathroom door and sink
Queen beds are new and comfortable and have side tables and lamps.
The couch is a sofa-bed for an additional guest. Original paintings by Charles Reddington.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Cuenca, Azuay Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JudyLGold...
Santa Fe, Argentina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond a great place to stay - It became home.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Staying at Stuart White's accommodations was more than a clean, highly functioning and comfortable stay. It was a living experience par excellence. Over the duration of our stay we stayed in two of the four high quality units, each with all the conveniences and a well-equipped kitchen. The location is ideal for walking to the center of town - Plaza del Calderon - and down to the river, the walking paths, Parque de la Madre, mercados and beyond. My husband is an artist -landscapes and townscapes - and found Cuenca ideal. We stayed for 7 weeks and felt each time we turned the key to the beautifully cared for courtyard that we were home. Each time new visitors came to stay we felt the family had expanded - whether we conversed or not. We like our privacy and yet, found ourselves enjoying the exchanges with fellow travelers. The undercurrent to the whole experience was Stu (and his family) who is one of the most genuine, generous and fascinating individuals we have ever had the pleasure to encounter. When my husband and I were reviewing the highlights of our 4 and a half month time in Ecuador, then Peru, he said, and I concurred, hands down - the top of the list was Stuart White. Stay here and you will have the opportunity to be enlightened in many ways.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the accommodations and most of all the host and his family
Liked least: There were evenings when the street outside was noisy because there are Kareoke Bars in the neighborhood.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara P
Pensacola, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Want the VERY best accommodation in Cuenca? Here it is.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I could not be have been happier during my 6 weeks living here. The apartment had all of my musts: prime location, green space, quiet, and aesthetically pleasing. Several other aspects clearly put the experience over the top: a work space that was separate from the living area, large glass windows that let in the natural light, humming birds, a great mattress, several good restaurants across the street and the details of lay out with well-designed furniture.
Since I traveled alone I was able to meet and become friends with several of the other travelers who were in the adjacent 3 apartments – and some of those will be lifetime friends! Best of all, your hosts, Stuart and Patrice are gracious, thoughtful and have a wealth of information to make your stay memorable.
Stop looking! I did my research and scored! You will be so pleased.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie C
Glen Allen,VA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The idyllic oasis”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We spent 10 days here & when we return to Cuenca we hopefully will stay here again. It is an idyllic oasis beautifully located in the historic area (5 blocks to the center). Do not judge it from the outside for you will see the typical South American chaos, but inside it is simply 'peaceful".

Stuart White, the owner, has attended to your every need & the most gracious host we have had in the 65 countries we have explored.

Thank you Stuart.

Charlie & Carol

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility & location
Liked least: The only negative we found was early Friday & Saturday evening there is some street noise, but it seemed to die down early,
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Phenomenal - Our Accommodations in Cuenca Couldn't Have Been Better”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stuart and his wife have done a beautiful restoration in the old historic district of Cuenca. The location is perfect - a couple of blocks from the river and steps from wonderful restaurants, etc. My husband and son and I stayed in this apartment, and my mother stayed in the loft upstairs. Our 2-year-old son played safely in the courtyard (Stuart even provided the toys!). The apartment is wonderfully appointed and clean - a washer and dryer are also provided for guests. Stuart was extremely friendly and accommodating. We would love to return. Can't recommend the place enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gorgeous setting - quiet and tranquil.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing