We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
69
29
8
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
29
8
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo nightspanama hateggsold world charmbeautiful hotelrooms are spaciousother hotelsjuiceexcellent locationwould stay here againeach morningwalking distancecourtyardecuadorfurnituremuseumtaxis
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We stayed at the San Juan for 5 nights at the end of Feb - early March 2017 and had the back room, ground floor looking out onto the courtyard. We arrived late in the morning and was impressed with the colonial styling. They gave us a choice of rooms. We took the first one they showed us. Beautifully decorated in a colonial style, the bed was comfy and the bath was large and modern. Manuel and company took the best care of us, helping with all ours needs. The breakfast was good and the coffee delicious. The staff assisted with tour suggestions and directions, calling cabs and making reservations for us, even taking our dinner order and calling when it was ready. The dinners were wonderful. The drinks were strong. The evening "tea" was yummy. This is a staff that care about their guests and everyone pitched in to do whatever was needed whenever it was needed. My hats off to them and muy gracias a todo!

Room Tip: Get a back room looking at the courtyard for a quieter experience.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DepK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanJuanHotels, Director General at San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Guest,

It is never too late to let our guests know, that for us it was a pleasure to have you at San Juan Hotel.We hope you come again to visit us. Manuel and the rest of the staff will be waiting for you.Remember San Juan Hotel will allways be your home in Cuenca!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at the hotel. Our deluxe twin room was very large and the two beds were large, and breakfast was included. The staff was beyond accommodating - genuinely caring for our needs. They arranged our tours, washed, ironed and folded our clothes, and helped us with our Spanish. Karina, Paula, Jordan, Manuel and Patricio -the staff- took personal interest in our daily experience and made sure our entire trip was wonderful.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanJuanHotels, Director General at San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Guest,

It is never too late to let you know we appreciate all your kind comments.We would like to have you again in or Hotel . Remember San Juan Hotel will allways be your home in Cuenca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

This beautifully restored building, with a gorgeous center courtyard and lush gardens and fountains, serves as the perfect place to get to know Cuenca. It's within walking distance to great restaurants and all the city sites. The staff was adorable! Helped us in all ways... we arrived just moments after the great earthquake hit the coast! This is a great walking city, charming architecture, small plazas and a meandering river walk. Stop at the many cafes for traditional cuisine.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back courtyard, near the garden and fountains.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JennyC282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Charming hotel, with very friendly staff. Food was very good and there is a small bar. Hotel was in a traditional spanish colonial home with a center courtyard. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, with en suite bathrooms that had hot water.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

This was our favorite hotel during our two weeks in Ecuador. It is beautiful, the rooms are large and comfortable (with lovely bathrooms), and the dining area is wonderful...and the food is excellent. The staff was very attentive and friendly, and very helpful with our luggage. The Hotel San Juan is conveniently located only a few blocks from the main square, and it's a tranquil oasis in the bustling city of Cuenca.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Debra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews