We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Discovery”
Review of El Arriero

El Arriero
Ranked #149 of 733 Restaurants in Cuenca
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 May 2021

Met friends at El Arriero after the Covid restrictions were lifted. What a delightful surprise. This restaurant is a secret of the local Ecuadorians off of the regular beaten path, and no wonder. Our friends and I ordered the Sirloin Steaks with llapangachos (potatoe pancakes) and they were delicious - tender and juicy and cooked exactly to order. If you have lived in Cuenca for any time at all, you know how rare it is to find a good steak. Betty had the Mixto, an assortment of grilled chicken, chorizo and beef. Also excellent. We would highly recommend El Arriero.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michaeljones720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2020

Less than two miles from the throngs of tourists in El Centro may be the best steaks in Cuenca, Ecuador. It is at a restaurant that many North American expats do not know about as it is in a neighborhood, off of the major streets.
My wife and I along with another couple went there upon a recommendation of someone who lives in the area. We knew it was going to be good as the entrance is very welcoming. It looks like a great place to enjoy a meal with drinks with good friends.
Being meat lovers, the restaurant's sign confirmed what was in store for us: Asado. It is the technique and the social event of having a barbecue in this part of the world. An asado usually consists of beef, pork, and chicken, which are cooked on a grill or an open fire. The menu certainly had all of those meats.
Despite what an older review stated, this wonderful restaurant is open for lunch for almost four hours. It was still busy when we got there at 2:00pm. And, we quickly found out why. The service was excellent, and the staff was very welcoming. The pitcher of sangria that we ordered was most welcomed. It was wonderfully done with small pieces of apple to enhance the flavor and texture.
We all ended up with the beef as our meal. My wife and I chose to have llapingachos with our meat. Llapingachos are fried potato pancakes that originated right here in Ecuador. The potato is a lot finer than a Jewish latke. These potato pancakes were very good, and we will certainly be having them next time we are here.
Like most places in Cuenca, this is a dog-friendly restaurant that allowed our Miniature Australian Shepherd to be with us in their outdoor area out back. It is a very pleasing setting for a delicious meal. There is a small play area for kids to play if they tire of being at a table.
Do not let the low ranking fool you! Because it involves algorithms, El Arriero is ranked a lot lower than it should be. Once people like you go and write reviews, El Arriero will shoot right on up. In the meantime, our friends and the two of us will be returning here for some excellent meals and service.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2019

While the restaurant is diffucult to find, it's well worth it. It's a grill or a steakhouse if you will. Steak ( tender) pork, chicken, mixed grill. All come with your choice of baked potato ( smothered in an amazing butter, sour cream sauce), fries, or the E uadorian potato croquets, and salad. Generally a meal for two, excluding alcohol will cost in the vicinity of $20. They only open at 7pm and fill up quickly. It's not frequented my many gringos, as many are not aware this wonderful place exists! Service is excellent!

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LynneLeBlanc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

We had dinner here this past week with a group of friends/family. We had a chicken dinner, a pork dinner and the mixed parrilla of chicken and carne. The llapingachos are out of this world and the fresh juices are wonderful. Had some habas as well as an appetizer with their sauces. Everything was cooked to perfection and the service was great.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank bwdmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2019
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Arriero also viewed

 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to El Arriero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.