We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience, by one who's never been on a horse with WOW scenery!”
Review of Green Horse Ranch

Green Horse Ranch
Reviewed 29 March 2018

So close to Quito, but seemingly thousands of miles away. needless to say, having never even seen a horse in person, i was very much second-guessing my decision to participate. however, as others have commented (we went on a 4 or 5 hour ride), by the end of the day, i was happily trotting along and really absorbing the incredible tranquility inside the crater. KUDOS to Astrid... an unforgettable experience with unforgettable guides and fellow guests :-)

2  Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenhorseranch, Propietario at Green Horse Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

See, you must be a natural talent, Greg! :-) Very happy to hear you enjoyed this new experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pululahua crater"
in 9 reviews
"horseback ride"
in 6 reviews
"experienced riders"
in 5 reviews
"day trip"
in 14 reviews
"breathtaking scenery"
in 4 reviews
"riding levels"
in 2 reviews
"fun adventure"
in 2 reviews
"skill level"
in 3 reviews
"amazing ride"
in 2 reviews
"astrid"
in 64 reviews
"saddle"
in 8 reviews
"horses"
in 76 reviews
"muller"
in 6 reviews
"trail"
in 17 reviews
"footed"
in 6 reviews
"accommodations"
in 8 reviews
"volunteers"
in 5 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2018

If you're looking for a place to have a blast on horseback, this is it. Gallop through the crater on the way to an ancient Quitu-Cara ruin, witness the life of the locals, and see the beauty of Pululahua Crater. The horses are impeccably cared for, the staff is knowledgeable, and Astrid and Albrecht are awesome!

1  Thank Shelby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

We truly enjoyed our full day in a magical setting only 45-minutes from Quito. A driver picks you up and drives up into the crater of a volcano within the Pululahua Reserve. The last 20 minutes zig zagging along a narrow gravel road is a nail-bitting experience but as you descend you few as if this is the land that time forgot. Astrid, the owner and her team of young adult guides were very professional, Attentive and knowledgeable. The facility is very clean, organized and they provide everything you might need (including helmets and suntan lotion)for a memorable trek through the crater valley and the scenic lava domes, farms and livestock visited. They prepared a wonderful picnic lunch and even catered to our dietary requests. The entire day including the transfers is only $95 USD per person. A real value!!
No need to book through a travel agent, go direct and you’ll be very glad you did so.

1  Thank iraa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenhorseranch, Propietario at Green Horse Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

To all our guests who have taken the time and effort to write a review on your experience with us, we want to express a big thank-you once again! We know its not evident at all, yet helps us and other interested travellars to come together.
We wish you a very joyfull holiday season and a happy and peacefull New Year!
Your hosts at Green Horse Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We were most pleased with our horseback riding tour in the Pululahua Reserve. Our host Astrid along with skilled volunteers provided us with well trained mounts and our own private guide. We would recommend this to anyone wanting to horseback ride in a volcanic crater where the soil is so rich there are farms as well as breathtaking scenery. The horses receive exceptional care and they are trained to any skill level of the rider.

4  Thank FCRGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenhorseranch, Propietario at Green Horse Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2017

I would highly recommend a horse trek tour with Astrid and the Green Horse Ranch to anyone interested in riding or in seeing the natural beauty of Ecuador. They made it very easy by picking us up in town and dropping us off afterward. And the site of ranch itself is a paradise, that's the best word I can use to describe it. It looks like Hawaii. The horses are very well cared for and everyone at the ranch is absolutely lovely. Astrid was great to communicate with by email when arranging the ride. They supply riding gear if you are in need of anything, if you didn't travel with your helmet or chaps ;) It is an amazing, beautiful and fun experience--if you are considering it, definitely go!

2  Thank jeannie3122017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenhorseranch, Propietario at Green Horse Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time and reviewing! Wishing you best of luck from all the Green Horse Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Horse Ranch also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Green Horse Ranch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing