We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little local restaurant”

Gente Feliz Cafeteria
Ranked #1 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 20
Description: Gente Feliz is a restaurant that is born from the love for traditional Chilean cuisine. We transcend the typical themed restaurants that surround us by putting emphasis into our customer service, the quality of our foods, so that its presentation and savour will inspire an authentic experience. We are located in the heart of the heritage hills of Valparaiso, intrigued by its history, architecture and labyrinths that walk us through Cerro Alegre and Cerro Concepcion.
Restaurant details
Description: Gente Feliz is a restaurant that is born from the love for traditional Chilean cuisine. We transcend the typical themed restaurants that surround us by putting emphasis into our customer service, the quality of our foods, so that its presentation and savour will inspire an authentic experience. We are located in the heart of the heritage hills of Valparaiso, intrigued by its history, architecture and labyrinths that walk us through Cerro Alegre and Cerro Concepcion.
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

Staying in the area was a treat to find this friendly family run restaurant. The owner was welcoming and helpful. We had great local chilean food at a reasonable price . Highly recommend

Thank Gillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenteFeliz, Propietario at Gente Feliz Cafeteria, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you very much for your visit and review, we like happy people

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

We stumbled upon this place strolling the streets and decided to give it a try. So glad we did, amazing food service and wine. We were looked after so well and felt so welcome, the food was traditional Chilean cuisine with freshly baked bread and the wine was also very good, price was also reasonable, added bonus was Lulu the cat who also made us welcome, if your in Valparaiso you won't regret a visit here

Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenteFeliz, Gerente at Gente Feliz Cafeteria, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you very much for your visit and review, we like happy people. Lula says thank you too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

I was taking my camera for a walk around the hills of Valparaiso, when I spotted this restaurant with a great name. "Gente Feliz" means Happy People. I remember thinking that if I ever open a bar, I would steal that name. I had already eaten lunch, so I went in and had a couple beers. I was the only customer at around 15:30, so I spent the time chatting with the owner, Marcela. (I can speak Spanish). I liked her, I liked the place and I decided I would return for food sometime. Two days later, I returned around 14:00 and had the ceviche. It was delicious. Marcela's sauce is the best. If you eat here, I think you will be a happy person, too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank richardloya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenteFeliz, Gerente at Gente Feliz Cafeteria, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you very much for your visit and review, we like happy people

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

Fantastic ceviche, and the staff were very patient and accommodating with my pathetic Spanish which was all but non existent except for Google translate

Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenteFeliz, Propietario at Gente Feliz Cafeteria, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017
Google Translation

Muchas gracias !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

I find it hard to get a restaurant that caters for both me (vegan) and my partner (meat eater) that we are both happy with but this place definitely delivered! The waitress spoke English and helped me find a vegan option. I had a dish that was traditional, don't remember the name but it was almost dhal like, mashed potato with a heap of veggies mixed in a clay pot. Loved it !!

Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenteFeliz, Propietario at Gente Feliz Cafeteria, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gente Feliz Cafeteria also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Gente Feliz Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing