We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An authentic experience!”
Review of Hotel Fauna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fauna
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Gordola, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An authentic experience!”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Perfectly located - probably in the best corner of Valparaiso!
Clean, comfortable, but most of all super authentic and cozy rooms! We loved our room (number 5) that includes an amazing view!
The terrace is stunning and having a beer there in the evening sunshine whilst mingeling with the other guests and visitors was a great welcome to Valparaiso.
The staff is very friendly and helpful!
As we knew (thanks to a previously posted review) that the hotel sometimes holds concerts. We were lucky to see one on one of our two-night stays and it was very good. Unfortunalty we weren't even informed about the event during the day and that way we didn't get a chance to arrive in good time to enjoy it and maybe catch a seat... it would have been nice to be more integrated into the happenings at the hotel - this would be the only small critic I would leave with Fauna, a place I would definatly come back to if again in Valparaiso.

Room Tip: Number 5!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneoworldkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Kathrin,

Along with a greet, thanks for your words. We are glad you enjoyed the whole service and your stay on Fauna.
However, we would like you to know Fauna had change structurally. This had growth 2 times his size. Now there are 15 rooms and the terrace roof had expanded offering beautifull and amazing views. Our service had improve in all the ways.

We hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    145
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
42
281
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We loved everything about this hotel. It was a perfect location - in the heart of one of the best areas to stay in, but tucked away in beautiful passageway. Our room was as beautiful as it was unique, with an awesome view. The staff was so sweet, and sitting on the balcony overlooking the city and coast was the best way to finish up an excellent Chilean trip. To top it off, the friendly manager was so excited to specially make us a delicious pastel de choclo since we hadn't eaten yet. I usually don't give reviews, but I felt like this place deserved it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelHappyWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear,


Along with a greet, we thanks for your comment. For us is very important you enjoyed your stay at Fauna.
However, we would like to tell Fauna has changed structurally, now there are 15 rooms, a better and quite reception and a bigger Terrace Restaurant. All our services had improve in all the ways.

Hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Great boutique hotel (really interesting design and materials) in a good area of Valparaiso. All of the staff were incredibly friendly and went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed our time in Valparaiso. If Javier, one of the owners (a former chef in France), offers to serve you dinner at the hotel, take him up on it, he's a great chef and has a solid wine and beer palate as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miguelhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Miguel,


Along with a greet, we thanks for your comment. For us is very important you enjoyed your stay at Fauna.
However, we would like to tell Fauna has changed structurally, now there are 15 rooms, a better and quite reception and a bigger Terrace Restaurant. All our services had improve in all the ways.

Hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

It's like a treasure: difficult to find (there is no sign at the entrance), but just great: terrace with stunning view, special and very individual design (all rooms look different). we had a big, clean room with a sofa and nice design elements. breakfast and service is perfect. Lots of nice bars and restaurants in the neighborhood - but if you get the chance to have dinner at the hotel, do it!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Lulu,,

Along with a greet, we thanks for your comment. For us is very important you enjoyed your stay at Fauna.
However, we would like to tell Fauna has changed structurally, now there are 15 rooms, a better and quite reception and a bigger Terrace Restaurant. All our services had improve in all the ways.

Hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,

Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I stayed at Hotel Fauna during a recent visit to Valparaiso and my experience couldn't have been any better. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful- spacious rooms (each one different from the next), great views, and perfectly located within walking distance to everything. The service is also amazing- super knowledgeable and friendly staff that never failed to impress me. Everyone was so great and gave me tons advice from where to go and top things to see, to how to get around on the bus and their favorite restaurants and bars that I couldn't miss. I wish there was a Hotel Fauna everywhere I travel to- I would definitely stay there every time!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mckenzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Mackenzie,

Along with a greet, we thanks for your comment. For us is very important you enjoyed your stay at Fauna.
However, we would like to tell Fauna has changed structurally, now there are 15 rooms, a better and quite reception and a bigger Terrace Restaurant. All our services had improve in all the ways.

Hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,

Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.3 km away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 34 in Valparaiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#4 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#6 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.5 km away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#14 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
#7 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fauna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fauna

Property: Hotel Fauna
Address: Paseo Dimalow 166 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2340000, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,529 - ₹ 8,920
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fauna 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fauna Hotel Restaurant is composed by 15 rooms, whiches are distributed on 4 categories, where if you stay on "Superiors" and "Suites Fauna" ones, you are going to find beautiful views to the city and the bay city. This is located on a perfect place, just in the middle of the most tourisctic and heritage city area, just 5 minutes walking to the center city and between several souvenir stores, design stores and many restaurants.The Fauna Concept is strongly guided by the material and intangible heritage rescue, the design, the simplicity and, above all by delivering a really good service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fauna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing