We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Sutherland House
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I highly recommend this hotel. The location is easy to get to and within easy distance of shops and restaurants. Everything is set up to take advantage of the view. The rooms face the ocean, there's a cafe with a balcony with a view and you can even have breakfast outside, marveling at.....the view!
The owners and staff are all very personable and are willing to share their knowledge of the history of Valparaiso to give some idea of why the city is designed the way it is.
The rooms and very clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet has a nice selection and they make each cup of coffee as needed with an espresso machine.
Only thing that could make staying here difficult is if you are unable to manage stairs.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

Wonderful place to stay for a tranquil getaway. The room was clean, the staff wonderful, and the views spectacular. The owner made a point of saying hello and chatting with us, over a glass of bubbly, and made us feel very welcome.

If you are elderly, or have difficulty with steps, then be warned, as there are many to reach the hotel, as its built on the side of a Cerro, but if you are fit and healthy, its well worth it. Excellent local seafood restaurants around the area, and the bus drops you outside the door.

Room Tip: If you already hate the climb to the front door, ask for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam3494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The hotel staff at Sutherland house is excelent. Mr. Luis, the manager, is very kind and always prompt to help you in whatever you need. Services and facilities are very good, mainly when compared to other similar places in Valparaiso. The cleanliness are good as well as the comfort of the rooms. The views of the bedrooms and living room are amazing and probably one of the best in the city. The hotel is located at walking distance of the main attractions of the city. The only remark is there is no elevator at the hotel. So, you will have to climb a ladder with 68 steps to reach the reception desk. And some more to get to your room. No problem at all for me and my wife, but for elder and disabled people could be.

Room Tip: All rooms in this hotel have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My husband and I took a month-long honeymoon traveling through South America. We stayed at many hotels in many places, but the Sutherland House was by far our favorite. The massive converted house is gorgeous with a lot of character. We actually booked it last minute, but when we arrived we were treated like royalty. The man working the desk (who I believe was the owner) upgraded our room to their best for no cost. The view was amazing- looking out over the hills of the city. He surprised us with a bottle of champagne and yummy chocolates.

They did SO much for us. They brought us a laptop to use for our whole stay. At night, they brought us tea and even sent our laundry out to a local service for us. A yummy breakfast was prepared for us each morning. I believe we were the only ones staying there for one of the nights. It was quiet and so relaxing. There were comfy beds and great showers (which take it from me- can be hard to find in South America!).

Valparaiso was one of my favorite places in S. America. It is extremely unique and can feel a bit intimidating at first with all of the graffiti and rolling hills. After a few days I discovered the charm of this place, and the Sutherland house made our stay just that much better.

Room Tip: Call or e-mail ahead and speak to the owner who may be able to upgrade you for a discounted cost if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bellmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We loved this hotel.It's in a great location in the high area of Valparaiso, with lovely views across the bay, and close to lots of good restaurants and bars. The rooms were comfortable and well furnished(we stayed in two). The owners and staff were very helpful and friendly, and happy to give information about the city, and the history of the house, which was part of a school in the past. We mentioned that we were there for our wedding anniversary , and when we came in from dinner, there was a bottle of wine and a bunch of flowers waiting in the room, which was a really nice gesture from the owners.The area around the hotel was very safe, even coming back after midnight.I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Sutherland House and would go back again next time we're in C hile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.5 km away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
687 reviews
1.2 km away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#6 of 35 in Valparaiso
268 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
#21 of 35 in Valparaiso
322 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Terranostra
Hotel Terranostra
#19 of 35 in Valparaiso
159 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Sutherland House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Sutherland House

Address: Alemania, 4966 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2372859, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range: ₹ 6,058 - ₹ 13,419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boutique Sutherland House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Valparaiso in the second half of the nineteenth century, it was a port shopping, vibrant and cosmopolitan, it traces the history of the house Av Germany 4966, in the C º Alegre, former rectory of the Mackay School, the which has become the Sutherland House Hotel, newly opened December 6. The hotel has 9 rooms all comfortable and bright, with views of the city and the bay, spread over 3 floors.Al Valparaíso de la segunda mitad del siglo XIX, que era un puerto comercial, pujante y cosmopolita, se remonta la historia de la casa de la Av. Alemania 4966, en el Cº Alegre, antigua rectoría del Colegio Mackay, la cual se ha transformado en el Hotel Sutherland House, inaugurado el recién pasado 6 de diciembre. El hotel cuenta con 9 habitaciones: todas cómodas y luminosas, con vista a la ciudad y la bahía, distribuidas en 3 pisos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Boutique Sutherland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing