We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, beautiful rooms, great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Latitud 33 Sur
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2010

I have been to Valparaiso a couple times before and I have stayed in both hotels and hostels, but I would recommend Latitud 33 Sur to anyone coming to Valpo because it is a beautiful boutique hotel at the price of a hostel. We stayed in the grey room after the receptionist showed us 4 rooms to choose from. Each one was very different, so if you do not like your room, see if there are others available. I believe we were the only people staying in the hotel, so obviously it was very quiet, but I do not know if the sound insulation is that great. The receptionist gave us lots of advice on where to go and the breakfast was great. It was a wonderful hotel for a romantic getaway with my fiance and the location was excellent. The earthquake destroyed many of the streets around the hotel, but it was still easy to walk to restaurants, art galleries (about 6 in 2 blocks from the hotel) Mirador Atkinson and Gervasoni with the funicular. The art gallery on Templemman at the end of the alley has a great collection and I would recommend stopping in.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Positron_Voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2010

Latitud 33 Sur is a renovated house in the centre of the oldest part of Valp. It has been tastfully done, in a minimalist sort of way (exposed beams and brick), but it is light and airy. The location whilst central is down a pedstrian ally way, and to be honest, if you wee a nervous traveller you ight feel a bit uneasy returning a lone at night. That said, my impression was that Val (and indeed Chile in general) is very safe.

The rooms are individual, comfy bed, ensuite showers - all clean and functional. I was rather cold at night - and they could do with double glazing as there are lots of street dogs that brk (incessantly ) at night.

The reception staff (Marcella in particular) were relly friendly and helpful, recommending how I got the most out of my short trip to Valp and Vina del Mar.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londontraveller1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Latitud 33 is a small hotel with a lot of caracter and right in the middle of the most picturesque district of Valparaiso, close to a lot of good restaurants. Very clean, good breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff, went out of their way to help me get my camera repaired when it was damaged in a mugging attempt - there are some areas of Valparaiso where you should be extremely careful, they will also advise you on that.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKWorldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Pros:
- Very clean and charming boutique hotel. The rooms were amazing. Brand new.
- Friendly and flexible staff. They would prepare breakfast even after the regular time.
- Located close to amazing restaurants on Cerro Concepción.

Cons:
- A bit difficult to find
- Acoustic isolation is not good. We could heard people walking on the reception.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMassuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

The bottom line is they refused to respect the law in Chile that if paying with a foreign credit card the tourist does NOT pay local tax (IVA). Management acknowleged the law but would not explain to us why multiple different rooms with different prices in chilean pesos had the same price in US dollars - ie they are ripping tourists off. The reception staff were fantastic and agreed with us and offered us the best price she could - then on check out the manager at first refused to acknowledge her error, and then also tried to charge us much more than the price that was agreed to at check in!!!!! something I hate!........ anyway
The rooms have lovely colour schemes, but are very noisy both late at night and early in the morning.
The location is excellent and deserves far better attention than the managers are providing.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank paulycleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
461 reviews
0.4 km away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#12 of 35 in Valparaiso
1,777 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#6 of 35 in Valparaiso
273 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Montealegre de Valparaiso
0.8 km away
Ultramar Hotel
Ultramar Hotel
#17 of 35 in Valparaiso
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Latitud 33 Sur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Latitud 33 Sur

Address: Cerro Concepcion Pasaje Templeman 183, Valparaiso 2370763, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range: ₹ 3,319 - ₹ 16,983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Latitud 33 Sur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Latitud 33 Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing