We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Plaza de Armas
from US$ 50.00
More Info
from US$ 100.00
More Info
from US$ 32.50
More Info
Reviews (4,297)
Filter reviews
4,297 results
Traveller rating
1,390
1,869
888
114
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,390
1,869
888
114
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central square chess players street performers city hall main cathedral central post office buildings surrounding national history museum government buildings pick pockets starting point beautiful architecture great place to visit walk around chilli walking tour south america
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 4,297 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The square is surrounded by many classic buildings many of which have been rebuilt after earthquakes. The palm trees are a bit of a mystery as the trunks appear to be covered with concrete and several are held up with steel supports

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank ioan_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Nice place to stop and sit and people watch however we didn't feel that there was much to see. We didn't stay long.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Bec456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

On a Saturday afternoon this place is buzzing with people and entertainers. We enjoyed just wandering around the plaza watching and listening...

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank coli2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

It's so central and such a magnet that you really can't get away with a visit to Santiago without crossing Plaza de Armas.
On two days we saw it all - artists sketching, dancers dancing (it actually appeared to be a formal ballet on one edge of this bustling hive) and joggers jogging.
The seats under the trees in the heart of the square are where the underworld meet the elite. Literally.
There are tramps sleeping off the effect of too much pisco sour, next to tourists looking for things on maps, while ladies of the night make muttered agreements with important looking men, and then set off to wherever the action is likely to take place... but keeping 10 steps behind them and nonchalantly looking around as if nothing untoward is about to happen.
It's the best people watching in South America, except, perhaps, for a couple of the busy streets and squares in the heart of Rio.
Smelly, colourful and varied, it's a must to see.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank PUMBRIDGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Given the Capital City I had anticipated a somewhat larger Plaza, suggesting the Plaza came afterwards. Albeit it is surrounded by buildings of historical interest and relevance to the country.Today it was very crowded and in one corner a solo singer, popular with folks, another corner saw a large group of tables were Chess Players were deep in thought planning their moves. Across the square were a group of artist selling and painting. The other corner near a sidewalk restaurant sat a rather Large ‘Human Buddha’ covered in what looked like Pure Gold.  Given the sun was high and direct he sat still and only moved when coins were dropped on the carpet in front of him. The plaza being smaller than some of the others we have visited, we were unable to find an empty seat on which to sit. What I did notice was the amount of Police present, there being two from the Mounted Patrol, 2 from the Canine Patrol, both with German Shepard’s, a police pickup truck, and Several Foot Patrol.. oh yes a Motorcycle policeman passed through as well. The restaurant we sat at had the waiter stop by and call our attention to the personal items we had on our table. Thus the Light Came On And 1 + 1 = 2 !

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Jnanayog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews