We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place in Bellavista”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bellavista Hostel
Ranked #29 of 525 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Reviewed 26 September 2010

The staff is really great at this hostal. Showers are average for Chile. Rooms are not the most up-to-date but are average. Location is very good and the price was good. Rooms are a bit noisy as the windows and doors of the rooms were a little flimsy. Overall I would recommend, although there must be better places out there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jszafraniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 238 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2010

A very nit and clean hostel,
Excellent staff, also english speakers.
A very complete breakfast!
Had a great time at the hostal, i definetly recomend!
"Buena onda"

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Supposedly this place is more of a party hostel, but when we were there over New Years we practically had it to ourselves.

Split into two buildings, our double room was in the annex which, with it’s own garden, kitchen and lounge, gives an escape from any noise happening next door. The main section of the hostel has good kitchen areas, a pool table that’s big but a bit wonky (not great if you like cushion shots) and a masssssssive. Most impressive was it’s roof terrace with big modern sofas on, which let us, on numerous evenings, catch have a few cold ones whilst the sun was setting. Terrible stuff.

Overall service here was great, although the breakfast was a bit basic (just bread as usual). Whilst the location is great, particularly for drinkers, whilst it’s an easy walk into town (or Providencia) for the less hungover. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauljamescampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

This hostel is located in the coolest neighborhood in Santiago. It has loads of character and is lots of fun. I would recommend to anyone who wants to see the best Santiago has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ani_lorac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

After reading other reviews of this place, I was looking forward to it. On arrival, we were told they had no record of our reservation. It turned out that the owner (Gonzalo) of the hostel had emailed us about our reservation but failed to enter it in the system or tell anyone about it. So instead of a double room, we were instead forced to take a twin bunk room. No major problem there. The problems started when we wanted to have a shower. There was generally only one option - freezing cold, although there was an occasional second option of scalding hot, too hot to stand under, there was no middle ground. And I tried four different bathrooms!
The problems continued when each night we were kept awake by other guests partying. I've no problem with people having a good time, but blaring music until 5am is a bit much. As is playing table football and singing and shouting when you come in from the pub at 3am. Every night this happened. Another issue was the male staff member who tried to come into our room at about midnight on the second night. Only we had our key in the door on the inside so his master key wouldn't work. The male staff in general were rude, the German girl who checked us in was very nice though.
The only thing this place has going for it is the location. Everything else was very disappointing, the showers, the cleanliness, the noise, the service.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrcDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
La Chimba Hostel
#27 of 525 in Santiago
453 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 525 in Santiago
839 reviews
Don Santiago Hostel
#9 of 525 in Santiago
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
#35 of 525 in Santiago
287 reviews
La Casa Roja Hostel
#12 of 525 in Santiago
540 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#13 of 525 in Santiago
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bellavista Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellavista Hostel

Address: Dardignac 0184 | Providencia, Santiago 7530216, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 525 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: ₹ 1,083 - ₹ 3,758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bellavista offers the right way to visit the city's trendiest district. In the heart of Barrio Bellavista, our hostel is steps away from the most cultural points Santiago has to offer. Our barrio is packed with chic restaurants, stylish bars and trendy boutiques. We have private double rooms and dorms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Bellavista Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellavista Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing