We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why Pucon Kayak Hostel??? The name says it all. Its the ideal stay for whitewater adventurers”
Review of Pucon Kayak Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pucon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pucon Kayak Hostel
Ranked #11 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Pucon
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Imagine you are traveling to the world's best whitewater destination, and you are staying at the best kayakers hostel while you are there. Well that's Pucon Kayak Hostel in a nutshell. Not only is it an ideal location at the Rio Trancura takeout in Chile's best party town of Pucon, but it is a business that strives to make kayaking easy.

You can fly into Temuco, Chile only 40 minutes away with only a backpack and your paddling gear. In a few hours you can have a room, a hot meal, a rental kayak, a shuttle driver, and a group of paddlers who are more than happy to show you the local goods. This is what makes Pucon Kayak Hostel so special. Its not just that they provide a wide variety of accommodations for groups of any size (I travel with about 20 high school teenagers) its that they are a one stop solution for your Chile paddling adventure. All of your logistics including a Spanish translator, can be found at this hostel at an affordable price.

So if you thought you had a good excuse not to make Chile your next paddling destination, contact Pucon Kayak Hostel, and let them make your trip as easy as it can possibly be.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattsmink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnieKayaker, Owner at Pucon Kayak Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you Matt for the positive feedback on Pucon Kayak Hostel. Always great to kayak with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2011

I recently came back from a 2 week crazy kayaking trip with 8 other Canadians. We were based on the Trancura river and in the middle of the white water kayaking mecca of Chile; Pucon. David Hughes of the Pucon Kayak Hostel was our gracious host.
While we were there, they were putting the finishing touches to a large shower wood house and drying lockers and a number of other things. David has a huge experience in kayaking and teaching it and is setting up a place for outdoor adventurers to radiate into the numerous rivers and other outdoor activities around the Pucon area. With active volcanoes, pristine waters, rivers of various calibers from easy paddle, to intermediate runs, introductions to creeking and waterfall runs to some of the most challenging runs. Other near-by activities include horse back-riding, canyoning, hiking up the local volcano, and rafting. You can even ski down the volcano slopes.
Ideally located, just outside Pucon, a busy touristic town, the Pucon Kayak Hostel offered low cost facilities and excellent food in a relax and comfortable ambiance.
We leveraged the kayaks from his fleet of recent Jackson and Dagger kayaks; no need to worry about your kayak being refused at the airport.
Having barely scratched the list of splendid rivers in gorgeous settings, we had suc a great time there, I might just go back there next year again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DionneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnieKayaker, Owner at Pucon Kayak Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

Wow! What a great testimony. Thank you for helping illustrate Pucon Kayak Hostels quality food, creative and artistic choices for economical lodging, and location in the heart of Pucon rivers and adventure.
We hope you make the return to Pucon and thank you for the recommendation.
Keep Kayaking. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I was so tired of camping. We had been in Chile for over a month and had slept on nothing but solid ground. That being said, I oculdn't have been more satisfied with the first place we decided to finally get a room, Pucon Kayak Hostel. When we first arrived, I couldn't help but notice the location. Its located right next to the Rio Trancura; a pristine river with class 3-5 excitement to satisfy the whitewater hunger that ultimately brought ya here. Not to mention its a beautiful river with an almost constant view of an active snow capped volcano. On our way into the property we met two ladies that hang onsite to make sure everyone is well fed and taken care of. Emily was the one I could understand really well because she was from Idaho and my spanish isn't good enough to work at taco bell. Both the ladies were cooking food for some current guests in a beautiful open-air structure that had everything a kitchen could want AND an awesome fireplace. The architecture of the place was amazing. It was like a clay structure but trees were used in their natural shape and it was just nothing short of awesome. If you dig on the aesthetics like I do then you'll love that spot in particular. The options of rooms were cool as well. We ended up staying in one of the two twin bed rooms. The rooms had full bathrooms and a table, but honestly I just crashed like a rock in a super comfortable bed that smelled like grandma's laundry back home. If you want the Ultra cool option then they have these big green tent domes with GIANT wooden offset bunk beds in em. As cool as the place was, they were in the middle of adding even more accomodation options so it was gonna get even better. The best part, I thought, was the fact that so many reputable boaters converge at that one spot when they go to Pucon, which was great for the beta on sections of whitewater, safety in numbers if you boated with them, and being able to hang out with like minded people that far away from home. Anyone would enjoy staying here but it it fully set up for serious boaters who seriously wanna kick back comfortably after sampling Chile's beautiful waterways. Check it out!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nicknugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnieKayaker, Owner at Pucon Kayak Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

Thanks for taking the time to illustrate the hosting and architecture of the domes and beds at Pucon Kayak Hostel. And glad you too had the chance to hang out with the world's best adventure kayakers.
Your warmly invited to return anytime.
Keep Kayaking. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stefankF8305ZQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnieKayaker, Owner at Pucon Kayak Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Liesbeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnieKayaker, Owner at Pucon Kayak Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pucon hotels
14.9 km away
Hotel and Cabanas Monte Verde
3.6 km away
Hacienda Vira Vira - Relais & Chateaux
0.2 km away
Cabanas Metrenehue - Parque Metrenehue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Okori Hostel
Okori Hostel
#4 of 176 in Pucon
122 reviews
2.0 km away
Cabanas Natural Park Lodge
3.7 km away
Maison Nomade Eco B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pucon Kayak Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pucon Kayak Hostel

Address: KM 10 Camino a Caburgua, Pucon 00000, Chile
Region: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Pucon
Price Range: ₹ 1,041 - ₹ 1,561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pucon Kayak Hostel was designed to bring people together. Our center piece is the architect designed quincho where folks gather for meals, fireside stories, fun and games. Family style giant tables, chef cooked meals, music, and the warmth of the fire set the tone for a place that attracts people to hang out and get to know one another. There is an artistic flow to economical riverside lodging surrounding the place. Guests choose their level of comfort and budget from creative spacious geodesic domes, hosteria cabinas, treehouse dormitories, the Gypsy Wagons, and camping. Most of the lodgings have large artistic murals that are seen throughout the place. The hostel is just a 10 minute and $US1 bus ride from Pucon. It's the perfect distance to be away from the heat and crowds of Pucon. Guests enjoy yoga or relaxing in the movie dome or lounging next to the in a hammock or on the deck. Guests claim, "The treehouse showers are the best showers I've ever had." Having more creativity than budget we built outdoor open air treehouse showers that are simply remarkable. Adventurists enjoy everything including catching trout on our riverside banks, a number of our adventure packages, and of course our premier sport whitewater kayaking. When it comes to kayaking PKH hosts everyone from world champions and kayak schools to beginners learning to roll a kayak in the nearby hot springs. If you are seeking adventure, community, and a cool place to call home for a stay then we'd be enthusiastic to host you. Ask about our adventure packages and chef cooked meals. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing