We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and service expected of a Michelin”
Review of Odette

Odette
Ranked #25 of 14,063 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 88 - US$ 268
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: City Hall
Description: Located at the iconic National Gallery Singapore, Odette is Chef Julien Royer's maiden effort as Chef-Owner and The Lo & Behold Group's first fine dining establishment. At Odette, the world is our backyard. We've worked with some of the world's best boutique producers to bring you Modern French cuisine that is guided by Royer's lifelong respect for seasonality, terroir and artisanal produce. Named in loving tribute to Royer's grandmother, Odette celebrates the people who grow our produce, the people who cook our food, the people who serve and the people who allow us to serve them.
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Went there for my birthday lunch.
Had the eight course tasting menu.
When dessert was served it came with a candle - nice touch!

Fantastic service. We never once has to lift up our hands. Water refills were done before our glasses were empty; an eye contact was all that was needed to get our server’s attention. And this is despite the restaurant at almost full capacity.

I highly recommended this restaurant to a colleague who went with his parents and were all praises as well.

Definitely looking forward to my next visit.

Date of visit: February 2018
3  Thank kopibaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2018

Am always skeptical of fine dining restaurants, always a great mis match between price and offer. Not here. faultless service, amazing ingredients and food that threads the line between fine dining and hardy and soulful with finesse and elegance.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Charles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Odette remains one of my favourite restaurants in Singapore. Had the four course lunch menu to try the newer items, since the six course has remained largely similar over the past few visits. Loved the kegani crab starter and the foie gras comme un pho. The main course was john dory with amazing stuffed potatoes. The memory of chocolate dessert was also delightful. Overall, it was fun to have a selection of new items on the four course menu and I can foresee return visits to try other new items soon!

Date of visit: June 2018
3  Thank finedininglover1282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

I must say it is not easy to find a Michelin restaurant that has food standard and quality that are miles apart.

Some items were crafted with so much detail, passion and delivered with good execution whilst some appeared to have been coccocted by some juvenile chef under no supervision.

Shall not go into courses that passed the standard .. cos they should as they are two stars.

Totally Utterly disappointing courses..
My top 3 eye and mouth opening dish ..in modern french 2 star Michelin restaurant ..

#1 Description of course
turbot Thai Esprit style ..
Zucchini composition /Glazed yabbies /Kaffir lime.

What it was ..
A piece of tasteless, almost dry fibrous white fish , resembling fish that has undergone freeze burn.. , with few mildly mushy yabbies and thinly sliced zucchini , surrounded by thickened Tom kha khai ( thai coconut soup )... Almost 100% thai.. ...no modern French element in sight.. simply a badly delivered thai dish .

Not acceptable even for a normal starless restaurant ..

#2 Description of course
Tomato Collection
Straccciatella artigiana/nicolise olive basil
Few types of tomatoes
with buratta-like cheese, and some olive oil pearls.. .large Tomato edges are powdery , small tomatoes are not too sweet , not too sour.. ie. Tasted like supermarket quality type..nothing to rave about. Olive oil did not stand out too ..
Came with a glass of less than pleasant tomato clear juice with basil oil.. which is first of all, nothing new , tried it so many times in last 10 years .. and gotta say this is one of the worst...
To be fair though , it is perhaps due to the wonderful tomato buratta salad I just had at Valentino few days ago that I find the contrast so huge .. that this turn out to be bad.. .. bad as an item in a degustation menu for a 2 star restaurant .. perhaps good enough for a family restaurant menu..

#3 Description of course MIYAZKI MANGO TART
Passion fruit/Mango/Banana

What it seemed like to us ....
Aboved mixed fruits with a scoop of artificial mango tasting ice cream topped with a nice round of coconut mousse .... Resembling the famous mango and coconut dessert topped with some passion fruit ice cream , found at all corners of Hong Kong street costing SGD6 . ... Only the HK dessert tasted like they used real mangoes..

It puzzled us why the courses' standard can be so huge and can't help wondering if they are came from the same kitchen ..

This a modern French restaurant but almost all ingredients used in the menu arez Asian , leaning heavily towards Japanese, thai...
So many jap ingredients dashi ,sudachi, yuzu, wasabi used and Kaffir lime is used in few courses ..

Just what is modern French ..I am lost ...

Will not be back as can't go through another round of roller coaster ride... Although we did enjoy a few meticulously and beautifully executed dishes.... pity..

Date of visit: June 2018
3  Thank KBWU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

Another overpriced restaurant with so so food. The service was the worst I have ever had in any fine dining restaurant. The white staff only served the white people and the Asian staff are likely trainees who does not know their food. Everything was slow, we had to wait a Long time before we were served. No one asked if we wanted any wine while the sommelier also went round to the Caucasian tables. Maybe they think we Asians don’t know how to drink, thus not worth serving. The food was overrated and overpriced. All in all, another overrated and pricey restaurant with patchy service.

Date of visit: December 2017
13  Thank Sandeeka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Odette also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Odette? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing