We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local food”
Review of StraitsKitchen

StraitsKitchen
Ranked #92 of 11,571 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 50
Cuisines: Singaporean, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Reservations
Reviewed 24 December 2017

Enjoyed the great variety of Malay, Chinese, North Indian, and local food, with free flow of fruit juice and coffee and tea from the machines.
My favourites were the chicken rice, Tandoori chicken, satay, otak, orh nee, popiah and the pandan kaya cake. As we came on the Friday before Christmas, it was rather crowded as many patrons were given the afternoon off at work.
The lunch was good value with the 1-for-1 with the UOB Visa Infinite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 December 2017

Dear Sandra C

Thank you for your review, and we are very happy to know that you have enjoyed the wide variety of Singapore's most-loved local dishes at StraitsKitchen! We certainly hope to see you soon, and you will be happy to know that our menus are always refreshed during every festive season to ensure that diners can always look forward to new flavours on their next visit. Many thanks once again!

Best Regards
Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2017

Despite it being hawker fare, the selection is excellent and there's a wide variety too! The ambience is good for large groups as well!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank 957mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 December 2017

Dear 957mel,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant dining experience and enjoyed the wide variety of the best local food that Singapore has to offer.

If you are in town for the festive season, do also check out our festive mensu as we present holiday flavours at all of our restaurants at Grand Hyatt Singapore.

Many thanks once again and we look forward to your next visit!

Best Regards
Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

This is my favorite buffet ever. Everything is so delicious, quality is top-notch. There is something for everyone here. I love the tandoori chicken and the biryani rice. I think Straits Kitchen has one of the best indian cuisine in Singapore. The ambience is wonderful too. Highly recommended for all.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank farahafiz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 December 2017

Dear farahafiz01,

Thank you for your review, and we are delighted to know that we are your favourite buffet experience! StraitsKitchen does aim to serve a wide variety of local fare consisting of Chinese, Malay, Indian and Peranakan cuisine to celebrate Singapore's rich food culture. Do also check out our festive menu for StraitsKitchen as we will be serving some delicacies in time for the holiday season. Many thanks once again we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards
Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

I've been here for dinner before and the selection is better (they only have the chilli crab at dinner). Food was good, but not a massively wide selection in my opinion. Service was excellent though! A great place to take out-of-town guests so they can try all the different local foods (and then you can take them to specific restaurants when they know what they like!)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank FG733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 December 2017

Dear FG733

Thank you for leaving us with a review, and we are glad to know that you were taken of during your recent visit. Our dinner selection does indeed a couple of dishes more than our lunch, as we have found out that diners would usually prefer a lighter lunch. As such, our lunch selection had been adjusted accordingly, which has also helped us to limit our food waste. That said, diners can still look forward to a extensive mix of local dishes from our Chinese, Malay, Indian live kitchens, and including a spread of local desserts from the dessert counter. We certainly hope to see you soon, and many thanks once again!

Best Regards
Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

It is always a pleasure to be at Straits Kitchen. A sampling of Singapore food most available in the market but now setting in a clean and good ambience restaurant. Staff always on hand to remove the used place better then many other buffet place. Many choices of desert available.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 December 2017

Dear James C

Thank you for your continuous support, and we are delighted that you have enjoyed the local fare at StraitsKitchen! We are also very pleased to hear that our team were able to make your dining experience a pleasant one, and certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed StraitsKitchen also viewed

 

Been to StraitsKitchen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing